We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Thalia Haven

Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin. Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin.
Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
The whole house is yours: overnights for up to 8 people in 4 bedrooms.
Both the kitchen and dining room open onto the sea.
The kitchen is a cook's dream: double sink, 4 gas burners, and cooking fireplace.
Sleep soundly in king-sized beds with custom-made duvets.
Thalia is made up of separate pavilions around a central courtyard -- each room with ocean views.
The back guest room offers a library of books for you to browse.
The bedroom in the main building opens on the outdoor shower, tub, and wood-fired sauna.
The Green Room looks out onto the courtyard, and has sweeping ocean views to the north.
A hand-made basin in one of the ensuite bathrooms.
The living room looks out on the ocean. Gather around the open fire for a warm evening together.
Candlelight makes dinner a special occasion -- with friends, or just the two of you.
A fire in the living room is cosy and intimate at the end of the day.
Cypresses: a traditional symbol of welcome throughout the Mediterranean, and at Thalia.
The garden is in bloom all year round.
Wow! Turns out the end of the rainbow is on Thalia's beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Orford, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
8Anna
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed for the weekend at Thalia with 3 other couples. A beautiful, unique and very special experience. The views and walks are perfect and the feeling of isolation is unique. We stayed here in winter and the open fires and throw rugs were enjoyed. Only minimal gripes - one bathroom for 6 of us was a bit of a challenge as you have to leave your cottage to access. Not great if you need to go in the middle of the night, although torches are provided. Would have liked pump packs of soap in the shared bathroom as we all shared one bar of soap. Even so, it was a lovely and memorable weekend away with friends. Loved the outdoor bath and sauna

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Lack of bathrooms for a group booking
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review - winter is indeed a lovely time at Thalia, with those big blue skies, long walks on the beach, and cosy evenings around the fires. And the dolphins don't seem to mind, either! We hope you come again once the new bathrooms are in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan C
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“What a special place. Perfect for our anniversary”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our second stay and it was even better this time around.
The breathtaking views draw you in from the moment you arrive and you instantly find yourself beginning to relax. The house is amazing and the big open fires made it so cozy for our winter stay. Another highlight is the private beach which is not only beautiful but also perfect for our dog to run free and tire himself out.
It's fantastic to find a pet friendly place that is this stunning!
It is safe to say we will be back for our third visit sometime soon. Thanks again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2015
It was so nice to welcome you back! And I'm honoured that you chose Thalia to celebrate your anniversary after being our guest as part of the larger birthday group last year. I'm pleased that Thalia worked as well for the two of you (plus dog of course) as it did for your extended family group. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrisonH...
Launceston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Thalia Magic”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We planned a trip to Thalia with 4 couples to celebrate my birthday earlier in the year. It's actually hard to put into words how magical Thalia Haven is. All i could say when we set foot inside was 'wow!'. The main building has floor to ceiling windows and the most magnificent view of the ocean. The open fires and candle chandelier add to the romance and make the space cosy (even though outside it was very cold). The kitchen is perfect for conversation and cooking for a crowd - we had a great dinner party and Thalia is stocked with all the cooking essentials so no need to worry about bringing flour, olive oil, salt, pepper etc. The bedrooms (most housed in outbuildings) are all very generous in size and the sauna is magnificent! We had the most amazing weekend and would return to Thalia in a heartbeat. Susan is a great host and communication was a breeze. If you have the opportunity, don't hesitate in booking a stay at Thalia. It really is a stay you will never forget.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your beautiful review! It was a pleasure to host you and your friends on such a milestone occasion. I'm glad you found that Thalia works well for a crowd, with plenty of ways to be together, or to relax in your own cottage. I hope you will come again, soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkandJo...
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning views and accommodation”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a group of four mature couples for relaxing weekend, what a peaceful relaxing weekend it was. set in a private setting with stunning views looking towards Freycinet, the facilities were private and secluded with a real Mediterranean setting. When we left on the Sunday we left a phone charger and not only did the owner get it back to us she actually had it delivered to our house how nice.
Highly recommended

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
I'm glad you all found Thalia relaxing. We find that the four cottages work beautifully for groups like yours. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen J
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thalia is Heaven - tranquility is guaranteed”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Thalia in April 2015 was one of the most amazing experiences we have had in Tasmania. The accommodation feels Mediterranean in design. The views are absolutely the finest Tasmanian vistas you could ever find. The ceiling to floor windows let the ocean and sunlight flow into the rooms. The kitchen is an Aladdin's cave of cooking implements and gadgets with a well stocked pantry of basic provisions and an open fire to try your hand at cooking over a real wood fire - this is a foodies paradise. There is a steam oven for more conventional cooking and super efficient gas hob.

We loved the private beach where you can wonder along the empty pristine white beach and clear waters to the shallow lagoons and watch the pelicans gliding in the warm thermals then dive into the waters to catch their fish. The sand dunes were a haven of beach flora. Gaze at the distant and shimmering dolomite peaks of wine glass bay to the west and Maria Islands dominant volcanic stack visible through the early morning sea mist to the south.

The lounge is dominated by the open stone fire place. Logs stacked to the brim ready to be thrown on to the embers of the last log. There is a well stocked games and book library to entertain or chill out with. The lounge makes for a great communal place to play, talk, be still or just ponder the views from. There is no TV or Internet. This is great. You are gently released from the shackles of your phones, tablets and laptops. You start to talk to the person sitting next to you again!

There is no shortage of space with he house cleverly designed to provide private spaces by way of multiple rooms separate from the main building but all interconnected by the central courtyard. Olive trees and lavender bushes provide a gentle shelter from the elements. This is a beautiful space to sit out in.

There is an outdoor stand alone bathtub that sits on the rear deck overlooking the sea. Here you can bathe with a view over great oyster bay. There is a wood burning sauna and outdoor shower as well as space for yoga and meditation (yoga mats are provided!)

If you like drawing and painting then you will be inspired during your stay here. We painted, drew and collected shells and flotsam and jetsam for sculpting into creations of the mind - great fun!

Night time brings the clear, unpolluted skies simply bursting with astral stars and planets visible with the naked eye. You may be lucky and see the southern lights!

In summary, our stay here with our children was incredibly relaxing and special. We will never forget it. A couple of days here will feel like you have been on holiday for a month! Its awesome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
Wow. Thank you, Richard, for your beautiful review - and for choosing Thalia for your family's holiday. I hope you will be able to come back again, soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing