We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bachelorette Party”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Red Cabin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Scio, Ohio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alex F
1 review
“Bachelorette Party”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My best friend wanted to go camping for her bachelorette party and I found this cabin. It was amazing! It was beautiful, we had a camp fire, and we all enjoyed the hot tub. Additionally, it was great being away from everything and being able to just watch the stars. Thanks so much for helping me host a party none of us will ever forget!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
What a sweet review, DLCabins smiled when we read about the memories you and the-bride-to-be will always have celebrating her engagement at the Old Red Cabin "under the stars"!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny W
1 review
“Lucky Find!”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Absolutely loved our cabin and the surrounding area. The owner stopped by and was very friendly. Great fishing, we only fed them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Thank You!! Glad you enjoyed your getaway at our Old Red Cabin!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston Z
Woodbury, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced, not a good experience”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented this cabin for our anniversary and looked forward to a few days of peace and quiet in a comfortable rustic cabin. The initial booking process/interaction with the staff was pleasant enough. There is a lake beside the cabin we were looking forward to fish.

But... I got a bad taste right from the moment we pulled in the driveway. We paid a premium for this vacation, and got a overall lackluster experience.

First let me mention, I own a rental cabin myself, and am familar with all the work and effort that goes into creating a nice environment and experience for your guests. These cabins are built by the family that owns them, and so I can appreciate all their effort, and I think they mean well. But if I need to say it in one sentence, they think they have a highend high dollar 'resort' to rent out, when in fact, it isn't.

The cabin was NOT comfortable. There is one straight upright 'bench' to sit on with a cushion on it. No place to lounge and relax, unless you want to go up the ladder to the tiny bedroom. The kitchen is tiny. The cabin sits out in the open 15 ft from the road where the owner likes to drive by multiple times a day and stare at you. There is nothing 'wrong' with the cabin, it just simply is not a high end comfortable luxury cabin, it likens more to a 'hunting cabin' with 'all' the amenities of a shower and a sink. And a hot tub, which is certainly nice, but doesnt make it worth $200 a night. This place is worth $75-$100 a night.

And then the fishing. We arrived in the evening and I took our poles down to the table by the lake and laid them there. The next morning the owner interrupted our breakfast just as we were sitting down to eat and took 10 minutes to claim he needed $10 pr hr per pole to let us fish while our breakfast became stone cold. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!?? We pay a PREMIUM to come to your tiny hunting cabin, and then you need money to fish?? It didnt stop there. They nickle and dime charged you for EVERYTHING. Towels, Trash Removal, etc... I am a firm believer in naming your price, and then providing everything at that price to make the best experience possible. I really really hate being nickle and dimed.

We had another incident which I dont neccesaruly fault the owner for, it could have happended to anybody. While using the hottub in the evening we were swarmed by wasps, and got stung by one that landed in the water. We alerted the owner this is what I fault him for. A few hours later he showed up with a can of bee spray, said very little, was completely unapologetic, and until I showed him the bee nest refused to believe that there "were any bees on his cabin".

Needless to say, there are many other places available at much more reasonable rates with people a bit more caring of their guests experiences. Never going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large outdoor porch
Liked least: the entire accomodations, owners attitude
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thank you Weston for taking the time to provide your review. We are just as disappointed as you are that you did not enjoy your trip. We strive to present our property as complete and truthful as possible when listing it on FlipKey. All the amenities are highlighted and additional services are optional, for example trash removal or towels. Our fishing packages are also included with corresponding rates. We strive to inform the guest prior to their arrival of all they will experience at Diamond Lake Cabins. No surprises, only a good time. Fourtunately, the vast majority of our guests go away happy and then keeping coming back for another fantastic getaway! We have hundreds of 5*star reviews to prove it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S
Donegal Township, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Quiet and Relaxing”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My wife and I went here for a weekend anniversary getaway. This was a really nice cabin directly across from a lake. The cabin and hot tub were very nice. The bed is up in a loft which was pretty cool too. You use a very solid rustic wood ladder to get up there. I had no issue, but it was a little challenge for my shorter wife. If you visit while having some health issue it might be a little challenging. The cabin is somewhat secluded, though you will see some other folks now and again that come to the lake from the other cabins.

There are really nice fish in the lake (and a lot of them). You can pay to feed/fish if you like. Would be great to have the young ones there. Seeing their faces catching some of those monsters would make for great memories.

Their location was only a 2 hour drive for us - perfect for a weekend trip. We did eat out one evening in Dennison at a place called The Yard (I think). The food was very good.

All in all - a very nice weekend trip. We'd definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cabins had a fresh wood smell. Hot tub was very nice.
Liked least: Shower stall was very small.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifers...
Delaware, Ohio
2 reviews
“A very relaxing stay”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Traveled with my spouse and our 7 year old. Even though the weather was cold and rainy, the cabin was warm and inviting. Cozy and a great getaway from the holiday rush. We loved the hot tub and the dinning table was big enough for games and a lego project. Hope to see it again when the weather cooperates so that we can better enjoy the beautiful scenery and the pond.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
We are thrilled that you chose to spend a little post holiday time with your family at our Old Red Cabin! We wish that you all would have had some fresh fallen snow to frolick in....instead of cold wet rain. The weather has been so unusual this winter. Glad you thought ahead and brought some Legos to work on while hanging out inside.
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay with us and we hope that you will consider visiting us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing