We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect staycation!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wagon in the woods

The Hot tub, filled with fresh water and wood fired all included in the price
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hot tub, filled with fresh water and wood fired all included in the price
Table and bench
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Hot tub, filled with fresh water and wood fired all included in the price
Table and bench
It's a bath!
BBq and campfire area
Enjoy a cosy, rest-filled retreat in rural Hampshire
Complementary milk, tea, coffee, sugar and a wagon wheel!
Inside flushing toilet
Retro outside but inside it's DAB!
Cutlery, plates, pans etc all you need to rustle up a feast!
The view of the hot tub and wagon while you dine on some flame grilled delights!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Medstead, Alton, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DanielleS...
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect staycation!”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My boyfriend and I had the most peaceful, romantic, enjoyable time at Ralph's Wagon. He greeted us very welcomingly and showed/told us everything we needed to know. The wagon wheels and marshmellows he left out for us were very much appreciated!

The semi-sheltered hot tub is an excellent touch, and we love that it's chlorine free, fresh water for each visitor, heated naturally by the fire. Trying to keep the fire lit when it was so damp was an enjoyable challange, but when we struggled too much we texted Ralph and he was over within minutes to help us out - the hot tub that evening was amazing, we enjoyed a glass of champagne under the stars.

There are local places you can eat around, however there is also a Prezzo's, pizza express, M&S and more in Alton, just a 20 minute drive from the wagon if you fancy a meal cooked for you, or to stock up on food.

The new outdoor sheltered area was great as we could enjoy the fresh air without getting wet. We respect Ralph so much for his clever, hard work on this wagon, it definately paid off.

The trip is perfect for couples looking for a short, peaceful break and we wish I could go back again right now!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah G
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unique, quirky and very comfortable :-)”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome by Ralph who showed us around and we had everything we needed for a very comfortable one night stay.

The wagon is just fantastic, its compact but beautifully kept and obviously a labour of love as made by Ralph. The outside space for barbecuing was very private and peaceful and the hot tub was just amazing! The wagon wheels and marshmallows were yummy!

Would recommend if you want something a little bit different for a short stay :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy H
2 reviews
“Amazing & Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My Girlfriend booked a one night stay here for my birthday. After reading the reviews I had high expectations and I can say that it did not disappoint. Ralph was very helpful showing us around the Wagon and how it all works including the hot tub which stayed very warm throughout the whole stay. Ralph even spent some time showing us around the new project he has going on which I will definitely be looking to visit once it has been complete. Firewood and fire starters were provided along with matches so it was easy to start a fire which we used to cook our food we had bought up with us. In the wagon there is also complimentary hot chocolate and marshmallows. Inside the wagon was very cosy and the big windows allowed in natural daylight. Cutlery, plates etc is provided so there is no need to bring your own.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would definitely recommend this to friends (some of which have already booked this since seeing my girlfriends pictures uploaded to social media).

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice L
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing remote wagon stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Wow what is not to say about the wagon in the woods. We stayed only one night but had the most relaxing and lovely night away. Ralph and his mother were very helpful and showed us around the wagon! The hot tub was in the process of warming up when we arrived and we took a country walk while we waited. We were able to cook sausages and bacon on the open fire and also roast marshmallows- delicious. We also played board games in the wagon and dipped in and out of the hot tub all evening. Such an amazing stay and I hope to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby k
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Came here as a surprise 21st birthday treat for my girlfriend and was immediately wowed. It's even better in person than it is in pictures. The views. The hot tub.The fire pit. The craftsmanship and interior decoration.
The wagon In the woods , Although cosy and small it is not cramped in any way and offers plenty of space for relaxation. I will be recommending this place to all my friends and family so they can experience the quirky beauty and joy that we did.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Glad you had a great time Toby. The wagon is such a fun project she will keep getting better!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing