We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place to stay surrounded in countryside”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Stables

Front of proprty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of proprty
Main entrance and sun deck Side of property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Front of proprty
Main entrance and sun deck
Side of property
Lounge area with dining space to rear
Lounge area with kitchen and breakfast bar to rear
Bedroom area, trying to get a good pic of the skylight it tricky!
Dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
AlpineOwl...
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay surrounded in countryside”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at the Stables for two nights as a break for our Wedding anniversary before continuing on to stay with family further down in Cornwall. The owner was extremely helpful and even allowed us to drop our luggage off early, as he had no one in the day before, so that we could go off and enjoy the day! We were even greeted with some lovely fresh eggs from the chickens which we all really enjoyed! We loved the spacious feel to the accommodation and really enjoyed being able to watch the stars when we went to bed! Our sons enjoyed the fact that there was a Fire Pit outside, so one evening we managed to get a fire going! There was a lovely area outside to spend the evening in - we even had a rabbit pop up near by. Everything including bed linen and towels was included so it meant we didn't have to bring loads of things with us! (Even things like coffee and sugar - which was really nice!) The accommodation is really peaceful due to it being in the middle of the countryside - although you do have to take narrow lanes to find it! Not a problem for us as we are not on holiday unless we have driven down at least one road with grass in the middle of it! Although further from the coast it does not take that long to drive there. We had some lovely walks along the coastline near Looe and Polperro. Kit's hill was also enjoyable - great views of both Bodmin Moor and Dartmoor plus views of the mouth of the river Tamar. We also enjoyed an evening visit to Golitha Falls - in fact for a couple of days we covered quite a lot of ground.

We would definitely consider stopping off again for a few nights on our way down to see our family and would highly recommend it to others.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
Thank you for such a positions be review. Its lovely when guests enjoy the place. I agree with your sons, sitting around the fire pit in the evening and watching the stars is my idea of heaven. Best wishes and would love to have you stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty C
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for a small family!”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our family of 3 stayed at The Stables over the school holidays. It was a great base to explore Cornwall. Max and his parents were great hosts and couldn't have helped more. Max replied to us very quickly when we had questions. The garden was perfect and we enjoyed the fire/bbq every night. We would highly recommend a stay at The Stables to anyone. P.s the wifi is great and a welcome addition to be able to contact friends and family whilst we were away!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
Thank you, we try to ensure guests have everything they need and is lovely when that's appreciated. Hope you see you again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris R
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovelly”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from our stay at the Stables and it was lovelly. We were welcomed at the gate by Jim and shown around and to our suprise we were welcomed by fresh cut flowers on the table and tea ,coffe, and fresh milk. i would highly recommend this property it is a very well designed accomadation and is in a very quiet spot all you can hear is the birds singing. We will definatly be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
Thanks for such positive feedback. Its a pleasure to be able to share this space with people. It would be wonder to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeaceLill...
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Sanctuary in a truly Beautiful setting, Very Peaceful”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely little retreat tucked out of the way in beautiful Cornish countryside, however still a very accessible 10 min drive into Callington. Was made to feel very welcome by the owner who had gone to much effort to provide all that anyone could need. Fresh flowers on the table, milk in the fridge, tea & coffee ~ and the place was lovely and cosy. The bedroom has a pyramid window above the very comfortable bed ~ Full moon and star gazing was my nightly pleasure, so lovely that it seemed a shame to have to sleep. Wonderful to sit and watch and listen to the wildlife whilst having breakfast, there are lots of garden birds, woodpeckers, tits, robins, tuneful blackbirds and the occasional buzzard soaring high above the wooded hills, inquisitive squirrels doing their trapeze act along telegraph wires and some very handsome chickens. The TV was not working when I arrived, after a quick email to the owner his Father arrived tried his best to fix it, not able to mend it, the next evening when I arrived back from my course, there was a brand new TV. These lovely folks just show they care without in the slightest intrusion or fuss.
I would recommend this to anyone as a lovely place to stay and I will certainly go there again if ever in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pryamid window above the bed for stargazing
Liked least: Having to leave and go home!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyLawl...
1 review
“Good value”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Lovely apartment, friendly owners, quiet and accessible location - perfect for a easter getaway to the South East

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thank you for your positive comments. I'm glad you enjoyed the property and hope you will come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing