We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Spice Country Resorts(Chithirapuram)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fog Resort & Spa(Chithirapuram)
US$124
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Panoramic Getaway(Chithirapuram)
US$125
US$106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastend Munnar(Chithirapuram)
US$57
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
US$109
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anna Homestay(Chithirapuram)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$32
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cuckmere Resort(Chithirapuram)
US$66
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athens Cottage(Chithirapuram)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$26
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (980)
Filter reviews
980 results
Traveller rating
808
146
20
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
808
146
20
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolfamily villamunnar resortplay areaapproach roadexecutive chef mrnature walktable tennisindoor gamesbadminton courtrecreation roomthe cottagesexcellent resortfirst floorchildren playbeautiful propertyspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 980 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Visited The Leaf Munnar during April 2018 Mid for two nights with family of 4. We had booked two rooms. It was a great zeal while staying two days.
Hotel is in little inside, when we were travelling, we were thinking about the hotel as we were visiting their first time, however we were very happy looking the property as it is beautifully built and put lot of effort to create infrastructure.
Climate was very good, view from balcony was beautiful and enjoyed morning time in balcony.
All the facilities are amazing including swimming pool, good restaurant with good food quality and the staff. Got quick service from the staff all the time.

Room Tip: We were staying in Silver Leaf, good view from balcony
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chavanshankar2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeensJoseph, Manager at The Leaf Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaskaaram!

Thank you for taking time to pen down such a wonderful review. We aim to offer a friendly yet impeccable service, and it’s a great motivation when our guests compliment our efforts. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we would love to welcome you to a memorable holiday experience again.

On behalf of the team at The Leaf Munnar

Deens Joseph,
Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

The Leaf Munnar offered a memorable stay for my family. I stayed there for 3 nights. The rooms, hospitality, food and indoor activities were very nice. The staff were very courteous. A special mention about Mr Prem, Ms Nayana and Mr Aravind from the front office who took care of all our needs.
My kids loved the KungPao chicken very much. Thanks to Mr Benny, Ms Manisha and Ms Urmila. My little daughter broke a glass but the staff were very nice and readily offered to shift us to the next table without any hesitation.
The final family portrait by the pool was good.

Room Tip: Silver leaf room has a good valley view from the balcony
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pauldevincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeensJoseph, Manager at The Leaf Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Guest

Namaskaaram!

I express my gratitude to you, for taking time to write such a warm review about your stay at The Leaf. It was such a delight to read all your wonderful comments about our resort ambiance, service and restaurant. I will convey your compliments to everyone. Its a huge motivation to our team when our guests appreciate our sincere efforts to fulfill all their requests. Do stay with us when you plan your next visit to Munnar. It would be a great pleasure to have you stay with us again.

On behalf of the team at The Leaf Munnar

Deens Joseph,
Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

This is likely to be one long review. Visited this place during end of April 2018 with my family of 4 members. Stayed here for three nights. The resort is not in the town area of Munnar and is a little far. The approach road is bad. Especially the last part. But the resort is beautiful. Green and well maintained. Two things which appealed to me were its cleanliness and ever smiling staff. The resort has a restaurant, a small pool, a recreation area and a small play area for kids. There are no other hotels, shops or any other facilities nearby. Better to have your own car or taxi.
The cottages are well laid out. The one we stayed had a big drawing / living room and a smaller sleeping area. Check-in was quick, though the room was getting ready (we were there before designated time). The living room does not have an AC, but the sleeping room does have one. There is a kettle and a mini fridge. The resort does not have any Spa or Ayurvedic center.

The Good Part of the stay:
The pool is refreshing and my kids had a great time here. The resort is very clean and so are the rooms. All the staff members are young and ever smiling. The breakfast and the lunch spread (only the spread!) for the buffet is good. The staff does cater to any requirement of the guest immediately. Room service too was quick. The recreation room is large and spacious. It has a billiards table, a table tennis table and some board games. The best part of the stay was the view. Especially early mornings and evenings, with light showers and some clouds settling in, it’s a beautiful sight. Most of Munnar is similar. They have an evening bonfire and some music (we did not take part in this). They also had an evening walk at 5.00pm (we did not take part in this as well). They can arrange for cabs for sightseeing if needed. At the time of departing, they take a family photo and give it as a souvenir.

The not so good part:
While the staff attend to any needs stated by us, there is a definite lack of supervision. We had asked for an extra bed, the same was not laid out. My son and I had to open the foldable bed, lay the mattress and the spreads. While we had checked in at about 11.30, till about 8.00pm no one had laid the mattresses. Rains and a disconnected intercom prevented us from reaching out to anyone for assistance. The double cot was made of two single uneven mattresses which caused great discomfort. The staff had no clue about how to resolve this and kept saying they can do nothing about it until I forced them. The manager later got the room changed the next day.
The pool area generally has no one to attend to. We need to keep reminding the reception for pool towels, extra chairs for family to sit. If the chairs are wet after short showers, there is no one to clean the chairs, many were using pool towels as cleaning towels. Though there is a remark on the pool side that swimming costumes are a must, this is not enforced, we saw several people getting into pool with regular clothes!.
The restaurant is not too big. It cannot accommodate the guests if the resort is full. In fact, I am convinced, the restaurant cannot handle a full house. The first two days we got calls from the restaurant for dinner and a table reserved (the resort was not full). The third day, the resort was so full that they did not bother to attend to old guests, took me 45 minutes and a show down with the supervisory staff to get me a table. Thankfully, one of the service boys spotted a table, cleaned it and gave it to us. By this time, the buffet containers were almost empty with no refills in sight. We ended up ordering some food outside the buffet.
While the taste of food varies from person to person, to us, the food was generally bland, lacking salt and spice. Even on ordering spicy food we got extremely bland food. The dinner ordered on the third day was not palatable. The restaurant staff who serve us were extremely courteous and that’s the saving grace. Their pancakes were very good. The Pooris and Baturas could replace papads!. I did give this feedback to the chef.
The rooms / cottages (I stayed in two due to a room change), have small bath rooms. The bathing area is separated by a small glass partition which covers only part, leaving a big gap for shower water to spill over to the rest of the bath room making it virtually non-usable for some time. On requesting a plastic curtain to cover the open area, we were told that’s the design and nothing can be done. The wash basin has no soap stand or even a tumbler to place toiletries. Got one on insisting. Need to ask for extra foot mats to take care of the wet bathroom. Lockers and hair dryers are provided on request.
The resort does have potential to step up their levels of service, they need to be observant and proactive. Enhanced supervision and attention to details can help. They are rated as a 4 Star Resort, that is setting high expectations, definitely falling short on that count.
The Manager, Mr. Prem was very concerned and did share his apologies for some of the irritants we faced. I did mention to him that there are lot of areas for improvement during feedback, do hope they seek out these areas from customers and implement. May be reading the book “Moments of Truth” by Jan Carlzon could be a good start.
Special mention - Urmila, Bahar, Manisha and Dilip at the restaurant who were very vigilant and attentive to all customers.
My rating:
Overall Experience: 3 stars
Resort upkeep and maintenance: 5 stars
Restaurant staff helpfulness: 5 stars
Pool and other amenities: 4 stars
Food taste, quality and quantity: 2 stars
Room stay and convenience: 3 stars
Value for money: 3 stars

Room Tip: Better have a vehicle of your own, only a few rooms have good view.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RPJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeensJoseph, Manager at The Leaf Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Guest

Namaskaaram!

Thank you for well detailed review of your stay at our resort. We are delighted to know you enjoyed our ambiance and service. Your suggestions for our improvement have been looked into and necessary action has been taken. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you again and assure you that we will provide you with a much more memorable holiday experience next time.

On behalf of the team at The Leaf Munnar

Deens Joseph,
Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Nice hospitability. Nd the service was very good. The property is very beautiful. The food was arranged for us specially as we wanted Jain food. And within short span of time we had a delicious dinner meal. Thank you very much leaf number.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank bhavesh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeensJoseph, Manager at The Leaf Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Namaskaaram!

Thank you for such a heart- warming review of our resort. Its a delight to know you had a great holiday experience with us and we look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you to another memorable stay.

On behalf of the team at The Leaf Munnar

Deens Joseph
Manager- Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We stayed here in the last week of April in the Golden Leaf room with its own dining and living areas and a separate bedroom with attached bathroom. The property is lovely, rooms built villament-style. Fairly private but very comfortable. Well maintained rooms and super efficient housekeeping staff. Your needs are fulfilled within minutes. The indoor games and outdoor games areas are just perfect for a small resort. The pool is beautiful and like the whole resort very clean.
But I have to specially mention a few people who made our stay exemplary. The executive Chef, Binny - While the dining experience was outstanding either way, the special care he took to serve us special dishes, was incredibly heartwarming. The captain, Ajith. The attention to detail and the willingness to go out of his way to suggest places for us to go and and even personally bring us whatever we asked for. The dining staff Urmila and Manisha, were extremely friendly and helpful as was Sunny in the reception desk.
Again, the courtesy of the staff and the ambience of the resort made it a home away from home. The Leaf redefines relaxation and rejuvenation and raises the bar for any future vacations.
Definitely worth a revisit!

Room Tip: All rooms are well placed and separated from each other. Choose any based on budget.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pallavi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeensJoseph, Manager at The Leaf Munnar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Guest

Namaskaaram!

I express my gratitude to you, for taking time to write such a warm review about your stay at The Leaf. It was such a delight to read all your wonderful comments about our resort ambiance, service and restaurant. I will convey your compliments to everyone. Its a huge motivation to our team when our guests appreciate our sincere efforts to fulfill all their requests. Do stay with us when you plan your next visit to Munnar. It would be a great pleasure to have you stay with us again.

On behalf of the team at The Leaf Munnar

Deens Joseph,
Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews