We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
17
23
17
8
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
23
17
8
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secure parking great location busy road bar fridge short walk to the marina small kitchenette free wifi nelson shops balcony hosts wharf sofa toaster
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Very convenient location! Hospitalable and chatty reception! Off the street parking. We decided on two nights as we needed to catch up on our washing. The apartment had laundry facilites in bathroon and large sunny terrace overlooking the waterfront. Wharf area easily accessible by walkover above the busy road. Had been through Nelson Bay twelve months before! Would certainly stay again,

Stayed: July 2018
Thank TeTLOW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

I booked a 1 night stay in a deluxe queen room. On arrival I discovered I had put the wrong date on the booking and had arrived a week earlier. The manager was very friendly and re-arranged the booking so that we had a room for the night.
The room was quite large and well equipped with a small kitchenette having all the utensils that you may need.
The bathroom was quite spacious and modern with a wonderful hot shower.
Everything was very clean and the secure parking was excellent.
There were plenty of restaurants close by and the foreshore was across the road.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Ballantrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Greeted by a friendly older gent, who asked where I was from, and then went on to say how people from where I live are all filthy rich, and usually leave a $50 tip on the fridge. It was a joke, but not what I expected. He explained the two key system, and what works what lock, which was quite confusing. I noticed several dark patches on the bedroom ceiling, possible mould or damp. The bathroom taps needed several turns before any water came out, and there was only one small tube of shampoo/conditioner. The kitchen light took ages to decide to come on, after lots of blinking. And the cords leading to the tv were very untidy. There is no tv in the bedroom, and only one bedside table. The lounge in the living area was some sort of single bed with a cover on it, and very uncomfortable.
On the plus side however, the position is great, just across from the marina, free set parking and pretty clean.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank annewoodman2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Far out!! How basic can a room be - for the ‘special rate’ of $140 we got a cupboard with cold tiled floors, a flimsy synthetic blanket and a stained throw on the bed for warmth in the middle of winter and one bed side table next to a saggy old bed. Thank heavens for reverse cycle airconditioning - tho it blows directly down to the bed and has a halo of dust around the edge of the ac unit. WHAT A RIP-OFF!! Staff are friendly but they’re not on site - no phone, had to use my phone to call for the wifi password. Worst stay ever - anywhere.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tandjadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Nelson towers hotel is in a great town location. The restaurants, cafes and bars are only 1 minute downstairs. There’s great coast walks and tours on the door step and other local attractions are a short drive away.
The hotel apartments are on the second floor and there’s secure undercover parking and a lift to the rooms. The building and the apartments are showing their age and a bit tired.
We had a one bedroom apartment with a large balcony and water glimpses on the main coast road into and out of town so there was a fair bit of traffic noise during the day.
Our apartment was clean and tidy with a limited kitchenette with a microwave, bar fridge, benchtop convection cooker, fry pan and toaster but no cooktop or oven. Our bathroom had a walk in shower and a washer and tumble dryer. The sofa in the lounge was a frame with a single mattress for an extra guest and was quite uncomfortable.
The bed and bedding were comfortable but we were disturbed during the night by noise from people hanging around in the nearby park and arcade downstairs.
The free WiFi was very slow with frequent dropouts.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevejomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews