We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great side trip for someone with a little extra time while traveling Rt 81”
Review of Tunkhannock Bridge

Tunkhannock Bridge
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Nicholson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 9 May 2018

For rail fans, history buffs, architecture geeks, engineers, photographers, nostalgists (?), anyone who might smile at the idea of a train rolling slowly along a noble historic bridge crossing a scenic wooded valley. I have wandered by it a couple of times. Once was lucky enough to watch a train roll across it. It's possibly more interesting wandering around the structure than just taking in the scenery from a distance, if you have the time. The structure makes you wish more construction could combine integrity to last over a century (so far, with no signs of going away any time soon), with the classical beauty of its form. If you are making a long pilgrimage down 81, it's a nice opportunity to get out of the car & wander around a bit.

PLus a bonus - getting off 81 at Exit 211 (soutbound) or getting back on at 211 (northbound) will send you past the Bingham diner, great place for a meal stop, or for picking up some pies or pastry to take to your next destination! (the sticky buns are out of this world...)

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank ET_Bville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"engineering feat"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful structure"
in 2 reviews
"rt"
in 3 reviews
"nichols"
in 9 reviews
"scenic"
in 4 reviews
"architecture"
in 5 reviews
"photos"
in 3 reviews
"buffs"
in 2 reviews
"crossing"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

What a great experience to see in person , there is at least one sister bridge up route 11 North a little past Nicholson which might be 1/2 the length.
Not much else to do except enjoy the countryside around it, makes a great motorcycle tour stop !

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Several years ago we drove a ways on Rt 11 to avoid a traffic jam on I81. We were driving along casually watching the countryside when we came upon this enormous train viaduct! We were amazed at the size of it, but continued on since we had an appointment at the end of trip on I81. On a later trip I aked a waitress at Cindy's Cafe in New Milford what that was on Rt 11. She told us that it was the Tunkhannock Viaduct---or Nicholson Bridge---and that is was a hundred years old, and celebrated every year with a festival This year we decided to drive to see it again and take some photos. There is a parking area for viewing on Rt 11, and there are brochures that describe the engineering feat. Worth the time to see it and take some photos. There is a small town not too far, and postcards and other items are for sale there.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We have beautiful mountains and a bridge that is historical and beautiful at the same time. Most people don't know but we have a smaller Tunkhannock bridge up the line. In the fall you can view it from a hillside and the fall folliage is just breath taking.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank maryannkochanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This beautiful structure has been a checkpoint That I was home since I was three the sunset behind it gets me every time

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank lds1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tunkhannock Bridge also viewed

Been to Tunkhannock Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing