We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Adam J

Outstanding experience at Cambria in Pittsburgh!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Sept 2021
My young daughter and I recently stayed in Cambria. The staff were excellent: professional, courteous and eager to make our stay a good one. The room and hotel was clean, amenities good, parking convenient, and the location was good.

We had an experience that exhibits just how excellent the staff is at Cambria. My ten year-old daughter got a cylinder hair brush so stuck/entwined/tangled in her hair that I feared I would have to cut it out. And it was in her bangs. (I really cannot emphasize how bad it was.) And the first day of school was five days away. I was at a loss and panicked inside.

I approached the front desk clinging to a shred of hope they could offer some assistance. They got on the phone and called Marla who knocked on our door a few minutes later. She did it! It took twenty long, intense minutes but she somehow--miraculously--did it! We could go to dinner that night and our daughter could go to school without having to wear a baseball cap.

How fantastic is it that someone would take on such an extraordinary and nearly impossible task that so obviously could have disregarded as, "Not my job"? And she was kind and sweet to our daughter all the while.

So when we return to Pittsburgh Cambria is on top of the list of hotels! (-:
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$290
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $289
  • Hotels.com
    $288
  • Priceline
    $290
0.7 km from Cambria Hotel Pittsburgh - Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
$340
  • Expedia.com
    $340
  • Skyscanner.com
    $279
  • Hotels.com
    $339
0.9 km from Cambria Hotel Pittsburgh - Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
$381
Fully refundable
  • Omni Hotels
    $381
  • Expedia.com
    $381
  • Hotels.com
    $379
0.7 km from Cambria Hotel Pittsburgh - Downtown
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$275
  • Expedia.com
    $275
  • Vio.com
    $268
  • Skyscanner.com
    $276
1.2 km from Cambria Hotel Pittsburgh - Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$267
  • Expedia.com
    $213
  • Skyscanner.com
    $210
  • Hotels.com
    $213
1.0 km from Cambria Hotel Pittsburgh - Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$238
  • Expedia.com
    $237
  • Skyscanner.com
    $226
  • Hotels.com
    $237
2.1 km from Cambria Hotel Pittsburgh - Downtown
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
$246
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Vio.com
    $246
  • Expedia.com
    $246
14.1 km from Cambria Hotel Pittsburgh - Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
$291
  • Expedia.com
    $291
  • Hotels.com
    $290
  • Skyscanner.com
    $291
1.9 km from Cambria Hotel Pittsburgh - Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
$196
  • Choice Hotels
    $196
  • Priceline
    $196
  • Expedia.com
    $196
4.2 km from Cambria Hotel Pittsburgh - Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$192
  • Expedia.com
    $192
  • Skyscanner.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
    $191
6.5 km from Cambria Hotel Pittsburgh - Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (1,255)
Filter reviews
1,255 results
Traveller rating
881
217
70
43
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
881
217
70
43
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle driver driver john chef charles front desk penguins game hockey game free shuttle great shuttle service great stay market square hotel room pnc park arena parking suite concert pens
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 1,255 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

The room was clean but the floor and desk had what looked like permanent marker stains on them. Shower didn't have a door that shut so water splashed out the back, onto the floor and the wall. Bed was very loud and not very comfortable. Room was freezing until the middle of the night when we'd both wake up sweating and throw the covers off. Didn't matter what setting the thermostat was on. However the pillows were ok. Door weighed about 80lbs so if there's a zombie apocalypse that door would probably hold for a bit.

Room tip: Charged $20 per night to park in an unsecured lot.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank LaurenEA91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

While the property would benefit from some carpet renovation, it more than makes up for it with its attentive and friendly staff, particularly Mario and Jacinta. Convenient to downtown, yet really 6 blocks from it and commendable subway system. Local shuttle availability was helpful.

Room tip: Might check availability at parking garage next door. While $20 a night was not bad, the $6 a night city tax for parking was ridiculous.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rickeyg2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

The bed was incredibly uncomfortable and the stuff mattress creaked loudly every time we got into bed or rolled over. My whole body hurts the next morning. Shower was not clean. Staff was nice and parking was easy but I would not stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Julie27777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2021 via mobile

Beautiful looking hotel — but somewhat disappointing in a lot of ways. We had a 2 Queen suite with sofa bed. GOOD: Comfortable beds, nice rooms. Good bathroom. BAD: Sketchy location — would be somewhat dangerous to walk almost anywhere because of roadways and possibility of crime. Only thing going for it is being directly next to PPG Arena (if you were going to a game?). Advertised “hotel shuttle” will not take you further than 1 mile — not the 2 Mike’s advertised — which means all of downtown area is a no go. $20/night parking is in an open surface lot behind the hotel with no security and the parking gate is left completely open 24/7. No patrols, no security. Hotel pool and fitness center we were told were open 6am - 12 midnight with keycard — turns out 9am - 9pm. Large bar in lobby 100% closed down (even when other restaurants and bars in Pittsburgh are fully open). Front desk seemed manned by 1 staff person who was doing everything. Telephone to front desk rang unanswered. Few towels in bathroom took 2 hours to be delivered only after having to go back down a second time to ask again (because front desk never answered the phone).

This place could be nice but right now it isn’t so good — and the “extras” aren’t there. Or at least they weren’t for us.

Room tip: There’s a Marriott at the end of the block on the other side of PPG Arena. Perhaps they want your business more than Cambria Suites does.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank RickP_20625
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2021

I had called the hotel the day before arrival to make sure our room could sleep two adults and two teenagers. Mario was so helpful and answered all our questions. I told him that I read other reviews about no hot water and he explained that during COVID the hotel often had just 5% occupancy which inhibits a hotel's mechanicals from working well. The hot water will not be constantly circulating and it could take a long time for the hot water to reach the fifth floor. That all made sense to me and we had no problems with hot water during our stay. Mario had upgraded us to the Tower Suite which had an awesome view of the city. The one drawback was that it was unusually cool that weekend and our room was cold at night no matter what we set the thermostat. Turns out that the tower suite is on the main ac system and cant be adjusted. The manager did bring a space heater which did help. Mario was always very accommodating and allowed our volleyball team to have a pizza celebration in the banquet room. Our room was clean and we were very happy with our stay. If you do park in their lot they do charge $20 per night but there is street parking across the street which is free after 6pm and on Sunday.

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank 4Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews