We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Cam M
New York City, New York

Terrible and overpriced

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Apr 2024
This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. I paid $252 a night for a small, outdated room with an uncomfortable bed, terrible pillows, and housekeeping that only comes every 2-3 days (in theory). I was able to ask for additional sheets and towels when I needed them, but for a Thur-Sun stay, my room was not cleaned once. Someone apparently came in and took my used towels, but did not replace them. Almost nothing worked well or properly, from the toilet to the AC. The included breakfast was truly disgusting. I would never stay here again, especially considering the outrageous price. The only positive part of the experience was the staff, who were all very kind and polite.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$248
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $248
  • Expedia.com
    $249
  • Skyscanner.com
    $247
2.8 km from Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Free Wifi
Pool
$310
  • Skyscanner.com
    $253
  • Expedia.com
    $312
  • Priceline
    $310
2.8 km from Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$295
  • Priceline
    $295
  • Skyscanner.com
    $280
  • Vio.com
    $295
3.3 km from Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$255
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Hotels.com
    $243
  • Skyscanner.com
    $255
3.5 km from Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
$328
Fully refundable
  • Omni Hotels
    $331
  • Priceline
    $319
  • Expedia.com
    $331
2.9 km from Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$261
  • Skyscanner.com
    $247
  • Expedia.com
    $263
  • Hotels.com
    $262
3.0 km from Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$237
Save with Choice Privileges
  • Booking.com
    $235
  • Priceline
    $235
  • Expedia.com
    $237
6.0 km from Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
$371
Fully refundable
  • Wyndham
    $374
  • Skyscanner.com
    $204
  • Hotels.com
    $373
3.7 km from Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$215
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Skyscanner.com
    $214
16.2 km from Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
$246
  • Skyscanner.com
    $246
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Residence Inn
    $248
4.0 km from Hampton Inn Pittsburgh University/Medical Center
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (1,320)
Filter reviews
1,320 results
Traveller rating
701
368
144
52
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
701
368
144
52
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle service front desk carnegie mellon free shuttle visiting pitt free breakfast convenient location the breakfast area yogurt hospital parking downtown inns surgery uber proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,320 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2023

Had not stayed here since pre-Covid. I would say this property has not aged well. A bit rough around the edges. Needs a bit of work. Service was not great. Not welcomed as a Diamond member and needed to ask for water. Not a big deal - but just kind of fit the whole vibe. Will look elsewhere on next visit.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tropix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2023

Stayed here for Pitt move in. Parking was extra, hotel was too expensive. Nothing special however bed was comfortable. Breakfast not good just very basic. (Eggs from a bag) will not stay again. If you have AAA make sure you say that when you book it. Do not recommend.

Date of stay: August 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank dambrosiodemetra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2023

When booking this hotel do not do it on line. Their website redirected me to a booking website which fleeced me in fees and booked a nonrefundable reservation. Call directly to book if not computer saavy.

Date of stay: August 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank cccolony
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2023

Please avoid this hotel. It is in an undesirable part of town without any restaurants or anywhere to walk to. It mainly serves as a perch for the hospital. We paid $290 in August 23 to stay here one night and it was worth half that. When we realized we could’ve stayed somewhere nice 10 minutes away it was a lesson. Everything is small and old here. Everything looks shabby. In the spirit of open candidness, I should say that we are huge Hampton Inn fans - they are our preferred chain everywhere we travel in the world. The most alarming incident of this stay was at 9:40 PM when someone used a card to access our room and started opening the door. I had put the security latch across, which made the attempted door opening loud & really aggressive. My husband went to the door. The man outside acted surprised and said housekeeping sent him, but he had nothing with him, and he did not knock first, which housekeeping always does in hotels. It was unsettling. Without the security latch he would have been in the room and we were in bed. We will never return. Although we still love the Hampton Inn chain. Go 10 minutes away to the area on the other side of the river.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wendaroolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2023 via mobile

The hotel has definitely been remodeled recently. However, there a minor things that are noticeable wear, but can’t complain. These are pretty much the decals peeling everywhere and the caulk in the shower peeling away. These are minor.

Arrival was pretty smooth. $25 per night for parking. There is parking in front of the hotel and also across from the hotel in a secured overflow lot. Staff was helpful and nice at the front desk. They don’t have much staff overall. So there are lines when you need guest services. Room overall is nice and clean, but definitely smells of dirty carpet and needs a clean refresh of some sort or some kind of deodorizer. Wall controlled AC, but be mindful it is on a sensor and if you leave the room for an extended period, it will turn off.

Breakfast space is really small and gets congested. Only one person helping, but she’s doing great and the best she can! The food is good and plenty of choices. I just wish there was someone to help her clean the tables. They were very dirty and the wipe station was empty to be able to do it myself.

For a Hampton Inn and $250 for the night, I definitely think this wasn’t the better experience. I choose this brand for a reason and this time was just ok. Overall, it was a comfortable bed, hot shower, good breakfast. They definitely need to focus on the busier days and details. I don’t want to knock the hotel because it was ok. I just don’t think it was the fest representative of the brand. Maybe for $150 a night.

Room tip: Parking is $25 a night. overflow Parking across the street. Get to breakfast early. Not a ton of staff to help out.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank madchef88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews