We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
298
86
36
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
298
86
36
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the study summer room the pub cotswold room liver overlooking the village green homemade biscuits stratford upon avon ate here pretty village cotswold village wine list sunday lunch lovely meal hot water main course little touches
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

So what do you want from a pub lunch?

Something fresh & super tasty with a great pint.

We have stopped here several times whilst cycling and, increasingly, the main reason to do the ride is to stop at the Howard Arms for lunch.

The fish finger sandwich is spot on. Fresh fish, crunchy batter, homemade tartar sauce and great bread. Plus chips. And the ploughman’s is a ridiculous plate of yummyness – check out the photo.

They serve Timothy Taylor Landlords bitter – God’s own beer – although sadly, on a ride it’s orange and lemonade for me.

They have a super garden too.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawel S, Manager at The Howard Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Colin H

Thank you for popping in for lunch at The Howard Arms, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your food, as well as our beautiful garden. . We aim to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Inn

Pawel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

It was a bright summer evening when I was passing through quaint village of Ilmington and rather fancied a pint Timothy Taylor’s. I was pleasantly surprised when I was greeted by the smiles of the rather sophisticated young ladies behind the bar. I must say it was a jolly good pint, a classic pale ale with a complex citrus and hoppy aroma. All in all a spiffing evening.

Sc:eddie_cowpz

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Totallyfishing1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawel S, Manager at The Howard Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Totallyfishing1943,

Thank you for such wonderful feedback!
We're continually trying to improve the variety and quality of ale that we offer. We do pride ourselves to ensure our cask selection is given lots of 'love' and what we believe we serve is an 'experience' rather than a pint of beer.

Also, thank you for the kind words regarding the staff. I've passed this on to the waiting staff who served you. It's made their day ever greater!

Thank you for visiting us. We hope that you will consider us for your next ale tasting.

Pawel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

We arrived, hungry, having checked the website that they would be serving food until 3, we were told that they were too busy. We asked if we could just have a sandwich. The response, sorry were too busy. There was one large party of people, hardly full. Honestly how hard is it to make a sandwich? Really unfriendly and rude. Don’t bother. The cider was warm too, non in the fridge!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank MMLG N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawel S, Manager at The Howard Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear MMLG N

We understand and are extremely sorry we couldn’t accommodate your party for sandwiches. We had a large wedding breakfast booked for 2pm, so we had decided, on this particular Saturday, not to take any more bookings after 2pm so we could focus entirely on making sure the one day in a lifetime of the bride & groom was spot on. Before that started, we had our usual Saturday bookings plus over 20 unbooked “walk-ins” whom we welcomed for lunch.

Please do give us a chance again, and tell me when you are coming if you can. Luckily the village’s other pub two minutes away does sandwiches and we gladly recommended you there.

Thank you for telling me about the cider. The Aspal will from now on be available from the fridge, should some of our guests wish to enjoy it chilled

Kind Regards
Pawel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I and a friend recently had the pleasure of staying - and eating - at The Howard Arms. My wife and I had the stunning Garden Room, which is probably the only one on the ground floor. It is large, comfortable and nicely decorated, with a large bathroom. Our friend had a smaller room upstairs, which he liked very much. We had dinner and breakfast in the in-house pub, which we also enjoyed. There’s a large parking lot and pleasant outdoor seating on the lawn. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawel S, Manager at The Howard Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear 389davidh

Thank you so much for sharing you feedback. We're delighted your party had great stay and enjoyed all aspects of food and hospitality at The Howard Arms. Apart form The Garden Room, there are other comfortable rooms with nice decor which you're more than welcome to explore during your next visit?
We'll look forward to seeing you in the future

All best
Pawel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Stopped over on a Sunday evening touring north during a business trip. There is everything to like and virtually nothing I could find to fault about this lovely village pub. My room in the main hotel area was excellent, with a supremely comfortable bed. There was plenty of friendly chat at the bar, and a lovely meal - somewhere on spectrum between traditional and gastro pub fare. Good value too. Would be delighted to return in the future, perhaps for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiCriticDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawel S, Manager at The Howard Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear KiwiCriticDunedin,

Thank you for sharing your experience you had during your weekend stop over at The Howard Arms. The fact that you mentioned that you couldn't fault your room, food and people serving you means a lot to us! Thank you again! We'll look forward to seeing you in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews