We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful, peaceful and thoughfully equipped”
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
The garden at West View House is a real sun trap.
A lovely bright room with a McCarron and Co kitchen and granite worktops. All appliances are Miele.
The kitchen is very well equipped with just about anything you will need.
The dining area seats 6-7 people comfortably.
The sitting room, which is south facing, so light and sunny has two comfy sofas and an armchair.
A beautifully light landing with a sofa. A pleasant place to read or just sit and look at the church
Bedroom 1, has a king size bed and plenty of storage. The view is to Devizes castle.
Bedroom 2. Another bright sunny room.
Bedroom 2 has both a king size and a single bed. Ideal for a couple or for children to share.
Bedroom 3, which is downstairs has a double bed.
The family bathroom.
There is also a shower room.
Aerial view of West View House.
Devizes Castle - Winter view from West View House.
View of St John's, Norman church from the landing.
View to St John's church from the garden. The church was built in the Norman era.
Sunset at West View House
Wadworth shire horses deliver beer to all the local pubs and hotels. A brewery tour is a must!!
Caen Hill locks; there are 26 of them! Take a boat trip on the canal!
The Kennet and Avon canal is a wonderful place to walk or cycle.
Bath on the river Avon
The beautiful city of Bath
Avebury, with it's neolithic stones is just a few miles away.
Part of the Avebury stone circle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MEC99
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delightful, peaceful and thoughfully equipped”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I and my husband, three of our teenagers and my elderly mother stayed here for a week's holiday in North Wiltshire.
The property is exactly as described and as seen in the photos - namely, lovely. My only (fairly minor) snag was that the downstairs toilet has to be reached from the downstairs bedroom via the kitchen - a bit of a longer walk for my rather frail mother in the night than would have been absolutely ideal and than I had imagined. However, she coped very well, and it was a relief that she didn't have to manage stairs too often. The stairs are very slightly worn (being very old) so, although absolutely fine for most people, I was relieved she didn't need to use them much. However, none of this will be a problem for most visitors!
The location is indeed very quiet despite being close to shops, restaurants and pubs in the heart of the old part of the town. The only exception was bell-ringing practice in the parish church next door on a Thursday evening - which I thoroughly enjoyed.
Parking is easy with spaces for two cars if you wish. The garden in front of the property is small but big enough for us all to sit out or even eat out in. It is colourful and beautifully maintained and was a joy to see each day. I have come home inspired to renovate my own garden.
Decoration is peacefully modern - magnolia and white, with some neutral 'colour' added by the high spec kitchen (oven, hob, microwave, steam oven, fridge-freezer, dishwasher, toaster and kettle - the washing machine is in a separate utility rroom). It was all immaculately clean and the bedlinen also beautifully presented and of a very high quality. The beds are in excellent condition too. Downstairs has waxed floor boards with rugs, the stairs are painted wood and upstairs has comfy carpeting apart from waxed boards in the bathroom and shower-room.
The house is equipped thoughtfully, with a good selection of kitchen equipment, plenty of decent reading matter (for most tastes), DVDs, local information and an OS map that was much more up to date than our own one. The kitchen comes with basics so you don't need to bring / buy them unnecessarily - salt, pepper, stock cubes, instant coffee, tea bags, sugar, washing up liquid, foil, cling wrap etc. And there are boxes of tissues around the house too. This is another example of the care and thought that has gone into providing a welcoming and relaxing environment. The only thing I would suggest is that I would have loved a coffee machine, however - or even just a cafetiere (which may be somewhere in the kitchen, but I couldn't see one) as I'm not that keen on instant coffee.
The teenagers were very happy with the wi-fi, and Pokemon hunting was pretty successful too, I understand!
Sue and Richard, the owners, are very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Perfect hosts, I would say.
Devizes is charming, full of listed buildings, a great museum and has good places to eat too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden was a complete joy
Liked least: Lack of a coffee machine (e.g. Tassimo or even a filter machine)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Devizes and that the house mostly, worked well for you all. It is unfortunate that the third bedroom is downstairs but as you say it is not a problem very often and it gives us the opportunity to accommodate larger parties if needed.
Thank you for your wonderfully informative and positive review. We like to keep our reviews current, in order to keep on top of any issues and provide any extras that our guests may need in order to make their stay all the more enjoyable and comfortable.
I wish you had mentioned the coffee while you were here, as while there is no coffee machine provided there is a large cafetiere, in the cupboard with the china, glasses, teapots etc. and I always leave fresh coffee in the fridge.
Thank you for leaving the house in such good order; always very much appreciated.
If you would like to stay again any time in the future we'd be very happy to here from you.
Enjoy the rest of the summer.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shannesta...
aarhus
2 reviews
“Amazing holiday cottage”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed there for a week in July 2016 and it provided a superb base for our holiday. The house is large and spotlessly clean, and the owners, Sue and Richard, are amazingly friendly and helpful. We will definitely come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to do a review.
It was lovely to meet you all, particularly all your gorgeous children. They were a joy to have around and we look forward to you all making a return visit from Denmark sometime in the future. I'll make sure Reuban pays a visit!!
Enjoy the rest of the summer.
With best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lelahamat...
Seaton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It has taken me a while to write this! Sorry!
We had the most wonderful stay at the beginning of June.
We couldn't have wished for anything more.
Great facilities and friendly, helpful hosts.
Peaceful, large spacious rooms. I even felt I had a good night's sleep with our 10 month old!
Thank you so much for a great stay, would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone.
We will be returning.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Devizes and that the peace and quiet enabled you to have a good night's sleep. We're so lucky to be in the centre of the town and yet have no street noise to put up with. Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to perhaps seeing you all again sometime in the future.
With best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romytonna...
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great house! Would definitely recommend it!”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great house, very friendly renters, easy to reach. Right in the middle of Devizes, but absolutely quiet and private. Lots of space, all taken good care of, hygienic, great kitchen and beautiful roses in the front garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, parking space and beautiful roses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thankyou for taking the time to do a lovely and positive review; always very much appreciated as it helps our future guests.
It was lovely to meet you all and we were so pleased that the weather was good for the wedding and you all had an enjoyable stay. Thankyou for leaving the house in such great order when you left.
Look forward to perhaps hearing from you or one of the family again sometime in the future.
With best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smidge202
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lived up to all expectations!”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Extremely comfortable house. .... well appointed, clean, upmarket towels and sheets, ample kitchen equipment, modern appliances and very centrally located. (Shower is fabulous!)
Sue welcoming and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and plenty of room
Liked least: Sadly weather could have been better .... can't hold Sue responsible for that!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
Many thanks for your very positive review. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Devizes and that your trip continues well. If you would like to stay again in the future we'd be happy to hear from you.
Have a good journey back to Australia.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$244
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing