We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very central to transport”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Station Cottage

Station Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Station Cottage
9 Station Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Station Cottage
9 Station Cottage
Cosy woodburner
View of kitchen
Bedroom
Godrevy Lighthouse
Hayle Estuary
View from Godrevy to Carbis Bay
St Ives
Station Cottage
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hayle, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mel L
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very central to transport”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a small cottage very close to the train station. It is also a couple of minutes walk to the bus stop, making it perfect if you do not have a car.

Hayle is quite close to everything so only a short bus ride to St Ives and Penzance in one direction and Cambourne and Redruth the other. The Atlantic Coasters come through here as well as the Tinners so you can see large parts of Cornwall from the top of a bus.

There are shops close by so you can buy what you need. The closest pub is about a 10 minute walk and there are takeaways if you want one. It has been modernised throughout and there are adequate facilities for cooking.

The only drawbacks we found were the chill of the slate floors down stairs, the fact the sofa was very low and the wood framed bed, which creeks.

All in all a nice place to use as a base if you are using the train and buses to explore Cornwall.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
2 reviews
“Perfectly located cosy cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The location is great, a 20 minute pleasant walk to the beach, great access to local shops and restaurants. Everything you need for a relaxing holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Hi Helen
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us and we're delighted you found our cottage to be both perfectly located and cosy.
Best wishes.
Paul and Lindsey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotBot198...
warrington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage is done up immaculate, very clean and modern with everything you need inside. We didn't use the log burner as it was warm enough during our stay but logs were there incase we wanted to which was good. I'd say it's for 2 people max and not 4 as advertised as there would be nowhere to sit. I actually think getting rid of the sofa bed and putting a decent comfortable sofa would be much better and just renting it as max occupancy 2. The sofa bed is very low to be used as a sofa and it hurts your neck looking up at the tv. The shower room was fab, always hot powerful water I loved it.
I have to mention the sky light in the bedroom. There is no blind and the sun was up at 04.30... so was I !!! I had to buy an eye mask on day 4 for £7 from boots on the corner. I think a blind with a hook and a pole would be a nice option. I was exhausted and I was looking forward to a good rest on my hols.
All in all a very nice stay though and I would highly recommend for just two people. We had a lovely time. I don't think I'd return but this is more to do with the 3 cats from next door constantly sitting on the door step. I'm very timid of cats and sadly we never got to sit out on the patio in the sun because of this. Please note this is no reflection on the beautiful cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review and we're delighted that you had a lovely time. We note your comments, however we have a good number of returning guests, some of whom have children, and at this time we don't want to disappoint them as Hayle is a great place for family holidays. In general our guests really enjoy staying at our cottage as our reviews and comments book show. I know it's a fine balancing act and thank you for your thoughts. Best wishes Paul and Lindsey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babsybaby...
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a lovely cottage, the decor is superb and situated so handy”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage has been so beautifully restored to a modern standard but with a traditional look. Everything is of good quality and it is spotlessly clean. the location is really handy off Foundry Square with supermarket and shops nearby.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Thank you for your great review. We're so pleased you liked our cottage and enjoyed your holiday. Maybe we'll welcome you again one day......
Best wishes Paul and Lindsey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GR1FF1NGT...
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a great stay in Cornwall”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely little cottage, had everything we needed
Very clean & tidy, bed was comfy and parking close by at the station not an issue.
Great location to use as a base to explore Cornwall and nice local places to eat within walking distance too

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your review and we're so pleased our cottage provided you with a great base for exploring Cornwall. We hope to welcome you back again.
Paul and Lindsey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$79
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing