We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value with kids”
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Watermill. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Nottingham’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food has always been nicely cooked and for a carvery good value, plenty of meat given to both adults and kids. Food hot and kids can choose what they fill their plate with so no waste. I wouldnt go on a Sunday out of principle because of the extra money but for a midweek or fri/sat treat- great!!

Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nicola S, thank you so much for your positive comments about Toby Carvery Watermill! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to Toby cavery on Sunday and it was jam packed so I advise you to book a table if you want to eat hear as it is a very popular place the food yesterday was lovely hot and plenty of it the staff were smart clean and helpful

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _lorrainebraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Lorraine, we are so happy to read such a great review about Toby Carvery Watermill! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good home cooking. Always a good variety of vegetables and meats. The staff always friendly and helpful. We always book by bookatable so we dont gave to queue. X

Thank Lynn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Lynn F, we are very happy we could provide you with a positive experience! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review, it means alot to us. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Three of us visited for breakfast on Friday 20th April and my wife does,nt eat fried food so she always goes for the porage which is widely advertised on their menu,s on line and in the restaurant ,when we asked for PORAGE we were told no PORAGE today unavailable so we asked what alternative was there to be told breakfast breakfast or breakfast not very helpful, the main reason I,m tell this is that a few weeks before we were told no PORAGE only for the chef/cook to happen to come out of the kitchen and tell us yes there,s porage when I E mailed the management their reply was they would make sure next time that porage is available and as for the staff members rather unfunny remarks it was only light hearted banter, very poor and the food isn't that great a lot better breakfast at what used to be the Wooden at Huthwait.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

David, thank you for your feedback. I believe we have spoken to you personally about these issues and we are happy to tell you we now have porridge back in stock. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited last night with friends as we were going out for tea anyway and had received an email offering 50% off. It was awful, worst meal we had ever had here and won’t be visiting again for a while. The place was so full, really long queue, the food was not up to the usual standard, particularly the Yorkshire puddings which were more like pancakes. Yes there was 50% off, but it was worth no more than that anyway. If you are going to have offers on make sure you have planned for the extra business that this is going to bring in.

Thank SWgirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

SWgirl17, we are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at Toby Carvery Watermill. If you are willing to give us another chance, please reach out to us at 01623 516413 to speak to our manager directly. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire
Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire
Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire
Sutton in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing