We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
If You Are A History Buff - Go

We had an outstanding tour guide as we visited the Ring and Gilpin houses. The Ring house is where... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2018
James M
,
Bay Village, Ohio
An important part of our US history

We enjoyed the film and museum and then had a guided tour of the George Gilpin house. This house... read more

Reviewed 22 July 2018
Qtfish
,
Annapolis MD
via mobile
Read all 131 reviews
  
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
37
55
34
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
55
34
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews revolutionary war washington's headquarters important battle small museum nearby valley friends meeting visitor's center meeting house re enactments local history short movie sandy hollow history buff worth a stop gift shop guided tour admission fee
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed the film and museum and then had a guided tour of the George Gilpin house. This house was commandeered by the British General Howe during the battle of Brandywine.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Qtfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We drove though to take a look at the battlefield because we had been in Valley Forge the day before. I don't mind it being small but there are very few signs or information to tell you what anything is and we had no idea what any of the buildings were and they were all closed up anyway. Also the grounds were pretty rustic. We enjoy battlefields and learning about history but didn't really enjoy this one.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

The guide was very knowledgeable and encouraged questions. As my husband and I were the only two on the tour, Ralph was more than willing to talk with us about my husband's 4th great grandfather's involvement in the Revolutionary War. For us, that made our visit all the more memorable.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Found this to be very interesting. Trying to imagine the times all this was going on... OMG.. There is a lot of history in this area and up through Paoli.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank BobMcGowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

The small park and visitor center are worth a stop if you're headed for Valley Forge (as I was), because it is the preview to the next chapter in the history of the Revolutionary War. There isn't much to see, though, and no way to get a sense of the terrain or how the battle occurred.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank jmch491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews