We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprised”
Review of Burger 31

Burger 31
Reserve with OpenTable
Burger 31 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #138 of 230 Restaurants in South Shields
Price range: US$3 - US$14
Description: Welcome to Burger 31. We have a selection of hand made fresh burgers all made with the finest meat! Along side this we also have a list of sides from grilled Asparagus with Parma Ham, Mega Cheese Nachos and even Sushi! With a long cocktail menu there sure is something for everyone. Thanks
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Burger 31. We have a selection of hand made fresh burgers all made with the finest meat! Along side this we also have a list of sides from grilled Asparagus with Parma Ham, Mega Cheese Nachos and even Sushi! With a long cocktail menu there sure is something for everyone. Thanks
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

every time I drive past this place it's either empty or just a few people in...to be honest this put me off..however we decided to try it on Thursday night...totally surprised..wife had a veggie burger..I had a plain burger with salad and blue cheese..waitress was very helpful and pleasant...Evan a bigger surprise when I got the bill....apparently Thursday is a 2 for 1 night..all i paid was £6.95....you can't complain at that...give it a try..we will be back...Anna was the waitress

1  Thank johnaA5224SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burger31, Manager at Burger 31, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Hello John,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, being a new restaurant how busy it is can be hit and miss. Sometimes fully booked sometimes empty. We always strive to provide amazing service, quality food and price so its good to see you have had a brilliant experience at Burger 31!

Your comments have been passed over to the staff and we look forward to seeing you agin soon.

Thanks,
Burger 31

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

The burger were delicious, is the beast place to go whith friends and have a breakfast, or get some cocktails for the night

Thank lammer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burger31, Manager at Burger 31, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hello Lammer p

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, see you again soon for some more amazing burgers!

Thanks,
Burger 31

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Don't normally like giving poor reviews after all I chose to spend my money here but.
1. Limited menu
2. Was with a party,of 4 ,all did not enjoy their burger...tasteless , no real flavour in the burger meet.
3. Served on a plate that Is too small.....am I being picky....not when you go,to cut the burger and the plate rolls over as you are pushy on the edge .
4. They are clearly aiming for the gourmet burger market but committed the worst sin you can with a burger...served all 4 undercooked .....red inside. You have to use nothing but ground up pure beef to do,this to avoid the risk of stomach problems ..this burger meat is not pure beef.
5. On a very cold night outside they keep the door from the street wedged open to greet or entice customers .....but that means when the inner door is opened there is an icy blast straight from the North Pole coming at you.
On a positive note service was quick and the food is inexpensive.
Oh and they advertise Suchi on the front windows .......apparently that was last year....no longer on the menu.....really !!!!! Then remove the advertising instead,of,making false promises.
It would be easy to say it's only a burger so don't expect high standards ...but this place could do a lot better.

1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burger31, Manager at Burger 31, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hello Kevin D,

First of all very sorry to hear that our extremely high standards were clearly not upheld on this visit.

Having only been opened for 2 months now, our menu is always expanding and changing. Currently we have a menu with over 2 dozen burgers, hot dogs, chicken wings etc...

Its a real shame you did not enjoy the burgers on this visit, many people have said it is the best burgers they have ever tasted so I do believe this is down to an error in cooking, you will be pleased to know as of the start of this week we do have a new chef who is driving us in a new direction and resolving the small issues we had when opening.

The door, is a honest mistake one of which we had not even thought about until we saw this review and since then the door has remained closed when its chilly outside!

We are currently awaiting new signs for both above the restaurant and on the windows, we wasn't open last year but Sushi was stopped in February, this is shown in the menus that are given to customers and that is on display next to the door.

Very pleased to hear the service was quick and price reasonable.

Would really love to see you back in Burger 31 to experience the normal high service & quality which is described in our 100+ Facebook reviews.

Thank you very much for all of the feedback, good & bad helps us grow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

I’d read mixed reviews but decided to give it a go. We Went as a group of 5 and were seated straight away. There was only us and another table there. Waiter Jamie was friendly and helpful. Took our drinks order then came back for food orders. It took an hour between ordering food and it arriving. Kids were getting fed up and started messing around. Jamie did reassure us that food was on the way but an hours wait while there’s only one other family isn’t acceptable. When the food finally arrived at quarter to 2 (we arrived at just before quarter to 1) it was nice. Apart from the plastic I found in my chips. Jamie apologised and refunded the cost of my meal. The chicken burger was hard around the edges. The chips went hard after a few minutes. We Ordered sprite to find it was out of a can. And they charged £1.95 for it. Didn’t stick around for dessert - we Went to the ice cream parlour down the road instead. Definitely won’t be back.

Thank Samanfaamanfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burger31, Manager at Burger 31, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hello Samanfaamanfa,

First of all, we are really sorry that this has been your experience of Burger 31! An hours wait is totally unacceptable and defiantly not a pleasant experience when there is also hungry children!

We did have a few teething issues when first opening however all of our staff have undergone further training, we employed new chefs and changed our pricing. This was based on the feedback from customers, so we do thank you for providing the feedback! Our returning customers have agreed the service as a whole which is provided now is much better.

Its unfortunate that you won't try us again, however we would love to see you again if you did happen to allow us a 2nd chance.

Thanks,
Burger 31

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

We came here on a whim on a Sunday night. We were greeted by 2 very friendly servers. We ordered mozzarella sticks and jalapeno poppers for starters. They arrived promptly with a small side salad. I ordered the mexican chicken burger and my partner went for the cheese madness burger. Both were well cooked and the fries were excellent. Couldn't fault the meal. The service was brilliant too. A bottle of wine and 2 courses each came to invert £30- we will definitely be coming here again!

Thank CharlotteM3515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burger31, Manager at Burger 31, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hello Charlotte M,

Thats brilliant, very pleased to hear you had a good time! The cheese madness sure is a lovely burger (my favourite burger)

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Burger 31

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burger 31 also viewed

Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Seaton Sluice, Northumberland
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 
South Shields, Tyne and Wear
Jarrow, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Burger 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing