We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners staff were welcoming friendly hotel lake view lounge area swan room stunning location head chef superior room the main hotel welsh breakfast log burner an evening meal mach loop talyllyn lake fantastic views my partner
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

So we used to take a break here every year but lasted stayed here in 2014 as it was a bit of a disappointment. The then owners didn't seem to care.
Having read the more recent reviews and comments we thought it was time to go back.
I have to say it was a good decision, the staff we all friendly and the whole place seemed to have a warm friendly feeling. The room was great, as were the evening meals and breakfast.
So good to see the place busy and cared for again and we'll be going back.

Room tip: Get a view over the lake.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Blues_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

I hadn't stayed at Tyn-y-Cornel for nigh on 30 years, although I have stopped for coffee on a few occasions, with varied results, mostly feeling sad because it felt as if the place was not very well loved.

I had heard it was under relatively new management so when we were thinking about our wedding anniversary weekend we thought we may give it a whirl - a nice soft bed after a night in a tent on Cadair Idris and before a paddle up the Dysynni in our canoe..

We booked through an agency and had all the usual qualms - will it be ok, will it be the price advertised, will it actually be booked! And guess what - when we turned up, smelly, dusty, crumpled and tired, everything went just like clockwork!

A great welcome, smiling faces behind reception, a spotless room with a mattress to die for, tea and Welsh cakes whilst still in our scruffs - and what a transformation of the place itself! The lounge was lovely - comfy chairs and sofas, a beautiful log burner (not needed on the hottest weekend for years), magazines to read (sorry, we took 'Trail' to our room!), and interesting people going back and forth to feed our inherent nosiness - mostly people involved with the wedding, reviewed elsewhere on here, we guessed.

Back to our room for transformation into smart grown-ups, unrecognisable from the dishevelled hobbledehoys who had arrived earlier, and ready for dinner in the lovely conservatory.

A nice, short, straightforward menu, absolutely brilliant service and food that arrived so quickly that you'd swear someone had read our minds and prepared our meals in advance.

It did get a bit noisy - a family including three young men were there for dinner, and the acoustics in the conservatory did tend to ramp the noise up a bit. We know that a few other diners were a bit sniffy about it but we just enjoyed the exuberance of the other party and took our coffee in the lounge, and enjoyed a bit of a smile with the owner who was doing his best to assuage the less understanding of our fellow guests.

We were a bit late down for breakfast but, again, there was absolutely no problem, and also again, the food appeared with miraculous speed. We also enjoyed seeing the management and staff struggle to put the covers on the chairs ready for the wedding party whilst ducking the lanterns that had appeared overnight. And, lo and behold, the Taj Mahal had appeared in the area between the restaurant and the conservatory! Well, a photo backdrop anyway - we were very tempted to recreate any one of those thousands of romantic pictures everybody has seen - it was our anniversary after all!

Checking out was simple - no nasty surprises (we'd already girded our loins for the price of the malt whisky we'd drunk the night before), and more smiles.

In case you hadn't noticed, we thoroughly enjoyed our little sojourn at the Tyn-y-Cornel and we're just going to have to go back again when our psyches are in need of another boost. Thank you SO much to the management and staff - we've been to places that cost twice as much and not had half as good an experience. Oh, and we're not going to recommend you to anyone - we might not be able to get in next time!

Room tip: Ask for a lake view
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Teeaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 11 nights.
In one word... fantastic!
The room was very beautiful and spacious with a stunning view over the lake.
The owners and the staff were so friendly and made us feel at home.
They did everything to make our stay a special experience.
Malcolm and Christo and the entire staff...

India and Geert Zandman
The Netherlands

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank India Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Our family would like to thank Malcolm,Cristo,Ifor and staff for the exellent service they gave us on our daughter Jessicaś wedding Saturday 21st July the food was excellent they went above and beyond to make this a very special day we wish you many more weddings at your lovely Hotel
Diolch yn fawr iawn
John Jane and Family

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

So if you pull up to admire the lovely view you’ll need to purchase something to park on site, fair enough. Do not, I repeat do not buy a double espresso it came to £4.40!!! Are you joking 60ml of coffee for £4.40?!?! It’s 13p a ml considering starting a drug habit as it’ll be a cheaper and less sting. Honestly have never been so overcharged for anything in my life makes bottled water at nightclubs seem like the deal of the century. Stay clear, park round the corner for free and enjoy a lovely view without bankrupting yourself.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Tynycornel T, Manager at Tyn y Cornel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Henry,

Thank you for valued feedback and please accept this as an apology on what is definitely an error resulting in you being overcharged. Our double expresso price in the till is £2.35, so your analogy of the pricing is understandable. We are investigating the circumstances of the error with the view of putting full measures in to prevent any such re-occurrence. To assist in resolving this situation I would be grateful if you contact the hotel direct. Apologies once more,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews