We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
dede7280
Altoona, Pennsylvania

Friendly staff

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Jun 2021
Staff were very friendly and helpful, valet was friendly and fast also. The hotel main areas appeared clean and smelled clean. Our room was basic, the bathroom had some dirt and smudges and skipped cleaning spots, but wasn’t terrible. The water pressure was not good if you have a lot of hair. The restaurant had a limit menu and the food was not good. Server was good. Would stay again if needed
Date of stay: May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review
Responded 16 Jun 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I apologize about the quality of your food from the restaurant - We are hopeful to be back to full operation here in the near future! On the positive note, we are glad you found the staff to be friendly and helpful along with the fast valet service. Hope to see you back in Pittsburgh with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$251
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $251
  • Skyscanner.com
    $251
  • Expedia.com
    $251
3.1 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Pool
$283
  • Vio.com
    $282
  • Skyscanner.com
    $226
  • Priceline
    $283
2.9 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$283
  • Priceline
    $283
  • Skyscanner.com
    $259
  • Vio.com
    $282
3.6 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$370
  • Expedia.com
    $378
  • Agoda.com
    $331
  • Hotels.com
    $343
3.6 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
$299
  • Omni Hotels
    $298
  • Priceline
    $299
  • Expedia.com
    $298
3.2 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$225
  • Vio.com
    $225
  • Algotels
    $199
  • Skyscanner.com
    $201
3.4 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$193
  • Choice Hotels
    $192
  • Expedia.com
    $192
  • Priceline
    $193
6.4 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Free parking
$266
  • Expedia.com
    $266
  • Skyscanner.com
    $266
  • Residence Inn
    $266
4.2 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Pool
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
$259
  • Wyndham
    $258
  • ZenHotels.com
    $191
  • travelup.com
    $260
4.0 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$217
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $217
  • Skyscanner.com
    $217
  • Priceline
    $217
16.5 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (1,422)
Filter reviews
1,422 results
Traveller rating
680
424
188
73
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
680
424
188
73
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking front desk carnegie mellon valet service convenient location college visit per day pitt elevator proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,422 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2021

This was a wonderful place to stay! All the employees were very helpful. The rooms were super clean and taken care of. Good job to all the staff for hosting the Pittsburgh Bodybuilding Show! Giving is dark linens was a great touch as a competitor.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank jozielynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate the feedback you provide to us. Happy to hear that you enjoyed the body building weekend and found the staff friendly and the room was clean. Hope to see you back in Pittsburgh with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2021

Customer service was great and very clean hotel! The valet service for parking was very accommodating as well, they had special parking for my truck and you definitely can’t beat that. Would highly recommend staying at this hotel!

Date of stay: April 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Jone_zey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate the feedback we receive. Happy to hear you enjoyed the customer service and valet was able to accommodate your truck. Hope to see you back in Pittsburgh with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2021

Great service, but that's about it. This hotel is way past time for a refresh. I've been coming to Pittsburgh for a few years and stayed here once before and forgot how much I didn't like it. I usually stay with a different brand when I'm in town and their property is so much nicer and newer. This Hilton needs to be shut down and completely refreshed. The bathroom in my king room is pretty awful. Its clean, but the floors are beat up, the shower is beat up, there's hardly any water pressure and its just unpleasant to be in. The rest of the room is fine, if also just really dated and worn. The desk I'm sitting at as I write this is scratched and definitely seen better days.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback we receive. Apologies for the negative experience! We are hopeful that we will receive a refresh in the near future. Hope that you return back to Pittsburgh and give our staff another shot at providing great service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2021

Great location when visiting the University. Clean rooms and friendly staff. The layout of the lobby area is a bit strange, but that wouldn't stop me from coming back again. Valet is pricey in my opinion and took way too long to get my car. Everyone was very accommodating and helpful. I highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philafann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate the feedback we receive. I want to start by apologizing for the delay in valet service while parking/retrieving your vehicle. We strive on fast, efficient and top notch service. On the positive note, we are thrilled you enjoyed the location and friendly, accommodating staff we have. Hope to see you back in Pittsburgh with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2021 via mobile

The desk staff were as friendly and efficient as they were several weeks prior, during my first stay at this hotel. During that stay, the in-house restaurant was a major negative experience, so I didn't even attempt to patronize it this time.

The housekeeping staff dropped the ball for this visit. There was not a single wash cloth in the bathroom. And if the bathtub/ shower had been cleaned after the prior guests in that room, then I'm a monkey's uncle.

Staying here for a third time is not guaranteed.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank garyf779
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback we receive. I am terribly sorry to hear about the negative housekeeping experience during this last stay. That is certainly not what we strive for at the hotel. Positively, was happy to see that the front desk staff was friendly and efficient during multiple stays with us. Hope you give us another chance during your next trip to Pittsburgh - Hope to have the restaurant back to full service in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews