We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
196
106
71
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
106
71
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room steep drive balcony overlooking the river mini bar china clay brasserie menu stunning views local pub both dinner and breakfast fowey river charming hotel homemade biscuits fresh milk in the fridge eden project comfortable lounge other guests sat nav
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We were quite disappointed, we found the hotel a big shabby .
The breakfast was very good but the evening meals were varied from good to poor.
The drive leading up to the hotel was very steep so much so that I couldn't walk into the village as I have a artificial hip.
I will definitely do more research in future.
Also the steps leading to the hotel had a very old hand rail.
The parking was first come first served.
We had to complain on one occasion because of other people's bad parking.
Even the taxi driver we had one night said the drive and the car park was bad,
The staff were very helpful at all times!
M

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Moe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

We are sorry that you struggled with our access. Our location is magnificent, but is indeed challenging for those with limited mobility. The Hotel is perched high above the river, on a steep site, which gives us unique and lovely views, and tranquility, and our website does make clear that it is not suitable for those with limited mobility . We think that you probably booked through an external booking site rather than direct with us, which was why you were unprepared for the nature of our site. Had you booked direct with us, and mentioned your need for a level site, or a lift, or perhaps a ground floor room, that would have alerted us to advise you of the nature of our site. When booking a stay anywhere in Cornwall it is wise to do this.
We believe that it was your disappointment regarding the topography of the site which caused you to feel that other things were wrong too.
The garden hand rail might be 'old' as you describe it, but it is in keeping with the style of the grounds as a whole, and is completely sound and serviceable, even for those of limited mobility.
Parking at the vast majority of Hotels is 'first come first served' as you put it, except in establishments where you can reserve, and pay for, parking. Our car parking is free, and, as is the case in any parking area, some users are more considerate than others. I hope that we helped you to resolve your parking difficulty, but it is not our policy to be constant Car Park Police. We just hope that our guests will park sensibly, and the vast majority do. Of course a taxi driver was not going to argue with you regarding your feelings about our steep drive.
We have never before had a poor or even average review of our food. We get high praise every single evening. Perhaps the choices on the Menu did not suit you. We are sorry that you were disappointed and would be interested to know what in particular about the food disappointed you.
Sadly it is usual that, if a guest is disappointed with one aspect of a Hotel - in your case the topography of the site - then they do tend to find all sorts of other faults that would not have been a problem for them under other circumstances.
We hope that you will soon be recovered completely from your hip operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

On a quiet Sunday evening we enjoyed an excellent dinner at The Cormorant. the starters were first-class - real mushroom soup was very good, and the quail dish was superb. We all had fish for the main course, all different and all equally enjoyed, and the raspberry semi-freddo and chocolate fondant rounded off a very good meal at a very acceptable price. The service was excellent - thank you, Rachel. We live in Golant, so this review is for the restaurant only.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

I am so glad you enjoyed your meal.
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review.
It is appreciated, and even to kindly mention those that looked after you. I hope it would be equally good whomever was serving, and whatever you chose from the Menu.
We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Great time had by all. Location superb, views amazing and great food and really friendly staff

Room was clean and homemade biscuits a great touch.

Shame pool wasn't working but only fault I could find

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank PaulTCAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Arrived at the hotel. No issues in finding it once we read the straight forward directions from their website. Spacious car park.

Met by the receptionist who was polite but this appeared to be false and an effort. Shown the room which was number 9. It was dated with old fashioned furniture, it was in need of some TLC and updating, There was a crack in the bath which was hidden with a towel. A bulb didn't work in the light from the wall and the TV was the size of an A4 piece of paper. Someone with sight issues would struggle to see anything.

We stayed for 1 night and ate in the restaurant. The food was nice but over priced. We did not stay for breakfast.

Our room appeared to be above the bar therefore heard alot of noise until gone 0200 hours.

I won this night away and was made to feel every inch that it was free despite the money we spent in the bar and restaurant.

People with limited walking ability would struggle here.

We felt as if we were abit of a burden to the reception staff even making conversation seemed a little to much for them. We did end up feeling most uncomfortable.

A positive was the view was lovely.

Money clearly invested in the restaurant and bar area but the bedroom in desperate need for a make over,

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bongobongo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Lovely peaceful location overlooking river Fowey.We upgraded to a superior room with a balcony.Loved watching the sun come up from the balcony.Room was very small and tired with only a standard double.Cramped bathroom ,but everything you needed including large towels.Noisy fridge in bedroom with fresh milk.Excellent food in restaurant and good service.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank charlielouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews