We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great location.”
Review of Stanley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanley Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Stopped here with a group of friends in 2012 and had a grest experience, so when we visited Stanley again this week we stopped in again.

The pub looks amazing and is a credit to the owners. The bar area with lounges around the fireplace is a great place to relax and unwind.

The lunch menu is extensive and the food amazing. I had a Cape Grimm Beef pot pie which sits easily within the top 5 pies I have ever had. The rest of our group were also pleased with their selections.

Prices were reasonable and the service was great. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MondoBroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

Stayed at the Anchorage located in Apartments. The apartment was spotless, extremely well-equipped and had everything you could want to enjoy a stay for one or more nights. Located directly on the water, the views were stunning. Also went for dinner to the Stanley Hotel on Saturday night. Place was pretty busy, but service was still very good and staff very friendly. The meal overall was a very good pub meal with a reasonable amount of choice. Good value for money. Would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Anchorage apartment. Fabulous !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

We had lunch here and dinner here twice while staying in Stanley. Had the local Lobster the first night, and came back again for more the second night. Beautiful food and great atmosphere, you can't go wrong here. Local lobster less than half the price of what you'll pay in Hobart. All of our meals were excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

We were in the Apartments, directly on the ocean. The room was clean, comfortable with good views, and walking distance to town. The adjacent restaurant had good food and friendly staff. Parking of larger cars was a little tight in the carpark, but there was other free parking nearby.

Room Tip: Stay at the hotel for standard pub accommodation, the apartments for a more scenic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Everything about this meal was wonderful. The wait staff were hospitable, competent and unobtrusive.

The steak was done to perfection, a medium rare that meant it, and melted in your mouth.

The S&P squid came with the best dressed salad I've ever tasted, and the kids fish and chips was ... well, just as delightful, with a light, delicious batter and excellent quality white flesh fish.

Nice view, nice atmosphere, a great building. Also, their bottle-o is nicely stocked. I wish we'd had more time to experience the bar, the accommodation and a night time meal too.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank LSLDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
18.3 km away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
317 reviews
1.4 km away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
502 reviews
0.5 km away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Stanley Village Waterfront Accommodation
0.2 km away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
220 reviews
0.5 km away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Stanley
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Hotel

Address: 19 - 21 Church St | Stanley Tasmania, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range: $90 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of this historic fishing village, the Stanley Hotel allows you to immerse yourself in the quaint township of Stanley. The comfortable and recently refurbished en-suite rooms offer an affordable alternative for your holiday accommodation with great views of the township.All are sunny, cosy and fitted out with televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. The Stanley Hotel has an award winning Bistro on site specializing in local seafood and steak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Stanley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing