We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tracey C
London, United Kingdom

Elegant comfort, right in the heart of Byron

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jun 2024
We absolutely loved our three night stay. Our Writers Room felt both generous and cosy. In fact, The Atlantic is gorgeously and thoughtfully designed, throughout. The location is phenomenal – just close enough to everything (but not too close). And the staff are super helpful and friendly. I hope we are lucky enough to stay again.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Atlantic Byron Bay, Owner at Atlantic Byron Bay, responded to this review
Responded 7 Jun 2024
Hi Tracey,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We absolutely loved hearing that you enjoyed your stay in our elegant and spacious, yet cosy Writers Room. We are so proud to be able to offer such beautifully designed and sun-lit premium rooms. Our perfect location right in the heart of Byron Bay does make enjoying our stunning beaches, shopping and incredible cafes and restaurants so easy! We hope to welcome you back to our gorgeous little tropical oasis some time soon.

The Team at The Atlantic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Front
$476
  • Expedia.com
    $677
  • Hotels.com
    $546
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Atlantic Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $298
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Atlantic Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $220
  • Agoda.com
    $205
  • Hotels.com
    $216
0.3 km from Atlantic Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $332
  • Agoda.com
    $274
  • Hotels.com
    $290
0.3 km from Atlantic Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
External Resort Shot
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $400
  • Official Hotel
  • Hotels.com
    $526
3.5 km from Atlantic Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
Penthouse Apartment outlook
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $389
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
0.4 km from Atlantic Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $365
  • Booking.com
3.8 km from Atlantic Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $155
  • StayForLong
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Atlantic Byron Bay
Free parking
Beachfront
Spa Cabin
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $137
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Hotels.com
    $154
0.5 km from Atlantic Byron Bay
Free parking
Pool
Vali Hotel Lobby
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $135
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $138
0.3 km from Atlantic Byron Bay
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Byron Bay
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
268
63
20
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
268
63
20
8
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2024 via mobile

The property and rooms are lovely. The staff friendly and engaging. Unfortunately the format just doesn’t work. TOO NOISEY. Shared spaces do not work.

Day 1 woken up by other guests at 6am and then garbage trucks. On this day the guests were trying to be quiet. But even whispering is loud. Day 2 woken up by other guest at 5:30am in the kitchen. OMG. Day 3 woken up at 12:30am and 1:30am in the kitchens making drinks The problem is primarily the kitchen /shared living area and a complete disregard for other guests. Having to get out of bed at 1am and be the sound police…come on.

This is a Fundamentally flawed layout. I would go as far as to say an epic design fail. You are relying on rules to try and mitigate. If they are unenforceable there is no point and besides detracts from the enjoyment of a holiday which should be relaxing. How you could refurb the property and not address this is beyond comprehension.

Don’t stay here. Clearly this is a known problem that no one is addressing.

Room tip: No parking on our first evening
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Atlantic Byron Bay, Owner at Atlantic Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2024

Hi John,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience we are sorry to hear you were unable to get a good nights sleep.

The Atlantic offers a unique experience for our guests due to the intimate settings of our guesthouses with our gourmet kitchens being the heart of the beach house. An experience our repeat guests have come to know and love.

Whilst we can appreciate that our style of accommodation does not suit everyone, the layout and design has been purposefully and beautifully considered to provide a beach style home-away-from-home stay.

Our policies are in place to best minimise noise disturbances such as a no party policy as well as not accomodating children below the age of 13yrs . We have a night manager who also carries out many rounds during the evening and morning when our front office is closed. Understandably noise will naturally travel from daily or nightly use of kitchens and common areas.

If our staff had been made aware during your stay we could have perhaps offered you a move to a more private room.

We can see from your reservation that you booked through a third party our Casual room. Our Casual rooms are our entry level and smallest offering, typically on ground floor, perfect for travellers spending the day and night out and about.


Thank you again for your review we appreciate all feedback, and apologise that your expectations were not met on this occasion.


The Team at The Atlantic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2024 via mobile

This hotel had it all - the relaxed nature of the beach house style stay is so perfect for a holiday - I felt relaxed as soon as I got in. The location was perfect, you were within minutes of absolutely anything you needed in town. The pool was delightful, and staff lovely. Room was equipped with everything you could need!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank felicitygjfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Atlantic Byron Bay, Owner at Atlantic Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Hi Felicity,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our wonderful location and relaxed nature of our beautifully designed beach houses. We hope to have you relaxing by our lovely pool under the palm trees again some time soon!

The Team at The Atlantic Byron Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

My fiancé and I recently stayed at The Atlantic (room little palm 3) for 6 nights.

The rooms, facilities and shared kitchen spaces are so nicely furnished and maintained and the location is perfect for a stay in Byron Bay. This was our second trip to the Atlantic, visiting recently in October for 5 nights and choosing to return as we love having the option to cater for ourselves and the facilities on offer. The pool area is fantastic and we love the Magnesium pool, and being able to hire bikes free of charge is a big bonus.

However, we felt that the standards of cleanliness and attention to detail have slightly decreased since our stay in October.
We found a large opened bag of chips behind the curtains in the room as well as cobwebs in the shower. Many of the towels at the pool house are stained with fake tan, and often the sun loungers were dirty and not regularly cleaned despite how busy the hotel was. In the shared kitchen, the fridge was dirty and full of bottles of open wine and juice from previous visitors. It is a big advantage having washing facilities, however only being able to use these between the hours of 10am - 6pm is slightly strange considering it is an adults only hotel, after a day at the beach it would be beneficial to be able to use this until 8pm. Despite being returning guests, we were asked on arrival if we had stayed before - this is a small thing but this could have easily been picked up on the system.

We enjoyed our stay, however the lack of attention to detail is what let the Atlantic down for this visit, which is disappointing considering the high price point over the New Year period.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank alices5344
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Atlantic Byron Bay, Owner at Atlantic Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Hi Alice,


Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Great to hear that you enjoyed our layout, pool and shared facilities. We are sorry to hear that you felt letdown in some areas by your return visit.

Our Housekeeping staff provide a high level of care and attention to detail, ensuring that our Guest Houses are always maintained clean and fresh for our guests.This is evident by consistent high scores in our reviews from verified guests. In saying this, things may get missed from time to time and for this we apologise . We have taken your information on board and will do our best to ensure these issues do not occur again.

During the hotter months the pool area is monitored and cleaned throughout the day several times. The daybeds are high use and we try to keep stains (e.g. sunburn cream) off the black fabric - although this can be difficult. We provide a large number of clean pool towels for guest use. Whilst we randomly check the quality of these towels, guests should feel free to discard a towel and choose another if required.


Fridges and communal areas are continually being monitored for cleanliness and cleared once guests have checked out. The open bottles of juice and wine would have belonged to in-house guests.

We thank you for your great suggestion regarding extending times of use for our washing facility. We are open and happy to review it.

Your feedback is valuable to us, so once again thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2023

Upon arrival I immediately felt at ease from the long flight into this beautiful part of the world. The Atlantic has a way of transcending the typical accommodation check-in to a breezy flow where I star-fished onto the goose down bed just to confirm my reality of having arrived to the pool deck in front of my room. It’s these tangible differences that make the visitor experience almost intangible.
The Atlantic is truly a zen oasis within a beachy fishbowl and everything and anything a barefoot stroll away.
Well done and thank you for a lovely stay.
BTW: any chance of a customer loyalty programme? ..as I’m sure to benefit even more from my collective stays already.( No hurt asking ..😇)

Room tip: Grab a long board and change your life..
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank scottn438
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Atlantic Byron Bay, Owner at Atlantic Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2023

What a review! We thoroughly enjoyed reading it! It is so lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed all that the Atlantic has to offer. It was an absolute pleasure to host you. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

We currently don’t have a special programme running although we will be sure to let you know if we do. Thank you for your valued suggestion. We do however offer promo rates from time to time and since you are a loyal guest you will be the first to know.

Until next time! The Team at The Atlantic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2023 via mobile

I um’d and ah’d before writing this review simply because, for me, writing a negative review goes against the grain. However, the treatment my husband and I received on the last day of our five night September stay was so appalling that we feel we need to make an exception. We had a late flight out of Byron Bay but, leading up to check out, we were told in no uncertain terms that we could use the facilities for as long as we needed. However, the reception manager on the day of our check out had a different view, telling us to leave as we are “no longer paying guests” and refusing to confirm with the other staff who had given us very different instructions. It was the way she went about telling us to leave which made it completely unacceptable - she was outrightly rude, unprofessional and passive aggressive in her tone. She also approached me while reading by the pool and in front of the other guests. We were embarrassed and humiliated, and her behaviour was entirely inappropriate. The incident left us with such a bitter taste in our mouths tainting our entire stay, we decided to report it to the general manager whose written response was: “There are some learnings we have taken from the matter and I am comfortable that my staff are competent to fulfil their duties”. No apology for what had occurred. To be clear, my husband and I are pretty easy going, amicable and friendly people. In our 50 years of life, we have travelled quite extensively, and we have never had an altercation (or indeed anything but notably positive interactions) with any staff member at any hotel ever before. Please see all my other Tripadvisor reviews over the last 12 years - only ever five star- titled “Special experience”, “Beautiful in every way”, “Sublime!”, “Exquisite hotel”, “Exceptional”, ”Superb – gets better and better”, “Made our stay in London sublime”, “Gets better every time!” “Outstanding”, “Third visit – and wowed again!”, “Still outstanding!” “Just exquisite”, “Gorgeous hotel with terrific staff”, “Amazing hotel – still”, “Perfect”,  “Amazing five star experience”,  “Treated like royalty”… just by way of example. The point is we are not negative, fussy, demanding or unreasonable people - we did not do anything to warrant the treatment we received… As an aside and, in the spirit of full honesty, getting a decent night sleep at this hotel is a challenge, because you literally hear everything from other rooms.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Atlantic Byron Bay, Owner at Atlantic Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2024

Hi Michelle,

Firstly we would like to apologise for your unpleasant experience. Our team works hard to ensure the comfort of our guests, every effort is made and considered in order to always provide a positive experience. To hear this wasn't your experience is disappointing.

It seems as though the concerns raised were mostly related to your experience post check-out. Whilst we do try to assist guests post check-out (e.g. luggage ,sitting areas) we are a boutique sized accommodation and the nature of the setting is intimate, which for many of our guests is a drawcard particularly considering our proximity to the town centre. To be able to deliver these expectations we have to put into place policies that ensure we don't overcrowd.

Since re-opening we have had a number of verified reviews that are 5 out of 5 with many mentioning a high level of satisfaction with Atlantic staff, however , we have taken your feedback on board and seek to improve where warranted. In interacting with guests we seek a mutual level of kindness and reasonableness.

Kindest regards,
The Team at The Atlantic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews