We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A* from us”

Ye Olde Windmill Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 68 Restaurants in Rugeley
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A 16th Century country pub and restaurant with views over 4 counties. We have been serving our customers for 30 years. Big open Log Fires and a warm friendly family atmosphere. Beer Gardens and patio areas by Crown Green Bowling green. All food homemade freshly cooked to order using the finest produce. Dog friendly bar
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely countryside setting with great views. Delicious home cooked food with very friendly staff and a welcoming atmosphere. A regular haunt for us. My partner is vegetarian and struggles with a lot of places to find something nice and tasty to eat but never faults the windmill.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Curious04621187274
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our local in the village, so fortunately walkable.Lovely evening spent here, sat outside for drinks, amazing views over countryside, and opposite the Common. Tempted by the amazing food coming out so ordered the curry of the day, Chicken jalfrezi. Beautiful food, good portions,thoroughly enjoyed in the sunshine, served by excellent staff-went indoors later in the lounge for drinks, again excellent service.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank travellalot011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a table for 2.30 and finally got served at 4.10. When food arrived it was awful. 7 of us eating and every meal was lukewarm. Won’t be eating here again!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank scrapper60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really disappointed with our recent meals at the windmill, how this place has really gone down since it’s change of ownership. All our meals were cold, had about 10 peas on our plates and frozen chips( think I must have had the end of the bag as they were all sharp ends) side salad was just a bowl of lettuce! No cuc, tomato or onion. We have eaten here for years and there is no comparison to the great meals we have always had.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Never had such a bad meal before all food ljust warm not one hot one amongst them after 1 1/2 wait for it meals ame out different times with not all food on peas about5 mind after then old cabbage did get compensation but not the point as there was 8 of us celebrating 2 birthdays and a wedding anniversary

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank patriciarW2299XR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Windmill Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Cannock, Staffordshire
 

Been to Ye Olde Windmill Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.