We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unforgettable”
other travellers have booked this property
Historic holiday house, on our private quay. We offer you kayaks, motor, sailing and rowing boats.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Historic holiday house, on our private quay. We offer you kayaks, motor, sailing and rowing boats.
A warm and friendly welcome to Bishops Quay. No worry, easy care carpet, 1 or 2 good dogs can come. Dry logs are always provided for the lovely open fire, as many as you need. BQ has Sky + Sports tv.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Historic holiday house, on our private quay. We offer you kayaks, motor, sailing and rowing boats.
A warm and friendly welcome to Bishops Quay. No worry, easy care carpet, 1 or 2 good dogs can come.
Dry logs are always provided for the lovely open fire, as many as you need. BQ has Sky + Sports tv.
Good Wifi, exclusively yours, + house landline. Bose Wave Music System now with ipod connect kit.
Generous dining table; seating for 10 + place settings to match, glasses, cutlery, crockery for 12+.
KT, the pretty BQ rowing boat, ready for you. You can use her for 4 hours either side of high water.
Evening scene from the balcony, the sun stays longest on Bishops Quay, well after 9pm in June/July.
Kate's Happy Helford Hens live in the meadows along the lane and provide golden yolked eggs.
Everything you could ask for, all modern equipment, dishwasher, cookery books, warm and cheerful.
The wrap-around kitchen leads off the living room and through to the extra bedroom suite, if taken.
The large extra bedroom has its own comfortable ensuite + over bath shower. Balcony, books tv + dvd.
Door to the balcony, writing desk and chair, king size bed, glorious views of quay, harbour, boats.
A gorgeous wooden, king size sleigh bed, a relaxing, private atmosphere; surely a room to remember.
Romantic James Galway roses from the house garden, sit sweetly on Granny's old dressing table.
Sunny bathroom with shower over the bath, warm and cosy, BQ has CH available 24/7 all year around.
The front twin bedroom looks out across the water. Light proof curtains, generous duvets + books.
Birds, boats, bedroom view - all rooms look out over the water, woods, and wildlife, river activity.
Children's bunk bedroom upstairs, black out blind, thick lined curtains. Next to master bedroom
Sitting out in the sun, maybe watching the family kayak, canoe, row, sail and motor around the creek
The jetty seen from the Ladies Garden, private to guests, KT the BQ rowing dinghy, motor bass boat.
Our fishing vessel, 33', New Harmony, works from the quay, bringing back lobsters, monkfish etc
Here's a floor plan to allow you to check out the rooms. Taking the extra bedroom increases fee
The Cornwall Crafts Exhibition at Trelowarren is very nearby. Many lovely galleries to visit locally
Exhilarating beach walks within ten minutes drive from Bishops Quay, the skies and light are great.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Helston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Figen1965
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a lovely, cosy house in a great location. It has breathtaking views throughout the day, but especially during the sunset. The house has all the comforts that one might need. All rooms have many decorative items, loads of books, games and vases of flowers everywhere. The owners, Kate and Ben made every effort to make us feel welcome. We very much appreciated the welcome tray of cream tea and delicious flapjacks on our arrival after a long drive. My daughter loved kayaking and the boats. She is already looking forward to our next holiday at Bishops Quay.
The area has loads to offer. Great walks, beautiful gardens and lovely small fishing villages. Trebah Gardens which is just across the river from this cottage was my favorite.
Many thanks once again to Kate and Ben for giving us this opportunity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the friendliness of the owners.
Liked least: We loved everything.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrighteou...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Riverside Perfection”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Bishop's Quay is on the stunningly attractive Helford River in South Cornwall. The river is tidal so alternately its beautiful water or bird-ridden mud. lovely trees down to the water. Idyllic. The Kirby family have lived there for many years fishing professionally from the quay and running the house in an unusually friendly and totally efficient way. Home-made cakes and eggs from fifty yards away are a bonus and the freshest fish possible arrives in Ben Kirby's boat most days
We have stayed there many times and will do so again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the family
Liked least: The latter stages of the drive from London
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarin27
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing house in a stunning location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful week at this beautiful house, set in a breathtaking location. We were made to feel very welcome, with flowers in every room and lovely tasty treats waiting for us on our arrival. We were very lucky with the weather which meant we were able to spend our evenings bird watching with a glass of wine in hand, as the sun set. During the day, boating along the Helford or a visit to the beach was a very relaxing and fun way to spend the day.
We loved staying in a place that was so comfortable and welcoming, and can't wait for our next visit. Thank you so much to Kate and Ben!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathrine...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tranquil holiday destination”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week's idyllic stay at Bishops Quay. The house is in the most beautiful setting and is very quaint and eclectic. The owners did everything possible to make us feel welcome and our stay relaxing and special. Beautiful flowers were in every room, delicious cream tea, cake and homemade quiche all beautifully set out.
The children (aged from 1 to 9) absolutely loved the whole idyllic place and were delighted to feed the hens, go crabbing and best of all spend time on the river. Having use of the boats was an extra bonus to the holiday.
We can highly recommend Bishops quay for a holiday it is set in the most beautiful area of Cornwall, has excellent facilities and is perfect for a family holiday. Thank you to Kate and Ben for making it so special and welcoming us to such an idyllic spot. We would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: everything was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Blissfully relaxing!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a really comfortable, relaxing, enjoyable week at Bishops Quay. The location on the estuary is outstanding and the house takes full advantage of this with wonderful views of the river from every window and a wide long balcony outside the sitting room. Kate was an absolute pleasure to deal with right from the start. We booked last minute as a couple with a young baby and she went out of her way to make sure we were all looked after and our young daughter had everything she needed - travel cot, high chair and even a buggy, books and toys! If we had realised quite how well equipped the house was and how thoughtfully she'd set things up then we could have left a few bags at home! We arrived to a delicious cream tea and everything else flowed from there. The house is set up in a generous, comfortable way and we enjoyed a blazing log fire each night after lovely days getting to know the local area and taking lots of pictures. Bliss!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing