We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful time”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of GUNNADO

Lounge and Dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and Dining area
Lounge Bedroom with Picturesque window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Lounge and Dining area
Lounge
Bedroom with Picturesque window
Bedroom with picture window
Views from property
Views from property
Bathroom
Fully fitted kitchen
Fitted kitchen
Secluded Patio and Decking
Private entrance
Fowey harbour
Cliff walk at nearby Par beach
Sunset at nearby Carlyon Golf Club
Secluded beach near Polkerris
New Bedlinen
St.Ives
St.Michaels Mount
Polperro
Readymoney Cove 4 miles from  GUNNADO
Fowey 7 miles from GUNNADO
Mousehole
Hosts Catherine and Rob
'Doc Martin's' House Port Isaac
School in 'Doc Martins'
Port Isaac 'Doc Martin's'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Austell, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Cheryl R
South Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful time”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Perfect host Cath and Rob lovely apartment, perfect location wonderful views very comfortable clean everythink you wanted for a lovely break away good value for money would love to go back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everythink was perfect
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you stay at GUNNADO, we hope to see you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend at a beautiful apartment!”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Gunnado is a wonderful apartment with modern, tasteful decor, well-fitted out in all areas. It was pristine and extremely comfortable, with a lovely view over gardens and a valley out the back. Everything felt very new, but the apartment was still wonderfully cosy.
It was just a short walk up a hill from the town, which had everything you need including several supermarkets and restaurants, and a cinema. We took a couple of trips, one by train to nearby Truro, and another by bus to the Eden Project, both of which were about 15 minutes away. The Lost Gardens of Heligan also looked very interesting, but unfortunately we didn't have long enough this time - maybe next time!
Very friendly owner who welcomed us and offered to give us a lift to the station with our heavy bags which was much appreciated!
Thanks very much, hopefully we'll be back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior design
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2015
Thank you for your stunning and detailed review. We would love to welcome you back someday, we just had some guests in and they said the 'Lost gardens of Heligan' was a stunning day out, so maybe if you come back it will be on your to do list! Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam H
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Exceptionally good property, loved it”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This property has everything you need absolutely loved it and look forward to returning to this peaceful and very comfortable apartment with beautiful views.

Catherine was quick in responding to my emails of many questions, she operates her business in a very professional and friendly manner.

We checked into Gunnado on 16 February for a week and enjoyed it so much and were lucky enough that it was available for a few more days after we were due to leave so we extend our stay. We highly recommend this property and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

We arrived at 6.00pm, in the dark, with a very warm welcome from Catherine and Rob the owners. Rob showed us into the apartment and we opened the door to find the lights and heaters on and a nice bunch of colourful fresh flowers on the dining table. Rob gave us a quick tour and showed us how to work the appliances. The whole apartment was immaculately clean. There was also a file supplied with local area information, good directions to the supermarkets and the appliance manuals. In the kitchen we found a welcome basket with tea, coffee, biscuits and fresh milk in the fridge. Catherine and Rob were eager to please and left us to enjoy the peaceful environment. On the 5th day of our stay Catherine provided us with clean towels.

The apartment is modern and contemporary having been renovated last year with very good quality new fixtures, fittings and furnishings. It is beautifully decorated with lots of cushions and trinkets.

The apartment sits on the top of a hill with the owners living in the house above and the apartment under the main house. They have put in good sound proofing between the houses and we had no disturbing noise from above us. The views across the valley and rolling green hills from the living room and bedroom are amazing. It was very peaceful and quiet. There is a dedicated carpark, off the street, available for guests. Parking can be difficult in St Austell with street parking difficult to obtain and dedicated carparks mostly requiring you to purchase a ticket. The photos on the internet are accurate and how we found the apartment. Every day we would draw the blinds back, sit on the chairs in the living room and enjoy the view across the valley through the large window.

Living Area
- Very comfortable 2 seater couch and a separate adjustable chair with foot stool
- Coffee table and a nest of 3 smaller tables
- Small dining table and 2 chairs
- Large flat screen TV with remote control and satellite channels
- DVD player and a selection of around 50 DVDs
- A small stereo
- A modern electric heater with a flame
- Bright ceiling centre light
- Table lamp
- Large wall heater
- The WiFi was fast and reliable with a power point on the wall beside the dining table so you can charge your laptop, tablet etc while using it.

Kitchen
- Electric glass top hotplate
- Electric fan forced oven
- Overhead exhaust with light
- Microwave
- Dishwasher
- Fridge with small freezer
- Toaster & Coffee maker
- Good quality saucepans and frypans together with baking dishes, plastic storage containers, crockery, cutlery, cooking utensils etc.
- Paper towels, plastic wrap, aluminium foil, salt & pepper, dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, cloths and a tea towel
- Wall heater
- Bright ceiling centre light
- 4 spare power points above the bench to charge phones etc.

Bedroom
- Very comfortable double bed which allowed suitcases to be stored underneath
- Bedside tables with lamps and a bright portable reading light
- Bright ceiling light in the centre of the room
- Wall mounted flat screen TV with remote control
- Wardrobe with coat hangers and a small 3 drawer unit
- Large mirror
- Corner chair
- Wall heater
- Good quality bed linen and 4 pillows

Bathroom
- The bathroom is entered from a small lobby off the living area
- Glass shower unit with good shower spray and storage areas to hold soap, shampoo etc. I am not a small person but had plenty of room in it.
- Good exhaust unit above the shower so you don’t have a steam room when you finish your shower like some places
- Basin with flick mixer tap and mirror on the wall above
- 2 small shelves on the wall near the basin
- Toilet with soft close lid
- Heated towel rails
- Good lighting with centre room light and a light above the mirror
- 2 large fluffy towels, 2 hand towels and a bath mat

Storage cupboard
There is a large storage cupboard in the lobby off the living area which contains spare pillows, blankets, clothes hanging rail, iron and ironing board, broom, mop and bucket and a large clothes drying rack.

Courtyard
You enter the apartment going down 16 steps from the road level. The steps are wide, easy and a sensor light comes on at night to light them up. There is a gate at the bottom of the stairs to keep children and dogs in.
There is a small private courtyard outside the front door of the apartment that has 2 chairs, small coffee table and various pot plants.

Local Town & Things to Do
The town of St Austell has lots to offer with many shops, cinemas, restaurants, takeaway food outlets, supermarkets etc. We went to the ASDA supermarket which was huge with a good range of fruit & vegetables, meat, bread, groceries, alcohol etc. The closest supermarket is ‘The Co-operative’ where we went to top up our supplies. Head back down Gover Road, go straight ahead at the lights, the road turns left and on the right corner you will see the lime green walls of the Co-Op.
During our stay we did a number of day trips. We went to Plymouth which is a large town, you have to go to the Barbican area which is a port area with restaurants and cafés. We also visited Looe, Polpero and Fowey which are cute old fishing villages. Fowey has lots of small very narrow streets with lots of shops and cafés and probably the best of these fishing villages. We went to Par which is a huge sandy beach and a place you can exercise your dog, other than the beach we did not find much else here. We drove down to Land’s End, not a lot there but we did visit the most southern tip of England. We stopped in at the Lion & Lamb pub in Fore Street, Helston for lunch and highly recommend their Beef & Ale pie, it is huge and you have a choice of what you have with it like chips, vegetables or salad. Totally worth the visit if you are near Helston.
There are a few National Trust properties in the area but the only one open during our stay was Trerice, an Elizabethan Manor House which was a 30 minute drive from the apartment. We visited the Cornwall Market World which is a large market open on Saturdays & Sundays with a variety of stalls including clothes, shoes, books new and second hand, tools, cafés and takeaway food etc. It is all undercover so a good thing to do when it is raining.

We loved driving around the rolling hills of Cornwall through the little narrow roads and villages.

Congratulations Catherine and Rob for providing such a good holiday property. You have provided everything to make it a truly comfortable and memorable stay. We will certainly be back when we return to England.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Absolutely nothing or maybe the Cornwall weather in February
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, we found it a pleasure to have you stay here at GUNNADO, and we would love to welcome you back in the future. I hope the rest of your future travels provide many adventures and memeories for you to take back to Perth, western Australia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGS1985
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday let, amazing value for money.”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Gunnado for NYE and were very impressed. The house was very clean, extremely comfortable and with all the amenities needed for either a short or long stay. It is in an ideal location for exploring South Cornwall especially if you enjoy coastal walks (with the added bonus that they allow dogs).

I would highly recommend Gunnado and it's helpful owners to anyone looking for accommodation in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amenities inside the flat are excellent, very comfortable.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2015
It was a pleasure having you both to stay, we look forward to welcoming you and the dog Harry, sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard t
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Holiday Let”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is easily the best holiday let we have stayed in. It is a stunning place set in a gorgeous part of the country. Cath & Bob have created a holiday let that has high class written all over it. From the excellent kitchen and bathroom, to the ample space in the loung/dining area, to a bedroom that is comfortable, all you could need for a wonderful sleep and with stunning views across the hillsides. All the little touches are there from the tea/coffee and milk when you arrive to friendly and genuinely nice greeting from a lovely couple. The holiday let is finished to a high standard with all the modern conveniences you need for a short or long stay. Beautifully situated for all that Cornwall has to offer, from The Eden Project, to the beaches at Newquay or the moors of Bodmin there is something for everyone. I couldn't recommend this holiday let if I was paid too (which I assure I wasnt). It is perfect for couples who want to get away for some peace and quiet and as a base to explore all Cornwall has to offer. highly recommended and will return here next time I am in Cornwall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living Room was amazing set out with a lovely sized TV and comfortable settee and chair
Liked least: Nothing not too like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, it was an absolute pleasure having you both to stay, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing