We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taster Tour”
Review of Bolney Wine Estate

Bolney Wine Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.78*
and up
English Wine Tasting Tour to Sussex from London
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Bolney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Our family owned vineyard was established in 1972 and we produce award-winning red, white and sparkling English wine. We recently opened a new visitors centre with an enlarged cafe and retail shop and a fantastic viewing balcony overlooking 18 acres of vines. Why not come along and enjoy breakfast or lunch with friends and sample our wines? You can also book a guided tour & tasting (variety of dates and times available) or perhaps experience one of our popular wine masterclasses on a Saturday? We also run special events throughout the year, including fine-dining evenings and summer evening tours.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

We had been recommended this tour by someone who had been previously. As we love wine and feel we have improved our tastes over the years we were very keen to see for ourselves.

Booking the tour was an easy process. We turned up at the cafe area, introduced ourselves and had a relaxing cup of tea. Our tour guide was Daniel who was very personable and welcoming at the start.

He took us out to the vineyards an explained about the history of bolneys and the grapes that were used for the different wines that are produced. He made us realise what an amazing amount of work there is to produce a bottle of wine. We then went to vinery which was really interesting.

He then took us upstairs and we were given a chance to try 5 different wines. He explained in detail about each and we discussed if we liked them or not. In all of this he was extremely knowledgeable and we were able to make a choice of which wine to buy.

We came away with an admiration of how wine is made....and a good bottle of red.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Good Afternoon Sarah B,

Thank you for your review and taking your time to let us know about your recent visit to Bolney Wine Estate.

We always appreciate kind comments about our vineyard and staff which will be passed on. Our tour guides at Bolney are all very passionate and enjoy sharing their knowledge of the vineyard and journey from grapes to the bottle.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your experience on the day and the tasting was enjoyable.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope to see you in the future.

Kind Regards
Andrea N

Events Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"our tour guide"
in 28 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 62 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 25 reviews
"buffet lunch"
in 9 reviews
"cream tea"
in 20 reviews
"different wines"
in 12 reviews
"pinot noir"
in 11 reviews
"english wines"
in 11 reviews
"wine making process"
in 11 reviews
"smoked salmon"
in 5 reviews
"wine industry"
in 3 reviews
"wine growing"
in 3 reviews
"the vine"
in 4 reviews
"tasting session"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful vineyard"
in 5 reviews
"terrace overlooking"
in 4 reviews
"scones"
in 12 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

I was given the tour as a Christmas present and went with a friend. We were taken around the vines and shown where the wine is made. Our guide, Alan, was very pleasant and knowledgeable and looked after us well. The afternoon tea was lovely, and filling. I thought I might buy one bottle, but ended up with more because I couldn't choose! Would recommend.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Fusspot51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Good Afternoon Fusspot51,

Thank you for your review and taking your time to let us know about your recent visit to Bolney Wine Estate.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience on the day. We are glad you enjoyed your tour with Alan, who always tries to make the tour is informative and enjoyable as possible. We always appreciate kind comments about our vineyard and staff which will be passed on.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Andrea N

Events Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Lunch at Bolney

Had a most enjoyable lunch at Bolney
Food extremely good service impeccable unhurried and very friendly.
We had the beef burger, portobello mushroom burger and ploughman’s lunch. They kindly substituted salami for the cheese on the ploughman’s lunch. The onion marmalade was very tasty and the fresh tomatoes were full of flavour.
The deserts did not fail to excite. The salted caramel was to die for, as was the sturdy pear.
We had a glass of Kew still red which was thoroughly enjoyable.
I would avoid the coffee, this did not live up to the quality and taste of everything else. Also forget the WIFI, I really believe if cafes are going to say that WIFI is available it should be and have usable speeds. This is on my list st of good value places for lunch I would definitely be frequenting this establishment again.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank elizabetht289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Good Afternoon Elizabeth T,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear of your enjoyable lunch with good food and the service impeccable. Your comments will be passed on to our team regarding their quality of food and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bolney Wine Estate soon.

Kind Regards
Andrea N

Events Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Having been to vineyards before we were expecting a good visit based on Trip Advisors views but although it was okay in parts some of the visit did not match the programme.
They had a new member of staff doing the presentation he was okay but his presentation lacked customer involvement as other trips we have been on encouraged questions but this time only a few were asked. The initial part was a short walk up the hill and a brief explanation about the vines and the different grapes and some history of the Vineyard .
We then went into the area where the grapes are pressed and fermented and that part was good. We then met in a room at the side of the café and we had the chance to try tasting 5 wines followed by lunch.

The lunch was the most disappointing part of the whole trip we were not asked to choose any wine from the wine tasting experience and the lunch had major parts of the menu shown on the brochure missing including smoked salmon, quiche.

The staff then disappeared and we sat there waiting for pudding which was supposed to be Chees-Cake and Fruit ….we waited and waited but it never arrived and nobody seemed to know why.
Definitely not worth the cost of £99 so avoid

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank malc_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Good Afternoon malc_hill,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we appreciate your feedback.

I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent tour and lunch. Our tour guides are very knowledgeable and typically are very happy to answer any questions so this is surprising and we apologise if you felt this was lacking.

The menu mentioned in your review is from an older description on a third party website. This has now come to our attention and will be dealt with immediately. I can only apologise for the missed dessert, this was completely our fault that it was left out.

We will be raising all the issues addressed with our staff and thank you again for bringing this our attention.

Kind Regards
Andrea N

Events Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Our Daughter had given us the tour and tasting for Christmas so it was time to use it.

The tour started at 10:30 and was led by Daniel who proved to be very knowledgable, accommodating and humorous. First of all we toured the vineyard during which Daniel explained the background to the business, details of wine production in England and how the grapes are grown and harvested, all very interesting.

We then moved onto the Winery where Daniel explained the the wine producing process.

Then we had the tasting, we tried a number of sparkling wines, unfortunately as I was driving I could not taste as much as I would have liked. Again Daniel explained about the wines.

Needless to say we went home with a few bottles!

Highly recommended by the Admiral

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank TheAdmiralLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Good Afternoon TheAdmiralLondon,

Thank you for your review and taking your time to let us know about your recent visit to Bolney Wine Estate.

We always appreciate kind comments about our vineyard and staff (especially Daniel) which will be passed on. Our tour guides at Bolney are all very passionate and enjoy sharing their knowledge of the vineyard and journey from grapes to the bottle.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your experience on the day and the tasting was enjoyable. We hope you enjoy the Bolney Wine Estate bottles that came home with you.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope to see you in the future.

Kind Regards

Andrea N
Events Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bolney Wine Estate also viewed

 
Pulborough, Horsham District
Sheffield Green, Uckfield
 

Been to Bolney Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing