We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
195
106
71
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
106
71
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room steep drive mini bar balcony overlooking the river china clay brasserie menu stunning views local pub both dinner and breakfast fowey river eden project homemade biscuits charming hotel comfortable lounge sat nav fresh milk in the fridge peace and quiet
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2016

The Hotel is in a peaceful location on the river Fowey, the owner and staff were friendly and the food was amazing, The hotel though was dated and tired and in desperate need of a little TLC. The room we stayed in had dusty silk flowers that had seen better days, the mirror on the dressing table hadn't been polished and the loo brush was really dirty. I would stay there again as the good points outwayed the bad. The prices for the rooms led me to believe the standard of accomadation would be much higher. Being a housekeeper for a holiday home myself I would never be happy letting a room in such a run down condition. Also we had expected a pool and hot tub , but these facilities were no longer availalble.

Room Tip: Best rooms on 2nd floor
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Terri1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This is out second visit the first 4 years ago, but while the views are stunning, the hotel owners will soon be unable to rely on this, as a selling point, we were in the Superior room, dirty stained carpet, vvv tired decor and plastic furniture on the balcony, a big let down, also wardrobe was in the bathroom, there were bath robes in there but reading the info if used £2.50 would be charged for washing them !!!!
Where as the staff were efficient there was no sparkle from them.
So unfortunately not for us in the future;(

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank snuffy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Only stayed 1 night recently on a trip to St. Austell. For the price i was expecting a little bit more. I had a room on the top floor with a balcony and the view overlooking the river was very pleasing. Room was smaller than i had expected. Staff were friendly. The hotel is in a very small village and there is no other restaurant nearby, so have to eat in hotel restaurant.......i found the food quite expensive and rather average.
Don't use your car Sat Nav to find this hotel as you will be sent to another location in the village.....use the directions sent by hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor with balcony will have better view.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DB_Cooper_inHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Having been advised by good friends that The Cormorant was "pretty good" having been shown to our "superior " room and the public areas we realised that this place has not been updated in a long time. The bathroom was a joke! My wife who is only 5'4" couldn't even stretch out in the bath it was so small. The television was inadequate, the co?our was bad and the sound could only be adjusted minimally.
The outside space was not inviting, no easy chairs to lounge in and the furniture was rusted.

One plus was the evening dinner. Here the chef excelled and the presentation of food was excellent.
The breakfasts however were passable,butnot a lot of choice if you didn't eat a cooked breakfast.

On our final morning as we were getting dressed we remarked how happy we were to be going home. We shall not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul123Somerset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this very expensive hotel .It took ages to find it and was quite a drive away from Fowey .Views were nice breakfast was very limited and small .You can't smoke in the garden or your balcony ....why ??? Your made to feel like a leper banned to the car park .The girl behind desk lovely .But we would never return to expensive for what it is

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CormorantHotel, Owner at The Cormorant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

We are sorry that you struggled to get to us. We are indeed a 10 minute drive from Fowey - not sure if that constitutes 'ages'. Our confirmation letter to all guests does give very clear instructions on how to find us, and we are not sure what else we can do.

We are sorry that you felt like outcasts because you wished to smoke. Our site, nestled between high river banks, means that, if anyone were to smoke anywhere within the area of the Hotel building, that smoke would naturally drift upwards and through the windows of every single guest bedroom window. We used to permit smoking anywhere outdoors, but many guest complaints obliged us to change this, and now smoking is only permitted in the car park area, well away from all windows. We do explain this on our website, and to anyone who discusses this with us when making their Reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews