We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical homes”

Petworth House and Park
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Petworth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Step inside the imposing 17th-century mansion and discover a treasure house filled with an internationally important art and sculpture collection.
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Petworth house is a beautiful home which is still used today. The artworks are well worth a visit and the tour guide is very informative. Much nicer than a recording which is sometimes hard to follow. Allows a couple of hours to get through everything.

1  Thank Angie_travel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"national trust"
in 155 reviews
"art collection"
in 59 reviews
"servants quarters"
in 107 reviews
"antique shops"
in 21 reviews
"van dyck"
in 19 reviews
"the kitchen"
in 50 reviews
"stately home"
in 31 reviews
"visited petworth"
in 22 reviews
"art lovers"
in 24 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 38 reviews
"wood carvings"
in 20 reviews
"open to the public"
in 30 reviews
"pleasure grounds"
in 13 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 27 reviews
"room guides"
in 17 reviews
"turner paintings"
in 47 reviews
"dining room"
in 14 reviews
Filter

114 - 118 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018

Beautiful house and gardens with very recognisable north gallery which is often used in period films. Never can quite work out how the NT works - seems that the family still live in a wing and own and run the estate, while the charity pays for the upkeep. Nice work if you can get it!

1  Thank pco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth H, Marketing Officer at Petworth House and Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you pco1 for your review, We'd definitely recommend watching the 2014 film Mr Turner, played by Timothy Spall, if you haven't seen it already. That was largely filmed at Petworth House.

Petworth House was gifted to the National Trust in 1947 with a further gift of a large part of the collection in the 1950s. It means the National Trust is responsible for the house and the gifted part of the collection. We conserve the house, interiors and collection for the future, rather than pay for the upkeep, but it also means we can open several rooms of the house every day of the year except Christmas Eve and Christmas Day for visitors to see and enjoy. It means we can loan out items of the collection to other exhibitions such as the Prized Possessions exhibition at The Holbourne Museum in Bath, that will eventually come to Petworth.

Lord and Lady Egremont do still live in the private end of the house and the family works very closely with us to reflect Petworth's 'Golden Age' in its displays, for example Lord and Lady Egremont have kindly provided us with items in previous exhibitions at Petworth House from their private collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

As the title suggests Petworth House gardens or "Pleasure Gardens" as I think they are known is off limits to all dogs other than guide dogs. This was confiirmed to me by a member of the NT staff when I emailed an enquiry about this.
We wanted to walk our dog, use the facilities and have a cup of tea. We could do all of these things but the latter. Cannot take a dog into the grounds but can take them into the park. Great. So you use the car park set aside for the park, walk the dog, put him or her into the car drive a mile up the road to the House car park, leave them in the car (really ????!!!) use the faciltites outside of the entrance and then walk to the house to have that cup of tea. Or if you are like me, do not bother. NT's loss not mine and i am not leaving my dog in my car at any time of the year..
Having got that off my chest we did revist a week later without said pooch and although it was cold we did enjoy the tea and cake. The house unfortunately did not open until 11:00 and we had an hours drive back home to give doggie their lunchtime walk.

Will no doubt revist but it will be without the dog and maybe then we may be able to also visit the house.

1  Thank Fred_Fareham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth H, Marketing Officer at Petworth House and Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for your review Fred_Fareham_UK,

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed that you could not take your dog in to the Pleasure Grounds. This is clearly marked on our website and in information such as the National Trust handbook. Our Pleasure Grounds we use for family trails and games etc though there are 700 acres of deer parkland where dogs are welcome.

We'd never recommend leaving dogs in cars and it sounds like you had the right idea by bringing along the dog and parking in the Deer Park car park for the dog walk and then visiting the House on a separate visit without your four legged friend.

See you again soon for another visit in the House and we may see you both in the park for another dog walk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

It's quite a walk from the car park to the house but there is a buggy that will take you there and back if you ask at the entrance desk. The house is well worth a visit with a wonderful display of paintings, arts and treasures. I took the 'Visit the Percy's' guided tour which is on at the moment, very interesting. It's a free tour which is every half an hour and lasts 45 mins and you can get tickets from the house. There's a good café, shop and second hand book shop. Walked out into the town and had lunch at The Star which is in the square, walking distance from the house.

1  Thank PamC149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth H, Marketing Officer at Petworth House and Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you PamC149 for you review and so pleased to hear you enjoyed the 'Meet the Percys' guided tour. That's new for this year so great to hear you took part. You might also be interested in our 'Behind the Scenes' tours on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays that explore rooms not normally open to the public such as the bedrooms, in the private apartments that are still in use by Lord and Lady Egremont as well as their guests, and the tunnels and the Ice House in the Servants' Quarters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Had a wander around the kitchens and house. Very interesting and also a surprise to see so much fantastic art in one place. How lucky we are to have such things available. The carved room was also incredible. Nice to see the house is still lived in and the glimpse upstairs made it all feel a little more human. Nice that you can pop in to the town for a look around. The grounds are well kept. Well worth a visit. Can’t understand how some reviews can be negative about the art, it’s amazing. Well done NT.

2  Thank greekurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth H, Marketing Officer at Petworth House and Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for your review greekurn and lovely to hear you appreciated the art on display. Art certainly isn't everyone's cup of tea but good to hear it was right on the mark for you and we do have highlight leaflets and tours that help our visitors engage with the art. If you enjoyed seeing glimpses of upstairs you'll have to come back for one of our Behind the Scenes tours on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays where you can step inside some of the bedrooms or visit the Ice House and tunnels. If you're more of a weekend visitor then wait for the 18th and 19th August when we'll be opening up the doors to other parts of the private apartments for you to peak inside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petworth House and Park also viewed

Storrington, Horsham District
 
Wisborough Green, Billingshurst
 

Been to Petworth House and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing