We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveller rating
287
252
58
18
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
252
58
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location little nell the cafe downstairs cafe on site heated pool road noise great cafe small kitchenette walking distance to everything bottle shop free wifi central location steam room shower head down stairs would definitely stay here again shops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 619 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We stayed for two nights. The room is ok, the bed is comfortable. Our room was face the pool, so it was a bit noisy in afternoon. The location was good. You can just walk to the wharf, and town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xiaoz908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewM9890, Owner at Hotel Nelson (Formerly The Nelson Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi There,

Thanks for your comments, and sorry to hear that people in the pool disrupted you. Not sure who was about then, but normally it's pretty quiet up there.

cheers
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this property a few years ago and although the name has changed and some features are new, we found our room was in desperate need of a good clean and maintenance. There was mould in the bathroom on the roof, the bath/shower converter was broken, a lighting fixture next to the bed was broken and upon an opportunity to write a review in-house, found the pen to be broken also.
The staff were friendly and informative which is why it gets the 2/5 stars. I think for what we paid (over $200) for a single night weekday stay, it needed to be better.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewM9890, Owner at Hotel Nelson (Formerly The Nelson Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Mark,

Sorry to hear we didn't hit the mark on this occasion. We're trying to track down the faults you picked up and will sort them out asap. In regard to the price, for a fully renovated hotel in town centre in a Saturday night.... around $200 is still cheap i'm afraid. I think with the cost of running a hotel, the good old days of a good quality place for $100 are long gone...

Cheers
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Fantastic location for a short spring stay. Close to everything you need - the marina, shops, food outlets. Partial water views from our room. Staff were great in organizing a cot for our baby. Even with the lift out of order, we weren’t inconvenienced at all. Rooms were very clean and well maintained, on site parking was a bonus. And the cafe downstairs was fantastic.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank RickyP86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewM9890, Owner at Hotel Nelson (Formerly The Nelson Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hey Ricky,
Glad you and your family enjoyed your time here in Nelson Bay - It's a fantastic spot, and yep I agree a spring stay is wonderful.
Cheers,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Hotel Nelson was a wonderful place to stay- the rooms were clean, modern and the staff were wonderful. We were at the Hotel Nelson for our wedding- on arrival we were greeted by Debbie and she was fantastic, in the room we had a bottle of wine! Will be coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewM9890, Manager at Hotel Nelson (Formerly The Nelson Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Georgia we're so glad that you have had a great time for your wedding! Congratulations and hope to see you up here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

We loved everything about it! Excellent location, nice warm pool, spacious and clean, and the most amazing beds. We went next door for dinner and that was excellent too. Nelson Bay is beautiful and we could've happily stayed for longer. Special thanks for our room upgrade which was a lovely surprise.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewM9890, Owner at Hotel Nelson (Formerly The Nelson Resort), responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thanks Jen for your nice comments, we love to hear that you've enjoyed Nelson Bay. It is a great town, we love it too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews