We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Martha R
St. Petersburg, Florida

Downtown Pittsburgh/Northside Luxury Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Dec 2023
I booked one night at The Priory, Northside, Pittsburgh to enjoy nearby Rivers Casino. The Priory is a top drawer boutique hotel in an historic building beautifully decorated for the holidays. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. My room was small but spotlessly clean, with a comfortable bed and plenty of pillows and towels. The convenient free parking lot was secure. A wedding party had booked the attached Hall which sounded festive and fun. Best of all, The Priory offered free shuttle service to Rivers Casino (Fri, Sat only). Downside: the surrounding Northside neighborhood is sketchy; I wouldn't want to walk around it at night.
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Ask about the free Casino shuttle service on Friday and Saturday.
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 24 Apr 2024
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and many thanks for sharing your experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$320
  • Booking.com
  • Hampton
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from The Priory Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$303
  • Booking.com
  • Hilton Garden Inn
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from The Priory Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
$326
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Omni Hotels
    $326
1.3 km from The Priory Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$235
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.9 km from The Priory Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$188
  • Booking.com
  • Curio
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from The Priory Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$184
  • Booking.com
  • Choice Hotels
    $184
  • Hotels.com
4.5 km from The Priory Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$219
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
13.3 km from The Priory Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
$188
  • Skyscanner.com
    $138
  • Algotels
    $135
  • Priceline
6.4 km from The Priory Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    $177
  • Cambria
    $202
1.6 km from The Priory Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (906)
Filter reviews
906 results
Traveller rating
583
208
76
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
583
208
76
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand hall monk's bar benedictine monastery pnc park north side unique hotel warhol museum across the street within walking distance pirates game breakfast was delicious shuttle downtown parking wedding bridge steelers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 906 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2023

Visiting at the end of 2023. Not sure what architecture style the building is, but it feels super cozy during Christmas! And the room makes a good balance between historical and modern imo. And the bathroom is one of the cleanest I've ever seen! Like the sink is shining!

The staff (Luciano, sry if I misspell your name) is super nice! He offered to help me do laundry!

Free parking close to the core area of Pittsburgh. I will definitely visit it again in the future!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank An L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2024

We appreciate the positive feedback. Our team is trained to be as accommodating as possible so we are pleased to hear that Luciano was so helpful. He's one of our stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2023

Our stay was absolutely perfect! We did the date night package with the Candle lighr concert being held at their Grand Hall. Convenient parking! Awesome shuttle service to local restaurants! Very helpful and friendly staff! The room was pristine! The bed and pillows were very comfortable! Very lovely hotel!! Couldn't have had a better experience!

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Christi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2024

We are delighted to have hosted you and extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2023 via mobile

This place is absolutely beautiful! It is an old renovated Monastery which is super charming. They have done an amazing job at making this hotel an elegant getaway right in the middle of Pittsburgh. Our room was gorgeous and roomy. The entire hotel and wedding chapel is adorable and charming. My favorite was the tiny bar that they have in the hotel. The bartender (Michael), is one of the best bartenders I have come across. He makes amazing drinks! The Monktini was so delicious that I forgot how much alcohol was in it. The staff at the hotel is so sweet and accommodating. They really know how to make you feel important;) I would recommend this hotel to everyone! I will certainly be staying here on my next trip to Pittsburgh. You can’t go wrong with this hotel.

Room tip: Parking can be a little tricky, but they do have two lots for the hotel guests to park.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paigeh507
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2024

Thanks so much for your kind words. The positive feedback is much appreciated by our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2023

This company has two hotels in Pittsburgh and they're the only places I stay when I'm in town. Both are awesome, beautiful, and historic.
It's a great break from the normal, average, ordinary places

Room tip: Check out the Monk's Bar and the outdoor courtyard!
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John Graf, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Thanks so much for your repeat business. We are delighted to have hosted you and look forward to doing to in the future. We'll be sure to pass along your kind thoughts to our team members, who will appreciate them very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2023 via mobile

A special Thank You to Nicole and Logan at the front desk. They were so patient with us and all our questions. The hotel was more than comfortable and I slept like a baby! We had a late night drink from the bar on the patio which was delicately decorated with lights. We very much appreciated the shuttle driver also.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Abscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews