We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Red Dog Retreat

A warm and cosy retreat to listen to music, read books, watch movies or just savour the forest.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm and cosy retreat to listen to music, read books, watch movies or just savour the forest.
Simple rustic charm - a place to chill out in the peace and tranquility of the forest. Snuggle up in front of the fire.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
A warm and cosy retreat to listen to music, read books, watch movies or just savour the forest.
Simple rustic charm - a place to chill out in the peace and tranquility of the forest.
Snuggle up in front of the fire.
Savour the view and the sound of birdsong from your bedroom.
Soak in the spa bath and relax
Sit on the veranda and watch the wombats wander past.
Bedroom - electric blankets and goose down doonas supplied
Enjoy a romantic spa bath at the end of your day
Enjoy the cooler mountain breezes in summer
The view from our road
The lush rain forest vegetation
Red Dog Retreat - on 18 acres of ancient rain forest.
Our beautiful ancient stones
Such a tranquil place to contemplate and take in all that nature provides
What a view to wake up to....
A satisfied guest!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
withog
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful Getaway”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My parents and I stayed for one night at Red Dog Retreat during the long weekend so it was a little pricey as expected. Sally has been friendly and helpful throughout the booking process as well during our stay, making sure we are ok. The cottage was clean, lovely and peaceful, equipped with everything you need including a log fire heater and electric blankets to keep you warm and cosy. Beautiful nature surroundings and we managed to spot many wombats, a wallaby and even a lyrebird! My only comment was it'd be great if there was a microwave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful environment and animals spotting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and for your kind comments. We'd love to provide a microwave but just don't have enough room for one - unfortunately!
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa M
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable house in a natural environment”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This house was a surprise because of its wonderful setting. Surrounded by trees, with abundant wildlife. Birds everywhere.. The house itself was really comfortable and equipped with everything you'd need for cooking. Sally the owner was particularly thoughtful. I highly recommend it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc S
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing break from the big smoke.”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in the Fernery which was perfect for our family with two kids and two small dogs. The beautiful rainforest setting was complimented by a large lawn that is perfect for keeping active. Sitting on the veranda watching the sun set was a highlight as were the walks. Our 12 year old even suggested that we might make this an annual break. Can't wait to return to this rustic little cottage. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. Berry is only about 15 minutes away. It is a great place to stock up on gourmet delights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Idyllic Getaway”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had an absolutely wonderful time, an experience we will never forget & will definitely return to spend more time in this Idyllic setting. The accomodation itself was perfect for this enviroment & couldn`t ask for more. Warm & cosy with everything you need. The beautiful surronds of Kangaroo Valley provide an somewhat spiritual experience.
Beautiful memories

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Segah
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in the middle of the forest, very picturesque”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I chose this place to show a family member around who was visiting Australia. She was amazed by the bushwalks, the wildlike and mostly the charming cottage in the middle of the forest. This was a complete getaway from everything. You can take amazing photos here. You don't have to go anywhere during your stay. If you have food supplies, you can just explore the area from where you are. There is nothing around to ruin the scenery.

The cottage is quite cosy, and has everything you need. The fireplace in winter was a great experience. I would suggest to take some food and try to cook some basic meals on the fireplace. It's a lot of fun. There are nice places to eat at Kangaroo Valley if you want a proper meal too. If you plan to cook, I suggest that you mention that to the owner. Some of the cooking supplies were very low to do anything with.

We were exploring the surrounding attractions on the first few days, like Fitzroy Falls etc. We loved the bushwalk there. On our last day, we decided to stay at the cabin and enjoy the peace and quiet and the wilderness. Unfortunately it was the routine council tree trimming day. We had no electricity all day without any warning, and it was just the sound of chainsaws all day. So that really wasted our last day there. It was a shame that was the day we decided to stay at the cabin. If we were told beforehand, we could have changed our plans. I think someone could have easily notified us of this and we could have avoided the noisy day without electricity. This is my only negative comment about the place.

Overall, I loved the cabin and the location. I would definitely go back to stay here again. The owner even sent me a quick text the first night to make sure everything was all right. That was a nice touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the cabin itself.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing