We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My annual birthday retreat”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My annual birthday retreat”
Reviewed 26 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My husband has been booking this stunning holiday home for my birthday every year for ~4 years now. The house is as the pictures look, the view is to die for, and the tranquility is priceless.

We did notice a few changes this vitas though. All rooms except master BR were now locked off - not that we used them, but it would have been nice to show family who visited on the day.
The pantry no longer has all those little extras that the previous guests have left behind (herbs, S&P, oil, sauces, various teas, cling wrap, tin foil etc).
The spa bath outside is either requiring a decent clean and service, or its past its use by date. The water was discoloured and had a weird odour despite hubby using the chemicals provided before we hopped in.
The shower in the master ensuite still leaks all over the bathroom floor, has done for years and we have reported it to the holiday rental business.

I guess as with anything so spectacular and highly sought after there comes a time where it is no longer quaint, as it has that touch of commercialism about it. KVH used to be very homely and just like house sitting for a friend, however it feels very Air BnB now - you get what you pay for and nothing more.
This won't stop us renting this house again, however for the price being charged it does definitely need a through cleaning and a little bit of upkeep here and there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BecIAus
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely house with everything you could need!”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a great three night stay at Kangaroo Valley House. We stayed as a group of 8, all family as we were in KV to celebrate my cousins wedding.
The house was lovely, clean, warm and homely. We loved spending time by the fire and admiring the view. I would love to stay here again one day and highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful presentation of home
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn F
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“great place”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

had a great girls weekend the house was so comfy and homely the only suggestion we had would of loved the spa to be on the front deck so you could enjoy the view and the sunshine
will definitely re book again

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melliecha
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury nestled in nature's beauty”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kangaroo Valley House. It lived up to its name and we saw Kangaroo's most days of our stay, one afternoon we counted 15 in the rear of the garden. The house has everything you need in a holiday rental and is spotlessly clean and luxurious. Thank you we enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing