We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more...”
Review of Stonehenge

Stonehenge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.89*
and up
Stonehenge Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Amesbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the most important survivals of prehistoric England, Stonehenge consists of a group of huge rough-cut stones, some more than 20 feet high, arranged in two concentric circles.
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Expected more. But that is ok. It is an historical place, we visited it, we enjoyed it. Shuttle service was helpful.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank AJ095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"audio guide"
in 834 reviews
"english heritage"
in 816 reviews
"shuttle bus"
in 538 reviews
"visitor center"
in 404 reviews
"gift shop"
in 625 reviews
"bucket list"
in 448 reviews
"actual site"
in 130 reviews
"car park"
in 534 reviews
"actual stones"
in 104 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 249 reviews
"summer solstice"
in 116 reviews
"world heritage site"
in 178 reviews
"walk up"
in 108 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 154 reviews
"national trust members"
in 143 reviews
"burial mounds"
in 129 reviews
"stone circle"
in 281 reviews
Filter

921 - 925 of 12,582 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018

This is a good day out of the city. It's a nice bus ride through rural England that ends at Stonehenge. To most it looks like a pile of rocks but to those of us who get it its an amazing ancient site full of mystery. Bring money...the gift shop across the street has great things to bring home.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Russ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

So, this review is two fold as I'll give you my husbands thought as well.

We visited Stonehenge with a small group tour (8 of us) so we were given a lot of history about the site before arrival. We were both excited until we go there. I was in awe ... standing there truly pondering how Stonehenge become what it is, while my husband stood there, very upset saying, "All of this to stare at a bunch of rocks." Needless to say, I was bummed out that he felt that way but I guess after a long ride, cold and windy weather and shuttling you to the site in overcrowded buses, IF it wasn't what I expected, I'd be a little irritated too.

You will get out of it what you are willing to imagine. It is an UNESCO World Heritage Site but if you don't know the history or why it is even on the list, it may just seem like "a bunch of rocks."

Tips: The site gets very crowded. We were there the first week in October and it was cool but not cold - until we got to the site. There is nothing else around so the wind is strong which makes it even colder! Dress in lots of layers or take a jacket so you can enjoy!

There are no restrooms once you go up to the site.

Read up on Stonehenge so you'll have an understanding of it's history.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank THE-TW0-BEES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Me and my wife have wanted to see these stones for a very long time the view of the stones from the a303 is great! Should of left it at that but we decided to take a closer look. £5 parking £17.50 entry per person, i still couldn't go and touch the stones. Extortionate price cafe too. Another world heritage site turned into a tourist trap

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Andy-fin-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Yes it is definitely worth a visit. The stones are impressive. But try and do so in good weather (difficult when you have to book in advance) and when it is not too busy. The visitor centre is a bit away from the site itself, but they have free buses to take you there if you don't want to walk. However the walk is very nice in good weather. The visitor centre is a bit disappointing compared to other sites eg the Giant's Causeway with fairly limited explanations for children.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stonehenge also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing