We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice retreat.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of A Seaside Retreat

Kitchen area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen area
Queen size bed Queen sofa sleeper
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Kitchen area
Queen size bed
Queen sofa sleeper
3/4 Bathroom
Oversize shower (no tub in Guest Cottage)
Washer & Dryer
Electric Fireplace
From the front door view
From the sliding glass door
Dining area
Small semi-private yard
Patio
Small yard
Big Redwood Tree in Stout Grove
Winchuck River as it runs into the Pacific Ocean
Nearby ocean with deeded beach access
Driveway
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brookings, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colleen G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice retreat.”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Lana, the person who owns this cottage was very accommodating. She even helped me find a dentist. A cap came off my tooth on the way to her cottage. She took the time to look up several dentists in the area we were in and I was able to see a dentist. She also had many suggestions for eating, sightseeing, etc. Her daughter even showed us her collection of agates. We were greeted with a bouquet of lovely flowers from her yard which she had placed on our table. We had everything we needed to enjoy our seaside retreat. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Colleen

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
I hope you have been able to get your tooth issue resolved. So very glad to have met the two of you. I enjoyed our conversations immensely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Seaside Retreat was the perfect spot for a wonderful 4 day vacation. It was clean, beautifully appointed, and very comfortable. The yard was also beautiful. We sort of felt like we owned the place. Lana, was friendly, and did everything she could to make us happy. She succeeded.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall feeling of the property
Liked least: The mattress cover was a little warm, but I understand it's necessary
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
I'm glad the two of you enjoyed your stay. The conversations were great. I hope you will be back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
So glad to have met you guys! I hope you are successful in your retirement plans for Brookings. I certainly consider it my version of paradise. More adventures await on your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
staceylyn...
Montague, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming hostess, lovely cottage, walking access to perfect beach!”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

First of all, I have to say that the online photos of this charming cottage do not do it justice. It is a very roomy 1 bedroom cottage at the end of a dead-end street in a charming and quiet neighborhood. It had everything we could need and more (even sand toys for the kids!). It even has its own, rather large private backyard, full of flowers and a lawn for the kids to run out their energy between trips to the beach. The beach access is fairly easy and close. Our 4-year-old had no problem negotiating the trail to and from the beach. The beach itself has a private feel to it, as the public access is little known and somewhat hidden. The sand is clean and soft, and there are great tide pools at low tide. Lana is a wonderful hostess who graciously showed us around and was available to answer any questions we might have. At the same time, she greatly respected our privacy. She is a lovely and friendly person who obviously loves sharing her cottage and the beach with others. I would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation with a couple of kids or those looking for a sweet little cottage for a lovers' retreat. We have stayed at many rental houses, hotels, and Bed and Breakfasts on the Oregon Coast, and the Seaside Retreat is right at the top of our list. Don't let the very reasonable price fool you. This cottage will be a favorite!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thanks for the great review! I'm very glad you enjoyed my little piece of paradise. Please return when you can!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodMcLeod
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
927 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Superb Cottage Retreat very near the beach”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here over Juy 4th weekend and had a fabulous time. The cottage is simply outstanding. It is a one bedroom with pretty complete kitchen and living area with large screen TV. The patio doors open onto a lovely lawn and garden. There is a large capacity washer and dryer in the bathroom.
The cottage has a comfortable bed and was super clean. We had a marvelous time with my sister who lives in the area. We barbecued on the patio.
The special thing about the cottage is its setting. It is at the end of a quiet residential street so it is very quiet. And it is less than 200 meters or so from the beach where the Winchuck River empties into the sea. So the beach is a very nice one, with piles of whitened driftwood around. Walking the beach in the morning or at sunset was glorious.
We very highly recommend this vacation rental. Lana, its owner, was most gracious, and will attend to every need as she lives next door and is most accommodating. We would return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the overall condition and setting of the property.
Liked least: TV was a bit far from the living room couch but that really couldn't be changed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
So glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay. Your trip around this great country sounds so awesome. Drop by to visit when you are in the area visiting your sister in the years to come!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing