We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
175
67
25
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
67
25
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide wine tasting afternoon tea buffet lunch different wines pinot noir wine making process english wines smoked salmon wine growing beautiful vineyard cafe overlooking the vine tasting session lovely wine chocolate tart scones
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Having been to vineyards before we were expecting a good visit based on Trip Advisors views but although it was okay in parts some of the visit did not match the programme.
They had a new member of staff doing the presentation he was okay but his presentation lacked customer involvement as other trips we have been on encouraged questions but this time only a few were asked. The initial part was a short walk up the hill and a brief explanation about the vines and the different grapes and some history of the Vineyard .
We then went into the area where the grapes are pressed and fermented and that part was good. We then met in a room at the side of the café and we had the chance to try tasting 5 wines followed by lunch.

The lunch was the most disappointing part of the whole trip we were not asked to choose any wine from the wine tasting experience and the lunch had major parts of the menu shown on the brochure missing including smoked salmon, quiche.

The staff then disappeared and we sat there waiting for pudding which was supposed to be Chees-Cake and Fruit ….we waited and waited but it never arrived and nobody seemed to know why.
Definitely not worth the cost of £99 so avoid

Thank malc_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Good Afternoon malc_hill,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we appreciate your feedback.

I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your recent tour and lunch. Our tour guides are very knowledgeable and typically are very happy to answer any questions so this is surprising and we apologise if you felt this was lacking.

The menu mentioned in your review is from an older description on a third party website. This has now come to our attention and will be dealt with immediately. I can only apologise for the missed dessert, this was completely our fault that it was left out.

We will be raising all the issues addressed with our staff and thank you again for bringing this our attention.

Kind Regards
Andrea N

Events Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Our Daughter had given us the tour and tasting for Christmas so it was time to use it.

The tour started at 10:30 and was led by Daniel who proved to be very knowledgable, accommodating and humorous. First of all we toured the vineyard during which Daniel explained the background to the business, details of wine production in England and how the grapes are grown and harvested, all very interesting.

We then moved onto the Winery where Daniel explained the the wine producing process.

Then we had the tasting, we tried a number of sparkling wines, unfortunately as I was driving I could not taste as much as I would have liked. Again Daniel explained about the wines.

Needless to say we went home with a few bottles!

Highly recommended by the Admiral

Thank TheAdmiralLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Good Afternoon TheAdmiralLondon,

Thank you for your review and taking your time to let us know about your recent visit to Bolney Wine Estate.

We always appreciate kind comments about our vineyard and staff (especially Daniel) which will be passed on. Our tour guides at Bolney are all very passionate and enjoy sharing their knowledge of the vineyard and journey from grapes to the bottle.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your experience on the day and the tasting was enjoyable. We hope you enjoy the Bolney Wine Estate bottles that came home with you.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope to see you in the future.

Kind Regards

Andrea N
Events Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Just taken the vineyard tour!!!!
Really enjoyed the experience, led by our guide Daniel whose knowledge and enthusiasm made the tour unforgettable!!! Plenty of samples of the high quality Bolney wines! Our favourite the Bolney fizz, in fact we liked it so much we bought a case!
Many thanks to all...
Here’s to a good harvest this year, cheers!

Roland and Denise
Walsall

Thank Rolandtoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Good Afternoon Rolandtoolman,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of your recent tour at Bolney Wine Estate. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience. We will pass on your comments to Daniel who always aims to make his tours as informative and enjoyable as possible.

We hope you enjoy your case of Bolney Bubbly and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Andrea N

Events Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Tour today was with Daniel. A very amiable chap who oozed enthusiasm for English wines. I arrived with some scepticism but left with a new found patriotism for homegrown wine. I learnt a lot about wine production and tried wines I wouldn’t have otherwise risked. All of them extremely nice, Bolney Bubbly was my favourite., we left with a case. We also tried their Foxhole gin and came home with a bottle of that too. Well organised, lovely setting, Daniel was very attentive throughout. Would highly recommend.

Thank jckgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Good Afternoon jckgraham,

Thank you for the review of your recent tour at Bolney Wine Estate. We are so pleased you enjoyed your tour and especially Daniel.

We always appreciate kind comments about our vineyard and staff which make your visit that much more memorable.

We hope you enjoy your case of Bolney Bubbly and bottle of Foxhole Gin. Thank you again for your review and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Andrea N

Events Administrator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

I have been a big fan / consumer/ advocate of Bolney Wines and today took my older teens for a bite to eat & drink prior to University drop off.
My heart sank as for the first time ever the service and attitude was really poor. We were left waiting for over 10 minutes to be served and then a further 10 minutes once we had been to the till and asked if ok to place our order at the till as service was slow. We decided just to have drinks because of problems of just being able to place a drinks order was so painfully laboured . The staff were sadly not friendly/ positive / engaging and appeared to have no direction when it comes to customer service.

I regularly promote Bolney Wine Estate in my business but today’s experience had subdued my enthusiasm.

Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona A, Manager at Bolney Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Good Afternoon Alison L,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback.

I would like to personally investigate this more with the cafe manager. If you have a moment, would you be so kind as to email me your details including the date and time of your visit? We have been working with our staff with their service and appreciate the feedback.

All I can do is apologise and would love the opportunity to discuss in more detail.

Best Regards

Andrea N
Events Administrator

andrea.nolan@bolneywineestate.com



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews