We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunrise at Penguin

Lounge for TV, reading or taking in ocean views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge for TV, reading or taking in ocean views.
Sunrise from Lounge room. Bedroom No.1 with views of sunrise
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Lounge for TV, reading or taking in ocean views.
Sunrise from Lounge room.
Bedroom No.1 with views of sunrise
Bedroom No.2 with afternoon sun.
3rd Bedroom - 2 single beds.
Kitchen flowing thru dining  area to lounge room.
Large six seat dining table.
Kitchen's 'Turtle Cove' splash backs and futuristic hanging lights.
Bathroom with shower and cast Iron bath.
Hosts : Fran and Terry Owens.
Large rear Garden and fruit trees.
Fruit trees - apple and peach.
Penguin Beach.
Coastal village with 'Sunrise at Penguin' on the foreshore.
Hosts : Fran and Terry Owens.
Peaceful Bliss off front deck.
View looking over Penguin from jetty at dusk.
Pathway to our Watcombe Beach.
Foyer out onto the front deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Penguin, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it. ”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed five nights at Sunrise at Penguin. Loved every minute of it. It's a great place to base yourself while exploring the North West corner of Tasmania. The house was spotless and comfortable. Terry the owner is very accommodating and a wealth of knowledge about the local area. We also had a small problem with a leak in the shower head, Terry had it repaired within a couple of hours. Great service. Thanks Terry we had a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2016
What a refreshing couple David and Lynn were while staying in our little hamlet of Penguin. Very friendly and keen to explore the NW Coast of Tasmania as well the beauty that Penguin has to offer. The perfect weather did help them both use their soft-top sports car to the max plus take in the warm summer breezes. The closeness to the beach was taken advantage of by regularly going for strolls around the many bays and having coffees at the local cafes. Being from Newcastle was a simple drive to Tasmania for them, using the Spirit of Tasmania, and then venturing to Launceston for a prestigious car muster after relaxing at Penguin. We appreciated the respect they showed towards our vacation house and would welcome them back with open arms in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annabel19...
Scottsdale, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our one night at Sunrise, which is even lovelier than it looks in the photos. For us country folk it was was great just to be able to walk across the road to the beach, and to have the shops just a few minutes stroll away. We hope to return for a little longer one day...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sea views & the decor
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2016
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on your special birthday occasion. Very kind of Roger to want to have a trip to Penguin, a long distance from inland NE Tasmania. Even though it was a short stay we are pleased you had a great time and appreciated the central location to the beach and town centre. The free range eggs that you gifted us are much appreciated also and taste beautiful. Happy birthday and see you both again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni M
1 review
“A haven during a hectic business trip”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Wow.... What a gem. This cute little beachside cottage is just fantastic. It's clean, comfy beds, renovated and styled beautifully, directly across the road from the beach, has awesome views from lounge and bedroom and is so very close to town. Terry the host was fantastic in ensuring we arrived safe and had everything we needed. Thanks so much, we will be back for sure to enjoy Penguin with our families rather than on business.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and proximity to the beach and town
Liked least: The train at 7am
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Toni it was a pleasure to have you both stay at our vacation home. Pleased that you found it convenient for your business activities on the Coast being centrally located between Devonport and Burnie. Thank you for you kind words and being so neat and tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C
Launceston, Australia
1 review
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a location and view! Nothing quite like being able to lie in bed and see the ocean. 30 second walk to the shops and cafes. All just renovated. Very spacious even with 6 people. Will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds were so comfortable.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thank you George for your kind review - pleased that you and your family enjoyed the location at the beach and look forward to seeing you again in the new year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$114
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing