We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
307
252
65
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
252
65
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eden project outdoor pool recommend this hotel groupon deal comfortable hotel plenty of parking car park family room stayed for nights exploring cornwall evening meal good size weekend break main building booked this hotel very pleasant stay buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Stayed there for three nights. As we had a dog we were put in the older tired rooms which face onto the car park. They have seen better days. The breakfast actually decent for a buffet style and faces onto the pool. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The bar is out of a ferry and lacks charm. But as a jumping off point to visit the area it's well worth considering.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the car park are old.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollywood-2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Many thanks for your review, we have 6 pet friendly rooms in our courtyard block with direct ground floor access access to our car park and the lovely walks by the river available to you in Lostwithiel, this winter we will look at updating them again, with 36 rooms we always seem to be decorating here! Great to hear you liked our buffet breakfast and we are very lucky to have such great staff, hope to see you again. Simon & the Restormel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Hotel is very nice, outdoor swimming pool is heated and a really nice bonus, breakfast always being topped up with fresh food which was all very nice, staff were lovely and friendly and very helpful too. Room was a good size and was nicely decorated. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash-leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review, we have 6 different room types so pleased to hear you liked yours, and should you return soon always remember to contact us directly for the best price. Our outdoor heated pool is open until Oct half-term then we need to wrap it up for winter, andI will certainly pass on your comments to all my staff, thank you again. Simon & the Restormel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We came on a weekend for one night. We checked in really late, but the reception desk was manned, thankfully. The only gripe was that we had requested a room for our pet dog and we hadn't received a response from them in time before arrival, so we had to arrange things at check in. There was ample parking available, as this hotel has a main car park, and then an overflow one for a total of two parking lots.

Staff were very gracious and even provided free milk from their kitchen for a little one, which was very much appreciated.

Morning dining staff were great as well. We didn't stay for breakfast, but whilst we were waiting for the morning milk, I observed them to be very professional and quite attentive to the guests that were dining in for the morning brunch.

We didn't utilise the outdoor pool that was there, but the water looked to be quite clean and the pool area itself looked to be quite well maintained.

A good stay; I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Samuel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Many thanks for your fabulous review; I am very proud of the Hotel we have and the staff who work hard to achieve everything we offer. Apologies for the confusion if you booked a pet friendly room; we only have 6 and they are always in great demand so its best to reserve one of them direct with us. Simon and the Restormel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a family suite which was fairly cramped and seemed a little damp. We arrived late one evening visited the eden project the very next day before leaving early on the following day. We did not enjoy a hot shower on any of the three occasions we showered and my grandaughter was in tears with the freezing shower one evening.
Both hot and cold breakfast was very good and tasty and the breakfast staff very organised. At £10 per head for adults and £5 for children I would have expected it to be. Strangely these prices, however, are only available if you prebook the night before!!
Would definitely NOT revisit and suggest when booking that you agree a non payment clause if no hot water. This might get the management to overhaul the boiler etc. The fact that they were fully booked with a great many showering so water had run out is a feeble excuse.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank christopher b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Many thanks for your review; rest assured I do not operate a Hotel in Cornwall without hot water, although a gas boiler did fail for 30 minutes of your stay (I drove back into work to relight it at 9pm, and you were compensated for this). Our family triple rooms of which you reserved are best suited to two adults and one child; we do however have 2 large family suites with a separate room containing bunkbeds for 4 or more guests. To help the chefs and restaurant staff prepare for breakfast we do offer an incentive to prebook breakfast at a reduced rate, something many hotels operate when they are full. Simon & the Restormel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This hotel was of a very high standard . The staff were very warm and welcoming , and the service was of high standard . Would definitely recommend this place . The rooms were very clean , and we're supplied with plenty of tea and coffee . Ironing board and hairdryer located in the room .

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at Best Western Fowey Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thanks you so much for your great review, I'm very proud of the Hotel and staff who help us deliver high standards day after day, we've invested a great deal and continue to do so over the last few years to ensure we can offer a great product to everyone. Thanks again. Simon & the Restormel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews