We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
StayForLong
Trip.com
Snaptravel
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
304
24
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
304
24
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heidi chris eden project cooked breakfast lovely home excellent hosts beautiful house homemade jams wine glasses spacious room warm welcome car park local produce fantastic stay local attractions sweets cornwall pubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2021

What a fabulous B&B. Chris and Heidi are the prefect hosts. Very welcoming. The room we had was lovely and spacious with a couple of armchairs so that we could sit and enjoy a nice glass of wine looking over lostwithiel. Nice lot of touches in the room which was decorated to a high standard and lovely and quiet. Lovely breakfast also. This hotel is in a great location and there are lots of good places to eat within walking distance

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi Swire, Owner at Penrose B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Hello, thank you for your lovely review, it is much appreciated. And we can say it is wonderful to see guests again, after lockdown! Everyone is so happy to be out, out - even when we have had the odd spot of rain :) It is also great when guests live quite locally, and come to stay because they want to eat at one of our local restaurants, visit Eden Project and have a gaunt further down the coast! Hope to see you again in the near future. Chris and Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2020 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Penrose B&B for 3 nights at the beginning of December 2020. What a treat! A beautiful, spotlessly clean (very covid safe) perfect place to stay. Our hosts Chris & Heidi made us feel at home with their very warm welcome as well as their attention to detail all over the house.
The delicious freshly cooked breakfasts were made to order with local produce and Heidi’s homemade jams.
Our very comfortable large room (room 4) had a fabulous view across Lostwitheil as well as lots of toiletries, tea & coffee and even a little bowl of sweets.
There are many excellent pubs and restaurants in Lostwithiel within walking distance from Penrose B&B, and the Eden Project and lots of other local attractions are just a short drive away.
We will definitely be back to stay & would recommend Penrose B&B to anyone

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank julie_wells10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi Swire, Owner at Penrose B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2020

Thank you so much for you review. With covid being so prevalent we feel it is imperative to do our utmost to keep the house over clean!! We also can give enough space in our dining room for each room to sit free of other guests, and Chris is getting a work out waiting on everyone hand and foot:))

We have a map of the town and all the places to eat, plus their telephone numbers - thus making it as easy as possible to make reservations. And as you say, they are all within a short walk.

Looking forward to seeing you both again.
Chris and Heidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2020

Lovely home and perfect hosts. Very covid safe and our room was exceptionally clean.
Dog friendly and Heidi comforted our dog when we needed to go out. Great location and parking on site. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Thank you!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cjd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020

Your hosts Chris and Heidi, give exceptional service and attention to detail.
The breakfast is cooked to perfectly and is locally sourced, including Heidi's home made conserves. Our room was immaculately cleaned and had beautiful furnishings. It was a delightful stay and John & Heidi made our border terrier most welcome.
THANK YOU VERY MUCH and we will see you soon.
Date of stay: October 2020

Room tip: Room 3 has a beautiful bathroom, furnishings and view.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Chris and Heidi were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. There is onsite parking, good WiFi and the breakfasts were wonderful. Penrose was the ideal base for our short holiday visit to Cornwall.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 361iainb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews