We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An idyllic bolt hole for us.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Trewoodloe

Trewoodloes garden overlooks the lakes, orchard and stream towards the River Lynher
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Trewoodloes garden overlooks the lakes, orchard and stream towards the River Lynher
Trewoodloe, built in 1840 for working miners, now a place of relaxation and pleasure. The sunny sitting room has a large TV, cd player, ipod dock and wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Trewoodloes garden overlooks the lakes, orchard and stream towards the River Lynher
Trewoodloe, built in 1840 for working miners, now a place of relaxation and pleasure.
The sunny sitting room has a large TV, cd player, ipod dock and wood burning stove
Relax in the sitting room with the wood burner and candles lit - perfect!
The dining area has a beautiful view over the garden to the lakes and river beyond
Trewoodloe nestles in a quiet and undiscovered valley in Cornwall
Trewoodloe kitchen is well equipped with ceramic hob, fridge freezer and microwave
The birdlife is plentiful at Trewoodloe and we love feeding them!
Mown paths meander around the lakes and down to the river - picnics by the stream are fabulous!
The sitting room has comfortable seating,a  woodburner and large tv
The bathroom has a 'shower' bath....plenty of luxury!
The spacious gallery bedroom has a double and a single bed, comfortably sleeping 3
The view from the kitchen window, across the meadow to the stream
The view from the bedroom window....
The duck and her family appreciate attention.....especially if it involves food!!
The cottages in June
A tranquil and fabulous base for your holiday
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pensilva, Liskeard, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FredaCarl...
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An idyllic bolt hole for us.”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I usually find reviews easy to construct, but not this time.
Where do I stop with the praise?
We both loved this well restored & extended property.
We booked with only a few hours notice yet Polly still managed to drive over to turn on the central heating & leave the delicious scones with jam & clotted cream.
We loved the bed topper so much that we ordered one for ourselves!
Sincere owners who really care. Good quality furniture. Warm, comfortable, utterly peaceful surroundings with a stream near-by. What more could anyone want? ..... (a mountain; a lake with boat; steam railway with station adjacent?) ..... Do we really have to leave today? :(

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The caring attention to detail.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2015
Thank you for your kind comments about Trewoodloe.....We are so glad you had a lovely holiday in the cottage. We like to make our guests feel welcome so try to think of little touches to help your stay go well!
We really appreciate you taking the time to review Trewoodloe and would love to welcome you back any time.
Tabitha and Polly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and tranquil surroundings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 May 2015
We are so glad you had a lovely week at Trewoodloe and thank you for taking the trouble to review the cottage...It is a very peaceful setting and perfect to get away from it all.
We look forward to your return visit and you will be very welcome.
Thank you again,
Tabitha and Polly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LemonyEli...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very special, cosy find - perfect for couples.”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Despite staying at Trewoodloe in the middle of winter & experiencing several hail, sleet, snow (not to mention considerably more rain) storms, this cottage proved to be the perfect place to go back to. The facilities and size are most suited to couples or a family with one child.
On arrival we were welcomed by an incredibly touching card and two homemade scones with local jam and cream - very much appreciated after a 6 hour journey. It was also helpful to have the essentials already there and waiting to save us having to unpack and then locate the nearest shop after normal opening hours - milk, tea, coffee, oil and logs etc for the fire.
Initially we had problems with the wifi (due to no fault of the owners) but they were very willing and helpful in helping us sort it out. I always felt able to ring them whenever I had any questions about anything. We had a real sense of attention to detail and genuine care.
As nobody was staying at Trewoodloe's sister house next door, our Belgian Shepherd had the run of the entire 3-4 acre grounds which he absolutely loved. We very much valued being so secluded and in such a secure area that we could just open the front door & the dog could run out & be safe from traffic or other people. Despite the secluded location, the nearest village with a pub & shop is only 2.5 miles away. The nearest supermarket was approx. 15 mins away and a quality local butchers only a 5 min drive.
During our weeks stay, we spent much of our time cycling, walking the dog, exploring popular attractions such as castles and a brewery, and snugging up in the evenings with the fire and the telly. There was much more we could've seen and done and two weeks might've been better to do the place justice.
The location of the cottage was fairly isolated, which made the most of the quiet rural setting, but popular attractions suited to both families, fays out and rainy afternoons in were all around a scenic drive away.
The cottage was incredibly cosy and the rustic log fire really was the cherry on top. The cottage provided everything we needed in terms of facilities, comfort and homeliness, and we will certainly be back again.
I always found the owners to be very kind, friendly and keen to help and provide information. I can't think of anything I'd wish to improve upon - and anywhere of this quality that allows people to bring their dog (particularly when it involves an inevitable level of muddiness..) has to be grabbed and thoroughly appreciated, The cottage was also excellent value for money (my primary reason for picking it).
We will certainly be back if Trewoodloe will have us!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2015
Thank you for reviewing Trewoodloe...we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Your comments are great for future guests to appreciate what Trewoodloe has to offer and we thank you for making your review so comprehensive!
Tabitha and Polly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyTrav...
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Directions to the cottage were very helpful, a lovely cream tea on arrival plus some useful extra's were supplied.
The property is very cosy in a lovely peaceful location. Our dog loved the walks and splashing about in the river.
A drive to the nearest town, Callington, had access to all essentials. A short drive through Pensilva and you are on Bodmin moor, beautiful views and walks.
If you like a peaceful location this is definitely the place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Comfort of seating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Trewoodloe and found the extras useful....We try to provide the essentials such as salt, pepper, oil, etc. so that your holiday is as easy as possible.
Thank you for reviewing Trewoodloe - we really appreciate it,
Tabitha and Polly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJordan66
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful little cottage with amazing wildlife!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We so enjoyed our week in Trewoodloe. Polly and Tabitha made sure we had our instructions to get to the cottage in plenty of time and even provided a cream tea ( and dog chew for Butch! ) on arrival. All the little extras - olive oil,coffee,milk etc made it all so much easier than the usual holiday let.
The surroundings are peaceful and beautiful and we spent many mornings watching the huge variety of birds feeding and evenings watching the rabbits in the field.
My son and dog loved the stream and river.The walk down to these is easy and enhanced by the mown pathways through the wild flowers ( and gorgeous shimmering dragonflies!).
I would definitely recommend this delightful little cottage . I can image it would be just as charming in the winter, as there is a wood burner and logs provided.
Thank you Polly and Tabitha for a lovely stay. We would love to come again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments! We think the little extras like olive oil and salt and pepper are really rather essential when you go on holiday, so we try to provide what we can to make life easier.....
We would love to have you back to stay and thank you again for taking the time to review Trewoodloe.
Polly and Tabitha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing