We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,129)
Filter reviews
1,130 results
Traveller rating
949
126
27
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
949
126
27
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews talland bay fine dining dog friendly hotel brasserie menu quirky hotel main restaurant sea view stunning location coastal path cornish coast fantastic hotel second to none dog owners sunday lunch high standard nothing is too much trouble cream tea
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 1,130 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Just had a lovely couple of days much needed rest at this gem of a place. Lovely attentive staff, very comfortable room, beautiful views and local walks. The food in the brasserie was extremely good, perfect parfait, fab fish, crispy chips, and the best moules mariniere ever tasted. Faultless all round. My daughter also said she had the best ever risotto.
Very lucky with the weather and our dog was very spoiled.
Lovely to explore this part of Cornwall without the crowds for a couple of days.
Will be booking in again.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear A F

it was of course our pleasure and thank you again for your kind words, as you say you can not beat locally sourced Fish and mussels.

we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

kind regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Stayed 4 nights in delightful room 1. Fine hotel, fine food, very enthusiastic staff. Beautiful gardens. This is advertised as a 'dog friendly' hotel - which it is. I did not appreciate dogs being allowed in a dining area, nor was I too happy about serving/waiting staff stroking the dogs. Had it not been for this I would have be pleased to rate it as five stars.

Room tip: Ask for first floor superior sea view room
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you johnprank

for your kind words, about ourselves and the hotel. Yes you are right we do advertise that we are a dog friendly hotel and we openly welcome dogs as one of the family here.

I would also like to assure you that we have situated at the bar and around the waiting staff's work stations dispense hand sanitizes and our staff are rigidly trained to use these after making a fuss of our four legged guests. thank you for your comments and we will ensure that this practice is upheld and continued.

we hope to see you again soon

kind regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a one night break .Upon arrival we were upgraded to a delightful /luxurious room with private balcony (Room 9 ).
Views truly stunning, food amazing ,cocktails delicious a really wonderful place to visit. Loved the Alice in Wonderland theme,around every corner there was something visual to make you smile .Kyra & Jack were a credit to the hotel , thank you for making our stay special .

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pebbles138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you, for your kind words and it is really appreciated when our staff are mentioned with well deserved credit.

We look forward to seeing you down the rabbit hole again soon.

kind regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed here the weekend just gone and had a fabulous time, service was impeccable the room was lovely and very clean. I love the quirky art they have a massive gin selection and the food was gorgeous. Thank you talland bay for making us feel so welcome

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Newquay_or_bust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank you so very much for your kind words, we always strive to make our guests feel as welcome and relaxed at all times. The Gin selection is our little quirk that just keeps growing and growing.

We hope to see you all again very soon.

kind regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

I received a voucher for afternoon tea for two at Christmas. Limited locations available in Devon & Cornwall so chose the Talland Bay Hotel (never heard of it before) because it was one of the nearest options. What a stroke of luck. The hotel turned out to be an amazing, quirky but friendly place in a breathtaking location, with beautiful grounds and a comfortable, individual, funky decor. All the staff were really friendly and efficient and the afternoon tea was excellent. Thoroughly recommended and dog friendly too, just a short stroll from the beach. I'll certainly be returning and highly recommend it to others. Thanks Talland Bay for a lovely afternoon.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thanks Chris M.

We so glad you found us and happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see you again more often and you can sample some of the other delights we have to offer.

kind regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews