We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully warm and sunny in the winter”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Thalia Haven

Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin. Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin.
Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
The whole house is yours: overnights for up to 8 people in 4 bedrooms.
Both the kitchen and dining room open onto the sea.
The kitchen is a cook's dream: double sink, 4 gas burners, and cooking fireplace.
Sleep soundly in king-sized beds with custom-made duvets.
Thalia is made up of separate pavilions around a central courtyard -- each room with ocean views.
The back guest room offers a library of books for you to browse.
The bedroom in the main building opens on the outdoor shower, tub, and wood-fired sauna.
The Green Room looks out onto the courtyard, and has sweeping ocean views to the north.
A hand-made basin in one of the ensuite bathrooms.
The living room looks out on the ocean. Gather around the open fire for a warm evening together.
Candlelight makes dinner a special occasion -- with friends, or just the two of you.
A fire in the living room is cosy and intimate at the end of the day.
Cypresses: a traditional symbol of welcome throughout the Mediterranean, and at Thalia.
The garden is in bloom all year round.
Wow! Turns out the end of the rainbow is on Thalia's beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Orford, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Borgy44
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful position - badly kept.”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in January 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Thalia has been built beautifully and is in an incredible setting. The bath outside is a lovely addition. HOWEVER the whole place was very dirty, we had to clean everywhere - especially the kitchen. It says it sleeps 10 but 10 cannot sit around the table or in the lounge. From two of the bedrooms one has to go outside across the courtyard to the bathroom. crockery was chipped and the kitchen was not gourmet. Had it not been advertised as luxury and had the steep price tag, my complaint would not have been so great. We were given a very small refund when complained.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Thalia Haven. Even though your comments came 9 months after your stay, your opinion is important to us: we want to get things right for our visitors. For example, because of the feedback you gave me at checkout, we immediately changed our cleaning crew for a much more professional outfit. And we updated our kitchenware to offer new pots, pans, place settings, and cutlery. As I said at the time, I wish you had contacted me during your stay: we can’t fix things unless we know that something needs changing! At the time, you confirmed that my offer of an over 10% refund was fair, so I hope you still think so now that so much time has elapsed. Honest feedback has always helped us improve what we offer our guests, so again, thank you for your comments, and above all, thank you for choosing Thalia for your holiday in Tasmania.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary...
Deloraine, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderfully warm and sunny in the winter”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Thalia Haven is an amazing house in a beautiful location. It is a wonderful place to stay with friends or family because it sleeps 8 - 10 people in various combinations. There are 4 bedrooms, all very comfortable, built around a stone courtyard. The kitchen is very well equipped and the oven is awesome. Everything about it is well designed and luxurious, from the very comfortable beds to the sauna and out door bath on the deck.
We had a roaring fire each evening and dined by candle light (although there is plenty of other lighting). The location is very secluded being at the end of a winding road and the views of the Freycinet Peninsula are to die for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the design of the house
Liked least: the gates on the way in
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review. We're so pleased that your group had such a relaxing time! We've always found that the configuration of cottages arranged around the courtyard works well to allow group members to be together, or to have time to themselves. And yes, winter is wonderful at Thalia, calm, warm, with plenty of sunshine -- and the pleasure of cracking fires. Thank you for sending in your comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing