We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”
Review of Burger 31

Burger 31
Reserve with OpenTable
Burger 31 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #137 of 228 Restaurants in South Shields
Price range: US$3 - US$14
Description: Welcome to Burger 31. We have a selection of hand made fresh burgers all made with the finest meat! Along side this we also have a list of sides from grilled Asparagus with Parma Ham, Mega Cheese Nachos and even Sushi! With a long cocktail menu there sure is something for everyone. Thanks
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Burger 31. We have a selection of hand made fresh burgers all made with the finest meat! Along side this we also have a list of sides from grilled Asparagus with Parma Ham, Mega Cheese Nachos and even Sushi! With a long cocktail menu there sure is something for everyone. Thanks
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Food was amazing and so was the service of the waiters. Burgers,chips,wings and cocktails were to die for

Thank aimeewilsonxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burger31, Manager at Burger 31, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hello Aimee,

Thanks for the review, that sounds like a brilliant combination and a good evening!

Thanks,
Burger 31

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Fantastic place to have food. We had a lovely visit as a family. The staff were very attentive. Yes it's a burger but it really was very nice. Quality, homemade burgers and the chips were lush. None of this frozen crap. Go visit. Only criticism was there was no vinegar for my chips but that is in hand

Thank davidlittle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burger31, Manager at Burger 31, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hello David,

Thank you for leaving us a review, your comments have been passed over to the staff! You will be pleased to know now we do indeed have vinegar for our lovely homemade chips.

See you again soon.

Burger 31

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

every time I drive past this place it's either empty or just a few people in...to be honest this put me off..however we decided to try it on Thursday night...totally surprised..wife had a veggie burger..I had a plain burger with salad and blue cheese..waitress was very helpful and pleasant...Evan a bigger surprise when I got the bill....apparently Thursday is a 2 for 1 night..all i paid was £6.95....you can't complain at that...give it a try..we will be back...Anna was the waitress

1  Thank johnaA5224SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burger31, Manager at Burger 31, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Hello John,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, being a new restaurant how busy it is can be hit and miss. Sometimes fully booked sometimes empty. We always strive to provide amazing service, quality food and price so its good to see you have had a brilliant experience at Burger 31!

Your comments have been passed over to the staff and we look forward to seeing you agin soon.

Thanks,
Burger 31

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

The burger were delicious, is the beast place to go whith friends and have a breakfast, or get some cocktails for the night

Thank lammer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burger31, Manager at Burger 31, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hello Lammer p

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, see you again soon for some more amazing burgers!

Thanks,
Burger 31

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Don't normally like giving poor reviews after all I chose to spend my money here but.
1. Limited menu
2. Was with a party,of 4 ,all did not enjoy their burger...tasteless , no real flavour in the burger meet.
3. Served on a plate that Is too small.....am I being picky....not when you go,to cut the burger and the plate rolls over as you are pushy on the edge .
4. They are clearly aiming for the gourmet burger market but committed the worst sin you can with a burger...served all 4 undercooked .....red inside. You have to use nothing but ground up pure beef to do,this to avoid the risk of stomach problems ..this burger meat is not pure beef.
5. On a very cold night outside they keep the door from the street wedged open to greet or entice customers .....but that means when the inner door is opened there is an icy blast straight from the North Pole coming at you.
On a positive note service was quick and the food is inexpensive.
Oh and they advertise Suchi on the front windows .......apparently that was last year....no longer on the menu.....really !!!!! Then remove the advertising instead,of,making false promises.
It would be easy to say it's only a burger so don't expect high standards ...but this place could do a lot better.

1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burger31, Manager at Burger 31, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hello Kevin D,

First of all very sorry to hear that our extremely high standards were clearly not upheld on this visit.

Having only been opened for 2 months now, our menu is always expanding and changing. Currently we have a menu with over 2 dozen burgers, hot dogs, chicken wings etc...

Its a real shame you did not enjoy the burgers on this visit, many people have said it is the best burgers they have ever tasted so I do believe this is down to an error in cooking, you will be pleased to know as of the start of this week we do have a new chef who is driving us in a new direction and resolving the small issues we had when opening.

The door, is a honest mistake one of which we had not even thought about until we saw this review and since then the door has remained closed when its chilly outside!

We are currently awaiting new signs for both above the restaurant and on the windows, we wasn't open last year but Sushi was stopped in February, this is shown in the menus that are given to customers and that is on display next to the door.

Very pleased to hear the service was quick and price reasonable.

Would really love to see you back in Burger 31 to experience the normal high service & quality which is described in our 100+ Facebook reviews.

Thank you very much for all of the feedback, good & bad helps us grow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burger 31 also viewed

Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Seaton Sluice, Northumberland
 

Been to Burger 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing