We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starving !”
Review of The Cornish Oven

The Cornish Oven
Ranked #26 of 58 Restaurants in Camborne
Price range: US$1 - US$8
Description: The Cornish Oven has shops in Camborne, Pool, Helston, Illogan and Penzance and serves a range of breakfast, lunch and snack options. As well as our handmade Cornish pasties, vegetarian options, hot savoury snacks, sandwiches and salads are available. We also serve freshly made hot drinks which go perfectly with our delicious cakes and patisseries.
Restaurant details
Description: The Cornish Oven has shops in Camborne, Pool, Helston, Illogan and Penzance and serves a range of breakfast, lunch and snack options. As well as our handmade Cornish pasties, vegetarian options, hot savoury snacks, sandwiches and salads are available. We also serve freshly made hot drinks which go perfectly with our delicious cakes and patisseries.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First of all, Kevin from ellesmere port(a previous review) is obviously recovering from some sort of personality bypass operation. I ordered a medium pasty..I had the choice of either shortcrust or flaky pastry. Well seasoned, good quality meat, swede with flavour and good value for money. The lady who served me was friendly and efficient ..spot on !!

Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurkoMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Cornish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kevin W, thank you very much for your review and of course 5* rating. We really appreciate your feedback and it's lovely to hear you enjoyed your pasty (which is the most important thing to us and our pasty production team). Our lovely staff at the Camborne shop will be so happy to hear your comments and we will ensure your review is passed on to them. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards The Cornish Oven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2018

Delicious hot pasties, gorgeous coffee (including ground decaff cappuccino!) fresh salads & sandwiches - and big smiles behind the counter :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laney2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurkoMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Cornish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Hi laney2018, Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our food ranges and drinks, it has really made our day. It's always nice to hear what our customers enjoy from our shops and that our staff make your visit even more enjoyable. We will pass on your feedback to our Camborne shop as they will be delighted. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for your 5* rating. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards The Cornish Oven Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

pasties from cornish oven are delicious! You can choose from shortcrust or puff pastry and from cocktail to extra large.
You can have traditional steak or chicken or veggie and cheese or sausage rolls or bacon wraps etc Also teas, coffee, cold drinks and cakes.
Excellent pasties, but get there early to avoid disappointment. You can also ring and reserve/order

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wahaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Manager at The Cornish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi and thank you for a great review. We love to hear from our customers, especially when it's a five star! We hope that our range of pasties caters for most appetites and there is a always an alternative for those who do not want a pasty but rather a cold snack instead. We look forward to seeing you in store again soon and once again, thank you. Kind regards, Louise Ford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We travelled to cornwall to visit friends in Camborne, on the way out I noticed Cornish Oven and family back home was asking to bring Cornish Pasties home... Say no more I found a smart little Cafe that bakes Fresh Pasties Daily, I purchased 6 pieces and the smell was nice too freshly cooked. Now then, after the days traveling home and tasting this Cornish Pasties wasn't so good, plenty of veg and one or two pieces of meat inside with very little flavour.. I wouldn't recommended

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kevinstout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F, Manager at The Cornish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Kevin. As you may recall we spoke on the phone on 04/10/17. We were sorry to hear that our pasties did not live up to your expectations. You mentioned it had been 20 years since your last visit and Cornish pasty. Cornish Oven did not start trading until 1999, so I think it may have been another pasty company you had in mind all those years ago. We have made a note of your comments Kevin and we are sorry you were disappointed. You said that you preferred a 'Ginsters' pasty and it sounds as though we cannot sway you from your preferential choice. Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, Louise Ford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Stopped for early breakfast (bacon rolls and coffee) and to pick up lunch (pasties, obviously) for a full day on the beach.

Great value and quality, friendly staff and easily accessible.

Pasties were voted 'Best Ever' by 2 discerning kids (12 & 15) and filled the hole that 4 hours in the surf creates.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurkoMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Cornish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Hi Keith E, Thank you for your review and we're so pleased to hear that our breakfast baps and pasties were enjoyed by everyone. It's lovely to get such a 'thumbs up' from your children and we appreciate the 'Best Ever' award. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and we hope you decide to pop in again soon. Regards The Cornish Oven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cornish Oven also viewed

Camborne, Cornwall
Praze-An-Beeble, Camborne
 
Camborne, Cornwall
 
Camborne, Cornwall
 

Been to The Cornish Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing