We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
26
65
43
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26
65
43
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews king size bed spirit ferry tasmania riverview convenience toaster
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2021 via mobile

First impressions the hotel looked great from the taxi window. East Devonport across the water with a waterfront view seemed idyllic. The reality is the room was spacious and the king bed huge. Bathroom smells like a urinal and the body odour emanating from the mattress once in bed a real turn off. Putting clean sheets over something grubby doesn’t wash and the join in the middle of the mattress was pretty uncomfortable if you sleep in the middle of the bed.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank margareth453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed one night before catching the ferry back to Melbourne.
The hotel is owned by the same company that operates Spirit of Tasmania.
We booked on line after being given promotional brochure while on the ferry coming over from Melbourne. The hotel is right by the ferry terminal in Devonport so if your on a day sailing it is very handy for boarding the ferry.
The promotional info is quite misleading showing photos of premier rooms but creating an impression that this is the norm.
Well not so, room is very small and has all the character of a basic 70’s motel. No outlook , just a car park and very very small!
We were very disappointed so we asked the lovely lady at reception if we could upgrade but this was not possible as all rooms were fully booked . She explained we should have booked by phone rather than on line as then they would have explained all the options. Anyway we will be OK for just the one night but a real let down after all the wonderful accommodation we have had throughout Tasmania.
The nice lady did give us vouchers for a free continental breakfast as some form of compensation for the awful room.
So if your booking this place be sure you know what you are getting.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank OskarandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Thank you for your feedback.

Going by the description you provided, you stayed in a Budget room which is small and dated.

Our offer via Spirit of Tasmania is for a premium room (Terrace and Waterfront) at a heavily discounted rate, which are quickly booked by passengers while the ships are in transit. Edgewater goes to great lengths (EDM, on-board digital advertising and embarkation flyers) to ensure Spirit of Tasmania passengers have sufficient opportunity to take up this offer and have a pleasant stay.

On this occasion, it would appear that Edgewater had no premium rooms available when you came to make your booking, thus our receptionist's attempt to compensate you. Unfortunately, during the four busiest months of the year many guests leave it to the last moment to book, making it difficult for hotels to meet the expectations of all guests.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020

While travelling on Spirit of Tasmania (night ferry) we looked at a flashy brochure with a breakfast deal from Edgewater, Devonport. Grand photo of crousants, fresh fruit and looking very apealing. We decided to go for it. On arrival: cerials, white bread, and instant coffee. No sweeteners available as a diabetic option when drinking coffee. The fruit was one option of canned fruit: pears. Admitted, while we were there some canned peaches were added. Needless to say we were very dissapointed. The brochure created expectations that was not delivered. Lesson learnt. Be wary of flashy brochures.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BillabongGypsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Our continental Buffet consists of:
Coffee station including brewed and instant coffee, teas, sugar and sweeteners
Bread - white, wholemeal, multigrain and raisin
Pastries - croissant, banana muffins and English muffins
Fruit - two varieties of preserved fruit
Six popular brands of cereal
Apple and orange juice

Our apologies if you did not perceive our breakfast buffet to be good value

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2019

Room was very neat and comfortable and easy to find and great service and easy to stay at and nice views , as we stayed in the view room and not outdated and the staff were very friendly and would be a great place to stay and not noisy at all. Would recommend paying for riverview rooms,

Room tip: Best Views and would recommend the riverview rooms
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank cboswell35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Thank you for your valuable feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2019

Excellent for a one night say. Comfortable Bed, clean room, hot shower, cold fridge and room to spread out. On the East side of Devonport and within a few k of the Lillico Conservation Perk if like me you want to watch the Penguins nightly return home.

Room tip: I had a waterview which would have more natural light than say the Budget.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debra Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Edgewater, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2019

Sounds like you had a great stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews