We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$85
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/08/21
PricelineUS$98
Hotels.comUS$99
CheapTicketsUS$99
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
41
27
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
41
27
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cradle mountain quick drive adjacent units town centre mt roland alpacas debbie retreat francis kit murals fence bbq tassie cattle supplies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2020

Our family of 6 stayed for one night but we wished we could have stayed longer! Debbie and Francis were incredibly warm and welcoming during our stay, providing us with free food to feed the alpacas and a bbq kit so we could use the outdoor bbq without having to buy our own supplies. Our units were clean and comfortable, with all the necessary things for self-catering. The location is very good too- close to the town centre as well as nearby attractions like Cradle Mountain.
The only con would be that the walls were a bit thin so sometimes talking and coughing could be heard from adjacent units but overall it was pretty quiet.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzlestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Rooms are generous in size, and quite recent: very clean and in good condition. Host was very friendly, and the grounds/gardens are very pleasant. It is a motel style room and property, but a very pleasant place to stay & relax. Conveniently located on one end of town. I would definitely like to return in the future.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2019

If you want a secluded place, if you want peace and tranquility, if you want excellent, well serviced rooms, if you want a place managed my very nice people, if you want to wake-up to the distant lowing of cattle, if you want Alpacas over the back fence, if you want beautifully kept grounds and gardens and if you want to see the morning mist roll through the fields.....then the Kentish Hills Retreat is definitely the place for you.
Just a short walk or very quick drive from the centre of Town with its collection of Murals and quaint rustic shops and, of course, Mt Roland not too far away, you could not ask for more.
Well may Adam and Eve have had the Garden of Eden, but not even that could hold a candle to this countryside. This truly is Tassie at its finest. So whether you are locals or down here or in Tassie on Holiday call in and stay a while you will be glad you did. We recommend the Kentish Hills Retreat without reservation.

Room tip: Very kiddie friendly with beautifully kept grounds.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryfromTassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2019 via mobile

We arrived after 8pm via the Spirit of Tasmania and was greeted by a smiling & warm manager. The room (family suite: queen and a bunk) was very clean, had high-quality linen and furniture, was really spacious and comfortable.
To be honest, we were super surprised by the quality and space as we’ve paid a similar tariff in other establishments around Australia and so weren’t expecting much more than a small room with a tiny kitchenette and cramped ensuite.
Instead, we got excellent quality and value with so much space, a family of four could walk around without having to crawl over each other to get to the bathroom and kitchenette.
We’d have no hesitation staying here again!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank d33yd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2019 via mobile

We booked 2 nights here very last minute as we needed a break from the cold nights in our campervan and what a gem we found. We were greeted with a friendly welcome by Toby (the dog) and his owners. Our room was just what we needed warm and quiet with a comfortable bed and free WiFi. We took advantage of the cheap laundry (only $2) and the owners were kind enough to give us food to feed their alpacas for free. The motel is surrounded by fields and mountains yet is still walking distance to the cafes shops and restaurants of Sheffield. We loved the town. It has real character and great access to Cradle Mountain in about an hour. We would love to stay again.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dullick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews