We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location!”
Review of Bolney Wine Estate

Bolney Wine Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.32*
and up
English Wine Tasting Tour to Sussex from London
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Bolney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Our family owned vineyard was established in 1972 and we produce award-winning red, white and sparkling English wine. We recently opened a new visitors centre with an enlarged cafe and retail shop and a fantastic viewing balcony overlooking 18 acres of vines. Why not come along and enjoy breakfast or lunch with friends and sample our wines? You can also book a guided tour & tasting (variety of dates and times available) or perhaps experience one of our popular wine masterclasses on a Saturday? We also run special events throughout the year, including fine-dining evenings and summer evening tours.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 25 September 2018

The café is in the most wonderful location and the food is super fresh and tasty. A great place for a casual meal or just a coffee with friends. And the wines are superb!

Thank R0x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Good Afternoon R0x1,

Thank you for your recent visit and review to The Eighteen Acre at Bolney Wine Estate.

We always appreciate kind comments about our vineyard and The Eighteen Acre Cafe. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and our wines. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Andrea N

Events Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"our tour guide"
in 25 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 57 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 22 reviews
"buffet lunch"
in 9 reviews
"different wines"
in 11 reviews
"pinot noir"
in 10 reviews
"wine making process"
in 10 reviews
"english wines"
in 9 reviews
"smoked salmon"
in 5 reviews
"wine growing"
in 3 reviews
"chocolate tart"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful vineyard"
in 5 reviews
"cafe overlooking"
in 4 reviews
"the vine"
in 3 reviews
"tasting session"
in 5 reviews
"lovely wine"
in 3 reviews
"scones"
in 11 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2018

I visited this fine establishment halfway through a 90km bike ride with some friends and we thought it would prove an excellent place to stop and refuel. Upon entry we were greeted by wonderfully friendly staff and I opted for a ploughmans which was set around an enormous pork pie. This was probably one of the best pork pie's I have had the chance to eat, and combined with a cup of tea was more than enough for me (unfortunately I didn't have the chance to sample some of the wine :(.

It was a rather drizzly day so I can only imagine how scenic it must be in fine sunshine.

Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Good Afternoon Alex V,

Thank you for your review and taking your time to let us know about your recent visit to Bolney Wine Estate. We are happy to hear of your enjoyable lunch at The Eighteen Acre. The Bolney Ploughman was an excellent choice and we are so pleased to hear it was the best! Your kind comments will be passed on to our team members and we thank you for your positive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Bolney Wine Estate and enjoy our wine this time.

Kind Regards
Andrea N

Events Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

We had been recommended this tour by someone who had been previously. As we love wine and feel we have improved our tastes over the years we were very keen to see for ourselves.

Booking the tour was an easy process. We turned up at the cafe area, introduced ourselves and had a relaxing cup of tea. Our tour guide was Daniel who was very personable and welcoming at the start.

He took us out to the vineyards an explained about the history of bolneys and the grapes that were used for the different wines that are produced. He made us realise what an amazing amount of work there is to produce a bottle of wine. We then went to vinery which was really interesting.

He then took us upstairs and we were given a chance to try 5 different wines. He explained in detail about each and we discussed if we liked them or not. In all of this he was extremely knowledgeable and we were able to make a choice of which wine to buy.

We came away with an admiration of how wine is made....and a good bottle of red.

Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Good Afternoon Sarah B,

Thank you for your review and taking your time to let us know about your recent visit to Bolney Wine Estate.

We always appreciate kind comments about our vineyard and staff which will be passed on. Our tour guides at Bolney are all very passionate and enjoy sharing their knowledge of the vineyard and journey from grapes to the bottle.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your experience on the day and the tasting was enjoyable.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope to see you in the future.

Kind Regards
Andrea N

Events Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

I was given the tour as a Christmas present and went with a friend. We were taken around the vines and shown where the wine is made. Our guide, Alan, was very pleasant and knowledgeable and looked after us well. The afternoon tea was lovely, and filling. I thought I might buy one bottle, but ended up with more because I couldn't choose! Would recommend.

Thank Fusspot51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Good Afternoon Fusspot51,

Thank you for your review and taking your time to let us know about your recent visit to Bolney Wine Estate.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience on the day. We are glad you enjoyed your tour with Alan, who always tries to make the tour is informative and enjoyable as possible. We always appreciate kind comments about our vineyard and staff which will be passed on.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Andrea N

Events Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Lunch at Bolney

Had a most enjoyable lunch at Bolney
Food extremely good service impeccable unhurried and very friendly.
We had the beef burger, portobello mushroom burger and ploughman’s lunch. They kindly substituted salami for the cheese on the ploughman’s lunch. The onion marmalade was very tasty and the fresh tomatoes were full of flavour.
The deserts did not fail to excite. The salted caramel was to die for, as was the sturdy pear.
We had a glass of Kew still red which was thoroughly enjoyable.
I would avoid the coffee, this did not live up to the quality and taste of everything else. Also forget the WIFI, I really believe if cafes are going to say that WIFI is available it should be and have usable speeds. This is on my list st of good value places for lunch I would definitely be frequenting this establishment again.

Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Good Afternoon Elizabeth T,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear of your enjoyable lunch with good food and the service impeccable. Your comments will be passed on to our team regarding their quality of food and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bolney Wine Estate soon.

Kind Regards
Andrea N

Events Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bolney Wine Estate also viewed

 
Pulborough, Horsham District
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Been to Bolney Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing