We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,749)
Filter reviews
1,749 results
Traveller rating
1,163
390
124
40
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,163
390
124
40
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursebrend hotelsgolf breakbrend groupgolf clubround of golfsea viewmain restaurantindoor and outdoor poolspitch and puttlounge barlovely hoteltennis courtsfour star hotelwine listdeluxe roomrestaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 1,749 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent weekend at the Carlyon Bay Hotel. Five star quality throughout, helped by the sunny weather as well. Ample parking, and good wi-fi all over. There was a wedding there on the Saturday morning, and part of the lounge was reserved; but we did not feel that it interfered with us at all. Beautiful spa, indoor pool, and the outdoor pool was like walking into a bath, beautiful. Ample sun beds around pool. Restaurant was excellent, service first class, must try the venison, the best I have had. Wide selection of wines, to cater for all tastes and wallets. Breakfast - again first class, serve yourself.
Rooms - we were slightly disappointed by the size of the room,but it was clean and bed comfortable. Shower was in the bath - we must start asking for a separate shower. Quiet room, overlooking the bay. Pay a premium for this, though room a little small. Overall, a very nice weekend

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank HuwandFlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for your excellent 5* review of the Carlyon Bay Hotel.

I'm delighted you had the perfect stay with us, enjoying all of our luxury facilities. We regularly receive excellent feedback with regards to the high level of service delivered - from our friendly staff, the award winning dining experiences and the newly refurbished rooms. I am pleased this was your experience. Thank you for your kind words, these are gratefully received by management.

When a wedding takes place at the hotel, we ensure there is minimal disruption to our guests stay, I am pleased you would agree.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards, CBH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Special occasion , wife's 60th birthday , plus mid health treatment break and on the way to the Eden project session....needed something special and this place delivered everything ..the afternoon cream tea was faultless .Amazing selection of food , home made cakes and scones , homemade strawberry jam and lemon curd .
The whole experience was superb , the staff were excellent and provided excellent service in some amazing surroundings and spectacular views
Worth a call if want to have some luxury

Stayed: June 2018
Thank thetangoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Carlyon Bay Hotel.

I am delighted you were able to come and enjoy your visit for your wife's 60th birthday. A very happy birthday!

We receive excellent feedback with regards to our Afternoon Tea's and the beautiful location you get to gaze upon whilst relaxing with one.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
CBH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is set in a lovely picturesque location but we felt that the cons greatly outweighed the pros and would not stay here again.

On the first day, there was a wedding being held at the hotel which we had not been informed of when making our booking directly with the hotel over the phone. This meant that part of the dining room and the main front lawn were not available for hotel guest use for most of the day. In addition, there was excessively loud music playing until very late. As the air conditioning in our room was broken (and the friendly handyman informed us there was nothing he could do to fix this until after the bank holiday weekend), our only source of ventilation over this warm weekend was open windows which would let in even more loud music. Not ideal for the children.

The rooms are dated and ours was not very clean. The bathtub kept clogging and shower was old. The indoor pool had broken tiles around the sides which is a hazard and should be tended to. The kids club was nice and the staff were friendly. The food in the main restaurant left a lot to be desired and a guest whom we had invited to dine with us claimed it was one of the worst meals he had eaten in a long time - our party all agreed the soup tasted like it was from a can.

There is a short but steep walk down to the beach but it’s a worthwhile trip as the beach itself is beautiful. The golf course was lovely. The doormen were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

We were offered a daily newspaper and a wake up call when we checked in which was a nice gesture but were surprised when we were charged for the newspaper on check out - at £400/night, we expected this small gesture to be complimentary or the charge to be explained beforehand.

When we tried to get an early dinner sorted for our children, the staff sent us back and forth between 3 locations. The waitress was initially quite rude when we tried to clarify if we were finally in the correct place to order a quick meal for the kids, however she did apologise so maybe we just caught her at a bad moment.

Overall I think the staff could do with a bit more training and hotel requires a bit of investment to justify the price tag.

Room Tip: Sea views are better
Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank enjoytravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review the Carlyon Bay Hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your visit, this is far from the response we usually receive. I never like to think guests have experienced a less than enjoyable time with us but I do value any feedback greatly, as I feel it is only by listening to our guests that I am able to gauge levels of customer satisfaction, I am only sorry that you had to write in the first place.

We do have wedding throughout the year here, but they try to operate in a way that causes the least disturbance to other guests. They would take place outside or in the Bay View Restaurant, but move over the Golf Club late afternoon for the Evening Reception. There is always areas which the hotel guests have access to, both inside and out on the Terrace. The music that you would have heard in the evening would have been our hotel entertainment, I am sorry if this disturbed you, this is not something that can usually be heard by guests in bedrooms.

With regards to our rooms, we regularly refurbish each room, I am sorry if you felt this was not up to standard. I have passed your comments on about the cleanliness, which I am surprised to learn. This will be taken very seriously by Housekeeping and management. When you were at the hotel if this was reported it would have been addressed with immediate affect, please accept my sincerest apologies. The pool tiles are regularly assessed by maintenance, with any problems reported, this is being looked into.

I am however delighted to hear you enjoyed the beach and our 18 hole championship golf course, these are very popular when staying at the hotel. Our doorman Barry will be more than pleased of your kind comments, these will be passed along.

If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact us at the hotel.

Kind regards, CBH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Once again i brought a group of 23 golfers from Sidmouth Golf club down to this fantastic Hotel and golf course and i think its fair to say all had a great time on the amazing looking course, we had good weather as well which is always a bonus, from the moment we arrived to the time we left we had exceptional service, Lumi made sure both of the large tables were well looked after at dinner as well as at breakfast. she is a credit to the Carlyon Bay Hotel............but that's not to say the other waiters and waitresses were not as good.....they were, the pro's in the shop were helpful as were the bar staff in the hotel and the club house.

I will defiantly be back down, we do two of these golf breaks a year and cant think of a better place to go than back here

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing room, if the weather is nice the view is amazing
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlesi2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you for your 5* review of the Carlyon Bay Hotel.

It is fantastic to hear from returning guests, I am delighted all 23 of your golfing group thoroughly enjoyed their stay and our 18 hole championship course.

We regularly receive excellent feedback with regards to our staff, your kind comments have been passed onto management.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
CBH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Hi what can i say a stunning setting over looking the bay lunch was out of this world had sunday lunch good value 3 courses for 21 00 i had parsnip soup roast beef and desert and coffee def go again i would say 5 starthinking about christmas party there is a golf course as well there cant wait to go again staff are very friendly nothing to much trouble

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for your 5* review of the Carlyon Bay Hotel.

I am delighted to hear you had a wonderful Sunday lunch with us, we regularly receive excellent feedback about our award winning dining and spectacular views of the Bay. I would recommend booking your Christmas party as soon as you can because availability is limited due to popularity.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards, CBH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews