We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Scott A
Brooklyn, New York

Bleah, but nice service

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 May 2021
Great service, but that's about it. This hotel is way past time for a refresh. I've been coming to Pittsburgh for a few years and stayed here once before and forgot how much I didn't like it. I usually stay with a different brand when I'm in town and their property is so much nicer and newer. This Hilton needs to be shut down and completely refreshed. The bathroom in my king room is pretty awful. Its clean, but the floors are beat up, the shower is beat up, there's hardly any water pressure and its just unpleasant to be in. The rest of the room is fine, if also just really dated and worn. The desk I'm sitting at as I write this is scratched and definitely seen better days.
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this review
Responded 16 Jun 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback we receive. Apologies for the negative experience! We are hopeful that we will receive a refresh in the near future. Hope that you return back to Pittsburgh and give our staff another shot at providing great service.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$248
No prepayment needed
  • Skyscanner.com
    $247
  • Expedia.com
    $249
  • Vio.com
    $248
3.1 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Pool
$310
  • Expedia.com
    $312
  • Skyscanner.com
    $253
  • Priceline
    $310
2.9 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$295
  • Priceline
    $295
  • Skyscanner.com
    $280
  • Expedia.com
    $297
3.6 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$255
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Hotels.com
    $243
  • Skyscanner.com
    $255
3.6 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
$328
Fully refundable
  • Omni Hotels
    $331
  • Priceline
    $319
  • Hotels.com
    $330
3.2 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$261
  • Skyscanner.com
    $247
  • Hotels.com
    $262
  • Expedia.com
    $263
3.4 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$235
  • Choice Hotels
    $237
  • Priceline
    $235
  • Expedia.com
    $237
6.4 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
$371
Fully refundable
  • Wyndham
    $374
  • Skyscanner.com
    $204
  • Expedia.com
    $374
4.0 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$215
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Skyscanner.com
    $214
  • Expedia.com
    $216
16.5 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Free parking
$246
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Expedia.com
    $248
  • Skyscanner.com
    $246
4.2 km from Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviews (1,422)
Filter reviews
1,422 results
Traveller rating
680
424
188
73
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
680
424
188
73
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking front desk carnegie mellon valet service convenient location college visit per day pitt elevator proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 1,422 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2021

Great location when visiting the University. Clean rooms and friendly staff. The layout of the lobby area is a bit strange, but that wouldn't stop me from coming back again. Valet is pricey in my opinion and took way too long to get my car. Everyone was very accommodating and helpful. I highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philafann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate the feedback we receive. I want to start by apologizing for the delay in valet service while parking/retrieving your vehicle. We strive on fast, efficient and top notch service. On the positive note, we are thrilled you enjoyed the location and friendly, accommodating staff we have. Hope to see you back in Pittsburgh with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2021 via mobile

The desk staff were as friendly and efficient as they were several weeks prior, during my first stay at this hotel. During that stay, the in-house restaurant was a major negative experience, so I didn't even attempt to patronize it this time.

The housekeeping staff dropped the ball for this visit. There was not a single wash cloth in the bathroom. And if the bathtub/ shower had been cleaned after the prior guests in that room, then I'm a monkey's uncle.

Staying here for a third time is not guaranteed.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank garyf779
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback we receive. I am terribly sorry to hear about the negative housekeeping experience during this last stay. That is certainly not what we strive for at the hotel. Positively, was happy to see that the front desk staff was friendly and efficient during multiple stays with us. Hope you give us another chance during your next trip to Pittsburgh - Hope to have the restaurant back to full service in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021

Stayed here overnight before our college tour. Loved the hotel location with easy walking to multiple restaurants and campus. Hotel staff were upbeat, friendly and helpful, and the hotel was clean and comfortable. Valet parking was $25 but oh so convenient and we were able to drive out in the morning but still resume our parking to pack up and check out at the end of the morning. Overall a very pleasant stay!

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sue215G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback we receive. Happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! From the upbeat, friendly and helpful staff to the clean and comfortable feel of the hotel. Hope the college visit went well and we get to have you with us again in Pittsburgh in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2021

Beautiful hotel with extremely nice staff. Very clean We had no problems. It was a great stay and a great weekend. They do only have valet parking which is $25 a night. I don’t remember seeing that when I booked the hotel. The valet was super nice. I felt sorry for him because he was super busy all the time trying to get cars in and out of the parking garage.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank h0meinwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback we receive. Happy to hear that you enjoyed the trip out to visit your son! Hope that you return back soon and choose to stay with us in Pittsburgh again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2021

Great service and staff! My dad was having surgery and they were great providing us with a room on short notice and the staff was so friendly and helpful because we are not from there and did not know the area

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank gjbs2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilton Hilton, Guest Services / Front Office at Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh University Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the feedback we receive. Happy to hear that all went well with your stay during your dads surgery. We hope you return back to Pittsburgh for a more leisure trip and choose to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews