We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$474
Expedia.com
$475
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
$464
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,419)
Filter reviews
1,419 results
Traveller rating
680
424
186
72
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
680
424
186
72
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking front desk carnegie mellon valet service convenient location college visit per day pitt elevator proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,419 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2023

Shabby. Smelly. Old. Unkept and way past its prime. Room smelled like wet dog. Stayed here Saturday and Sunday, 10/28 and 29 for a family gathering. Dark and dinghy room. Mildew on shower threshold and shower towel bar. Frayed, ratty-looking bedspread. Never received folio via email as promised.
until I called two days later and requested it. On it, they had my address listed as someplace in Las Vegas, NV! Never received an satisfaction survey. Still haven't, even after specifically requesting one.

Room tip: Book elsewhere, unless Hilton undertakes a major make-over for the University Place Hilton Garden Inn.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Freedom42692401919
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2023

It feels dirty and worn. The pillows are lumpy, the curtains and chair are stained. The bed is either stained or unwashed, and the heat/AC unit is super dusty… it sounds like they’re getting a Reno soon, and I’m guessing they’ve just stopped keeping up with things. I’m here for a wedding, but the room looks like it’s been partied in pretty hard for many football seasons 😆 If you’re looking for a place to crash after a game, this might be your place. If you’re looking for clean hotel room, probably not.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SallyOwens24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2023

The rooms are 70's motif and need an update but because of the location, it is a popular place to stay. Why update? The 2 night stay was over $525 and there were 2 bottles of water in the room for $2 each. They just can't give you a bottle of water? The bath sink was clogged. The restaurant never seemed open. No room service. Valet $30 a day.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Climber19086338697
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Thank you for recently commenting on our hotel. We are excited to let you know, our hotel is scheduled for a renovation in 2025 and we too, are very excited for these updates! We hope that you visit us again in the future and we want you to know, we are happy to give you complimentary waters at the front desk throughout your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2023 via mobile

Nice sized room with fridge, microwave, ice machine in hall, and a Keurig. Perfect location if you have a kid at Pitt. Docked one star because the beds are very firm and not comfortable.
They have a coffee/tea station by the front desk.
I also noticed that they have laundry machines on the 6th floor which is an added bonus.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank mjs29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2023

Very nice property, well maintained and friendly staff. Room was well equipped and the bed was comfortable. Valet parking was efficient and there's a package with AAA that saves on that. restaurant and bar were a plus.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay! We hope you allow us the opportunity to serve you again when your travels bring you to Oakland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews