We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Experience the city on the river from the river

Over the years we have made the trek to Harrisburg (the city on the river) to watch the city... read more

Reviewed 6 July 2018
explorer_md
,
Maryland
Terrific outfitter with good local knowledge

These people know their stuff. We were specifically interested in kayaking, and they were very... read more

Reviewed 3 May 2017
Sue B
,
Billerica, Massachusetts
Read all 8 reviews
  
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
6
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews susquehanna river mountain outfitters kayak paddling harrisburg boats birds
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2015

This place has everything. Doug and Mary (the owners) have paddled everything on the East Coast and that they settled here is a tribute to the mighty Susquehanna. Get him to tell you a story. Your jaw will drop. The outfitter has everything and will make sure you're safe out there. Enjoy!

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank deborah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

There is know better place to tap into the knowledge of water sports than here. They will help your group event flow smooth and the ability to put you in the right craft for your skill level. Thanks for your guidance

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

the absolute best place in south-central PA to get advice on and in purchasing kayaks and kayaking gear.
The sales folks are all seasoned professionals with lots of on-the-water experience. Their advice is rock-solid and honest. The kayak and canoe selection is easily the best, from inexpensive beginner boats to top-shelf expedition and white-water kayaks and everything in-between. Friendly staff is not pushy. Store layout is very cool and stuffed with gear.
If you're considering buying a kayak or canoe, you have to stop here.
And, they are right next to the Susquehanna River, so you can test-paddle your dream boat.

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank quantum99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

While Blue Mountain Outfitters has a great selection of paddle sports gear, it may have you interested enough to explore the entire store. Visited for about half an hour to explore the kayaks on offer. A salesman pitched to me while showing me around. I wanted a 10 foot kayak, but the girl talking to me kept pitching a 12 foot kayak and of course the longer the length the larger the price starting on average of 500 a kayak. I did some more looking around at Dunhams and Dicks, since I'm in and out of the harrisburg area constantly anyway. Prices are more reasonable, but if I need a specialty item on my kayak I would return.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Had a great afternoon of canoeing on the Susquehanna river. This place is just north or Harrisburg, PA, the state capitol. At first, we were hesitant to take the south-bound trip, because we worried the riverbanks would be so developed it would not seem wild. Not so. the river is beautiful. The outfitters gave us directions to an island along the way in which birds like cormorants and herons were nesting. It was spectacular. the river is very wide and smooth, with only a few places where you need to navigate around rocks or shelves. the outfitters were excellent in giving guidance and suggestions and very quick picking us up at the pull-out point, which is across from the state capitol. They also run other canoeing itineraries. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: June 2011
1  Thank SaulPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews