We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Andrew
Alexander City, Alabama

Best.Guest Services Manager. Ever

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jul 2021
Margaret is absolutely, positively, the ideal person you want working in your hotel. She cares so much about her guest and her team. Hospitality jobs are so short staffed but it’s nice to know there are amazing people like Margaret who make places like this a billion times better.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meg Heinlein, General Manager at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review
Responded 16 Jul 2021
Thank you, Aplatt8, for your kind words regarding Margaret. You are correct, we are extremely lucky to have her on our team. We are very glad that you chose our hotel and were able to experience her exceptional customer service. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Pittsburgh!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$251
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $251
  • Vio.com
    $251
  • Skyscanner.com
    $251
1.2 km from Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$283
  • Skyscanner.com
    $259
  • Priceline
    $283
  • Expedia.com
    $282
1.0 km from Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$370
  • Expedia.com
    $378
  • Hotels.com
    $343
  • Vio.com
    $369
0.9 km from Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
$283
  • Expedia.com
    $282
  • Skyscanner.com
    $226
  • Vio.com
    $282
1.3 km from Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
$259
  • Wyndham
    $258
  • ZenHotels.com
    $191
  • Expedia.com
    $258
0.7 km from Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
$298
Earn rewards with Select Guest
  • Booking.com
    $299
  • Priceline
    $299
  • Expedia.com
    $298
1.2 km from Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$225
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Algotels
    $199
  • Skyscanner.com
    $201
1.4 km from Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$193
  • Choice Hotels
    $192
  • Priceline
    $193
  • Expedia.com
    $192
3.7 km from Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$188
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • Algotels
    $153
  • Skyscanner.com
    $155
5.5 km from Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
$217
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $217
  • Skyscanner.com
    $217
  • Priceline
    $217
12.5 km from Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (793)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveller rating
476
189
64
30
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
476
189
64
30
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pnc park across the street full kitchen pirates game great location north shore front desk staff science center children's museum free breakfast bedroom suite yogurt breakfast staff definitely stay here again parking downtown steelers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 793 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2021

Stayed here with free night certs over Fourth of JUL weekend. Many big PROs and a few minor CONs.

Major PROS:

1. LOCATION. Great location at reasonable price. For a suite in downtown Pittsburgh, this hotel can't be beat. Walked to Point State Park in the morning with the family.

2. DESK STAFF. Front desk staff was friendly and truly accommodating and went out of their way to help.

Minor CONS:

1. BREAKFAST COFFEE. I can understand handing out bagged breakfast during COVID but no hot coffee? The coffee from the coffee maker in the room never tastes good to me.

2. SHOWER CURTAIN MILDEW. Mentioned a couple of times in other reviews for this hotel and I noticed this as well. I also noticed that unless my room temp was set at 70 degrees or below, the humidity in the room is noticeable so my guess is that this and the shower curtain mildew are related.

3. SMALL ITEMS. Dresser knob missing, paper towel dispenser broken. Door closing mechanism needs to be adjusted so the door doesn't slam and damaged the frame. I noticed this on both rooms that we rented. Housekeeping should pick up on these things and relay them to building maintenance. Since daily housekeeping is missing due to COVID, my assumption is the only the squeaky wheels (guests complaining), are getting greased.

Room tip: The parking area is an L shape. Park by Gen Robinson St to the best shade protection against the afternoon sun in the summer.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wander41376
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret Rose Wood, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2021

Dear Wander,

Thank you for your thoughtful response to your most recent stay at The Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore! I apologize for the level of cleanliness in your room and that it did not exceed your expectations. I am disappointed to read your comments. I appreciate your suggestions and will pass them along to our housekeeping and maintenance teams. I appreciate your kind words about our front desk team! We look forward to serving you in the future and redeeming ourselves!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2021 via mobile

Just across the street from PNC park and a great location on the north shore. Very clean room and comfortable. Would def recommend a stay here. Located close to both stadiums, the casino and all the bars/restaurant on the north shore.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank AltoonaFoodJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2021

My family and I traveled to Pittsburgh to see some relatives for the first time since the onset of the pandemic. We also wanted to bring my sons to their first Pirate game so the Residence Inn was perfectly located. The room was great and the location is phenomenal. However, three of the amenities that were part of why we chose the hotel were not available or were altered which was disappointing.

Pool - we were looking forward to using the pool only to see that it was completely drained and closed. I spoke to an employee who told me that they’d been having trouble with the chemicals for the past month and are now draining it to attempt to find a solution. I understand that but why wasn’t that updated on the website to show that it was unavailable. We chose this hotel over others for specific reasons including the pool.

Shuttle - there was supposed to be a complimentary shuttle to Southern Tier Brewing Company where we had planned to meet up with family. While it’s a short walk, the weather wasn’t great and we had planned to use the shuttle. Again, I understand why it wasn’t running but why list that as an amenity with the room package I booked?

Breakfast - I know that the typical continental breakfast isn’t possible yet at this point. But I felt like the offerings were pretty poor. A cereal bar, a breakfast sandwich to bring back to the room to microwave and an orange juice that was still frozen?

Again, the room was great. We had a view from the 10th floor looking out to PNC Park. The staff was very nice. Parking was convenient and easy. But the amenities, some of which were why I picked this hotel, could’ve been communicated much better.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank mariomX1570AO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret Rose Wood, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Dear MariomX1570AO,

Thank you for taking the time to give us an honest review of your recent stay! I am so sorry to read about your disappointment with our closed amenities and completely understand your frustration! We are hoping to get the pool and shuttle back up and running again soon. Also, we will definitely take your comments about our breakfast options into consideration. I am glad you were able to enjoy your room and that our team was friendly. Hopefully the next time you stay with us, you will be able to enjoy everything we have to offer. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me with any other comments or concerns. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2021 via mobile

Recently stayed here for a wedding at the casino. Room was clean and tidy. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only disappointment was that the shuttle service is not running, I understand it’s due to covid but to charge for parking and not have the shuttle running is unacceptable. To have to pay for parking and use Uber back and forth cost another $60+ for the weekend. If the shuttle isn’t running then parking should be comped or highly reduced in cost.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DieselG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret Rose Wood, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2021

Dear DieselG,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and that our staff was able to make your trip more enjoyable. Reading through your response, I am so sorry to hear that you were not happy with the parking rate. Unfortunately, it is a city lot and we are not able to control the rates. We understand how this can be frustrating and apologize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020

Booking the room was a last minute thing & last minute can cost you a couple bucks.
Thankfully I'm a bargain shopper and used the Hotel Tonight app and was able to book the room at a slightly cheaper rate. The gentleman at the front desk wasn't friendly or helpful at all. The room itself was amazing until I looked in the shower the next morning and the shower curtain liner was full of mold.

Room tip: Besides wiping everything down and disinfecting the room, do yourself a favor and check the shower curtain liner.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DayTrip671877
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 21 October 2020

I want to sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issue of your room and the overall stay you had with us. This feedback is very important and I will be in talks with my Housekeeping department to make sure these types of things do not occur in the future. With this pandemic happening, guest safety is crucial to all guests, ourselves, and we fell short with you. I also want to apologize for my customer service skills dealing with you if I indeed was unhelpful and unfriendly. Taking care of guests visiting the Residence Inn is very important to me. Feedback will always be helpful and useful for future improvement. In these unusual times, we appreciate you visiting our property and hope to see you return in the near future as we value you as our guest. If you need anything at all please do not hesitate to reach out to me!

Sincerely,
Dominic Artuso
Guest Services Manager
(412) 321-2199

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews