We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as I remembered”
Review of The Gurkha Durbar

The Gurkha Durbar
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Grayshott
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$37 - US$37
Cuisines: Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in the wonderful village of Grayshott, Hampshire, we have been serving up delicious Nepalese curries for the past 15 years. Our most notable achievement has been the review by The Telegraph food critic – Belinda Richardson. Owned and run by Major Mani Kumar Rai, MBE, of the Royal Gurkha Rifles (and his lovely wife Sudha) we value our strong base of regular customers and always welcome newcomers who are keen to sample our traditional Himalayan fare. Please join us for a meal, or enquire about events and outside catering. Visit our Photo Gallery to see some of our events. Dhanyabad (Thank you)
Reviewed 11 June 2021

There is always a warm welcome from the staff here, we feel more like close friends than just customers. It is nice to see them back up and running, even if at a slightly reduced capacity. Sudha and Mani always have a smile, and are always genuinely happy to see us. The food is always good, never had a bad portion, let alone meal.

The beer is always cold, the poppadum's crisp and the food warming. it is somewhere we keep going back to because of the people and the food. If you have never been, give it a try, I promise you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Surveyor47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2021

4 of us had a meal from the Gurkah Durbar - great choice of curries that a different from the "usual suspects"

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2021

Thank you - delicious takeaway with prompt delivery for a family weekend away, Very helpful and went out of their way to deliver .Highly recommended

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank Numbersindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2021 via mobile

Had a guilty mid week treat and what a treat. Delivered to the door, piping hot. Superb flavours and plenty of fresh vegetables. I had a king prawn biryani and the prawns were flavoursome and meaty. My husband had, what he described as the best Korma ever. Thank you to the team at the Gurkha Durbar for making a mid week treat a special occasion......we will be back.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank 279tinaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2021 via mobile

Great food, great takeaway service. Have recently moved to the area and so glad to have such a good restaurant on our doorstep. Can’t wait for lockdown to be over so we can go for a sit down meal.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank bgm2Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gurkha Durbar also viewed

 
Grayshott, Surrey
 

Been to The Gurkha Durbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.